We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow... Hats off to the staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wow... Hats off to the staff...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were here in Jan 2011. We had to do a lot of research to get to this resort on the internet. Not much was written on the net other than a few photos. We drove down in our car from Bangalore to Pondicherry. Road from Krishnagiri was extremely bad. In our SUV, it took longer than 7 hours. Tyres bore the brunt of the pathetic road. People driving on their own can take a detour to Vellore, then take deviation to reach Pondicherry. It will increase the distance by approximately 60 km. After reaching Pomdicherry, it took a while for us to find the resort. It is on ECR road. When we reached the place, we were in for a pleasant surprise. The resort is spread over 23 acres of land with a view of the beach which is a good 5 km away. The resort was still under construction when we were there. We were told that an artificial lake was to come up covering the entire resort. The path for the lake was complete and was covered with plastic lining. We stayed in one of the Jacuzzi rooms. Room rates were a little expensive but definitely worth it. There is a swimming pool at the centre of the place with hammocks around it. Lawn is grown around the resort. Trees line up the pathway. A stroll at night inside the resort is simply mind boggling and also relaxing at the same time. On the 2nd day, we went to the beach early morning. On the way back, our car got stuck in the sand, quite deep inside. My wife was terrified and angry at me at the same time since it was against her wish that I ventured in the beach sand. A few people tried to take advantage and asked us money to pull it out. I called up the resort management and told them our state. Around 20 mins later, a barrage of people in 3 cars came, pulled it out with, didnt charge a single paisa and went away. Hats off to them. It is truly customer delight. After we checked out the 3rd day, we wanted to visit the Tiruvannamalai temple. Mr. Nagarajan from the front office gave us a contact. We contacted the temple authorities and we could visit the sanctum sanctorum in as short a time as 20 minutes. A trip we cannot forget. Simply superb!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akarshbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanspray2010, General Manager at Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Thank you for spending your valuable time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.com.
We would like to acknowledge your kind compliments for our team members, your continued patronage and suggestions are vital part of our growth, we're committed to total guest satisfaction and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Bharat Chandu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    283
    126
    45
    49
See reviews for
357
167
5
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kerala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Hotel is located at a nice place rooms are excellent spacious and well equipped they are kept so clean & staff are well trained . Restaurants are good with elaborate menu i have stayed in many hotels but this place has got some thing to cherish and i would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends & well wishers

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rams_anups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanspray2010, General Manager at Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Thank you for spending your valuable time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.com.
We would like to acknowledge your kind compliments. We look forward to having you again with us and assure you of the best of our attention at all times.

Best Regards,
Bharat Chandu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed for 2 Nights. Had booked "The Heavens" Jacuzzi Room hoping to relax in the Jacuzzi. Unfortunately when we reached, we were informed that these rooms were under renovation and we would be upgraded to their Villa "The Bermudas". However, I would say this was definitely a DOWNGRADE for me.

Property is Large (23.5 acres) with a 5 acre Man-Made lake. Not at the beach and NO access to the beach either.

The Villas on One-Look looked nice. Large Rooms, separate Shower & Tub, Private Balcony over the Lake, etc... However, the rooms were OLD, Wallpapers had some green stuff growing in them, etc. The Main Door and Bathroom Door Frames were damaged and we had to bang to close them.

Many of the products we NOT functional in the room. I had to get 3 Bulbs changed. When the maintenance guy arrived, he informed that there were 2 light fixtures which were dummy and NO connection was given. Strange, ain't it?

I requested and they did offer us another room. It did take them sometime to allot another room and by then we were fully unpacked and didn't want the hassle of changing rooms in the night.

On the First Night, I had some bugs bitting me in Bed. Fortunately neither my wife nor 2 year old daughter felt it.

Now for the Pros:

1. Excellent Pool (they claim largest in India). Very large and designed in a way that people can have their share of privacy.

2. Very good food. Good buffet spread. Unfortunately on the first day they couldn't serve buffet breakfast as there were very few guests in the hotel.

3. Excellent staff. They did all they could to help.

4. They did block and let us use the Jacuzzi in the Heavens Room inspite of the room not being fully functional.

One thing that I did miss and did inform the hotel is the lack of activities. The really should be having many more for a resort this large.

All in all a Good Place. Could come back. However, I shall try another resort next time.

Room Tip: Make Sure the Room you choose is operational. I choose Jacuzzi Room, but didn't get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amillwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanspray2010, General Manager at Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Thank you for spending your valuable time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.com. We would like to acknowledge your kind compliments for Oceanites.

We sincerely regret not meeting your expectations on your first visit. We do understand from your feedback that our services and training could improve. We are doing the needful in this regard.

My team joins me in assuring you the best of our attention to the issues addressed by you. Please do consider giving us another opportunity and we will strive to meet your expectations.

Looking forward to hear from you.
Best Regards,
Bharat Chandu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We booked Ocean Spray as part of a large group of families attending our annual club conference. Since we were a large group, we received an excellent deal. But even without it, the resort would have been good value.

Our room, facing the pool, was really spacious with comfortable twin-beds (the first of major front-desk issues we faced!) and all the bells and whistles one would expect from a first-class resort. The bathrooms were huge with separate shower cubicles and excellent amenities. There was sufficient space to add-in two extra beds. So great for families with 2 kids like ours.

We spent most of the afternoon in the giant swimming pool with waterfalls and swim-throughs, playing water polo and just having a lot of fun with the other families. The kids, I must admit, had a blast!

Food at the hotel was above average, though nothing wow! Simple food done well, and the buffet was generous.

The two major issues that marred what would have been a deservedly 5-star rating from me, was (1) when we checked into our room, we asked the front-desk to put-in 2 extra beds (chargeable, of course!). This was not done, inspite of repeated reminders, that we would be returning to the room rather late at night from our social event, and that the kids would be exhausted. In spite of 2 reminders, when we returned at thirty minutes past midnight, the extra beds were missing. When housekeeping finally showed-up, they could not give us rollaways (obviously, because other guests had used them all up by that time!). So past midnight, a very cranky family was sitting in the balcony, while housekeeping took 20mins to set up the extra mattresses. It definitely spoilt it for us. (2) the resort does not have direct access to the beach and you have to get out of a side exit, walk down a fairly unclean road through a desolate fishing village to an unspectacular beach littered with detritus. So we think it is essential that when you book to stay here, you dont even consider that you are at a beach resort, but at a resort with a very, very large (and lovely) pool!

Would we go back there again? I don't think so - if we wanted a beach resort we would find one that gave us a beach (like Le Pondy). If we wanted a resort, then we would perhaps look for something in more natural surroundings. But would we recommend it? Yes, its an affordable alternative to Vivanta by Taj (Fishermens Cove) and Radisson Blu Temple Bay and great for families with kids. And probably more child-friendly than Le Pondy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshishChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanspray2010, General Manager at Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Thank you for spending your valuable time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.com, which we normally keep track of in our own interest. We would like to acknowledge your comments.
We would ensure that these gaps and lapses as experienced by you are strengthened and adequate measures taken to be consistent.
We look forward to having you again with us and assure you of the best of our attention at all times.

Best Regards,
Bharat Chandu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We went there for a family vacation . The resort is still unndone and construction is going on. First of all the people there do not know about the price....they will demand any amount they want for a weekend. It is not what you see on the website. There was no wet bar (still under construction), the pool was filthy and the lagoon /lake was filled with mosquitoes, insects etc. making it unsafe for children. This property is of some jewellers and hence the staff very rude, no maintainence. An 8 months old property it already looks like 18 years old. There is no evening service concept. Though the design layout was good but had the management been active and intelligent, they cud have sustained it. It is highly understaffed, ok food, no beach side, filthy and stinky lake, the open air jacuzzi is just a window, the bathtub in garden is again a window....lot of tall claims....Dont go by what you see at the website. The swimming pool is the worst of all...we spotted 2 dead lizards and many tadpoles in the pool. Highly chlorinated so not recommended for kids. I paid half the amount for Chola Sheraton and got a vvip treatment but here...even paying what they overdemand does not ensure that you would be treated well.

Room Tip: Well built but poorly maintained...bathrooms are already breaking in this 8 month old property
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baywatcher11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanspray2010, General Manager at Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Thank you for spending your valuable time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.com, we at Ocean Spray take the utmost care to follow up on all our client feedback. We remain dedicated to not just continuously improving our quality of service, but to perfecting the travel and holiday experience here in Pondicherry. We are committed to providing highly personalised service, combined with our authentic and elegant surroundings. We remain dedicated to building a relationship of trust and authenticity with our guests-which we hope to uphold now and always.

with warm regards,
Bharat Chandu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We did a lot of research to get a star experience in pondicherry and finally ended up choosing the ocean spray for a stay of 2N/3D. Expectations were high after going through their website and talking to them. We drove down from blore and found the resort to be quite huge and beautiful.
The swimming pool was really great and one of the largest. Food is really excellent and commendable.

The heavens room was a bit of a disappointment not because of the interiors but because of the high price we paid for it. The jacuzzi was too small. We have been to many 5 star resorts who charge similar rates and compared to those resorts, ocean spray has a lot to catch up.

I wouldnt recommend this to anybody accustomed to a 5 star experience.
There were frequent powercuts and it took some time for the backup to come online. The room safe was not in working condition and there were issues with the linen. I guess they dint do a proper check before we checked-in.
The service during buffet was also not upto the mark though staff were very polite and courteous. There is a 5 minute walk to the beach accompanied by the hotel staff for security reasons as there were local fishermen living on the beach. We couldn't quite enjoy the beach experience.

Room Tip: get the heavens room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmw36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanspray2010, General Manager at Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you for spending your valuable time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.com, I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously.
Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.
Please be assured that the issues you've raised have been addressed, and the appropriate action has been taken.
Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Bharat Chandu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondicherry, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Ocean spray going to fullfill all the entertainer's in pondy and surrounded city, For familly get together and for the business, i hope ocean spray going to be an incredible destination.

Guys dam sure... you have right place to enjoy in puducherry.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Privithianto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanspray2010, General Manager at Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you for spending your valuable time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.com, which we normally keep track of in our own interest. We would like to acknowledge your kind compliments. We look forward to having you again with us and assure you of the best of our attention at all times.

Best Regards,
Bharat Chandu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
21.5 km away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
30.3 km away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
15.5 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
18.2 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#9 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
15.9 km away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#15 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray

Property: Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Address: 7, 8, 9, East Coast Road | Majakuppam, Tamil Nadu, Pondicherry 604303, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conceived as Pondicherry by the French and affectionately known as 'Pondy', the city has its conspicuous French connection. Away from the hustle bustle of the metro's, this quiet little town offers the peculiar mustard-yellow colonial heritage buildings, virgin beaches, a medley of cuisines, the quaint spiritual wave and the alluring art. Here, soaked in the whiff of the Bay of Bengal and stationed in the ripples of its own beautiful man-made lake, Ocean Spray grasps the enchantment and the intimacy in its own breath.   Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray Resort showcases the nature at its best. The Majestic grandeur architecture overlooks the overwhelming swimming pool with the sound of the gushing cascades and the smoldering view of the sky. Interiors reflect the warmth of its aristocratic ambiance. Villas with private swimming pools provide an exclusive composition. One of its kind night club quenches the thirst of the night life birds. The mesmerizing experience of candle light dinner on the boat in the lake is just meant for those special romantic moments. Statuesque trees give the unmistakable view from the esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing