We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience, charmed by host- Raj”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Pondicherry
Ranked #61 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We did a big mistake by booking our selves at Nallas beach resort , outskirts of Pondichery a net influence... within few hours realized that it was a big mistake, lunch served in a place infested with flies,, probs thats why they call it Eco Resort

We checked out and searched for place to stay, and found Hotel de Pondicherry. Was pleased by the way Raj, who owns the place, should say he knows his business well

Nice and clean rooms and the ambiance that will make you feel so eco friendly
Nice bar good food

but i would also recommend Alliance Francaise - right opposite to Hotel de Pondicherry for a good breakfast and ofcourse Hotel Promenade for a wood burn thin crust pizza and excellent service and good food

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank malini55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de Pondicherry
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2010

Its an heritage hotel and with wooden work and good interiors with bungalow look.
service was excellent and was available 24*7 .
It was very close to main market.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navy_dhariwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I had booked Hotel De Pondicherry in Dec 2009 (it was a 3 day booking, but due to a mess up created by Y@#$! I had to stay 2 days in Hotel Lotus Comfort and one day in Hotel De Pondicherry. I had opted for 3 days at Hotel De Pondicherry but just got 1. And Luckily the alternative arrangement (Hotel Lotus Comfort) happened to be better than the original option.

This hotel is a refurbished ancient bunglow - so it is marred with red stone floors, small staircase, asbestoes roofs, table fans and mosquitoes! Also privacy of rooms is a concern.

Absence of Room service, Absence of Restaurant etc basic things makes one feel that one gets the feeling that the owners are trying to make money without expending anything on maintaining the property.

Contrary to the conventional expectation of Luxury from a Hertiage property, all we get to see in this hotel is just the shortfalls of ancient construction.


The only good part is, its extremely close to the beach and the market area.

In my opinion this hotel is not worthy of staying for family members especially with kids.
At best, it is recommended for bachelors / singles that too only if they have a longing for heritage constructions.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tushar321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

I have had a great time at pondicherry with my wife. Specialy the stay at Hotel De. It is a memorable time in me life. pondicherry is wonderful. the hotel is great. it is in a calm place, cam relax ang enjoy every moment of life.

The restorent is very good. specially sea foods.
dont forget to visit nehru street at pondicherry.

I always suggest it for family

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anoop909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Hotel de Pondicherry is very good place to spend the leisure, The food are very good and they are really value for the money. The location of this hotel is outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

I just showed up on my bike and needed a place to stay and this seemed to be a nice place. Checked into the smaller room as i was alone and i got a great sweet small room with a huge loo. I was quite kicked. The bar is great and so is the food on the menu. I spent a few nights and moved on to Kodaikanal and actually stopped in Pondicherry on the way back and stayed at the same place but unfortunately did not get the same room. I did mention something about not having a tv and they shifted one into my room. It was peaceful and quiet and a great place.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank virnakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

it was my first time, I visited to Pondicherry. The Hotel de Pondicherry was such a wonderful way to ease myself into spacious room, beautifully decorated, very clean with incredible service and provides basic facilities like internet access, laundry,television,centrally air conditioned.it provides 24 hour room service with facilities like doctor on call, travel desk,conference,electronic safe lockers and many more

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank thekhali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.3 km away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#18 of 82 in Pondicherry
205 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#11 of 82 in Pondicherry
451 reviews
0.2 km away
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
#23 of 82 in Pondicherry
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Richmond, Puducherry
The Richmond, Puducherry
#36 of 82 in Pondicherry
240 reviews
1.8 km away
Anantha Heritage Hotel
Anantha Heritage Hotel
#14 of 82 in Pondicherry
268 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Villa Krish
Hotel Villa Krish
#31 of 82 in Pondicherry
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Pondicherry

Address: 38 Dumas Street, Beach Road, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: $53 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Pondicherry 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing