We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big hotel, in a very busy surrounding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Big hotel, in a very busy surrounding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We received a room on the fourth floor looking over the busy street. It had bad smell and you could not open the window. The room is clean, hot water was not available until we asked the reception to fix it. The water pressure was low, and insufficient for a shower. Aroung nine pm a large group of young men started to receive their rooms on our floor and the noise they made was unbearable. The reception change our room after our complain, which we fought that was very nice. However the suite we received was very very smelly, damped and again had no window opening. The view from the room was discusting. We appreciate a lot the effort of the management to make our visit perfect, however it did not work well, and it was limited by the facilities problems they have.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Israeltourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    256
    104
    35
    25
See reviews for
256
136
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed here in December 2011/January 2012. The hotel lobby area and the swimming pool were nice but our room was dated and smelled very damp (I guess that we were not in the new wing). Breakfast was ok. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a new wing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at the Anandha Inn the day after the cyclone Thane had hit the east coast of southern India on December 2011. The hotel staff were very busy as guests from other hotels affected by the cyclone were seeking alternatives.
The staff handled this sudden peak hour very good.
Our stay was simple and easy, as we had hoped. Except from the very end, when a security guard insists on helping us place our luggage on our car rooftop. He accidentally drops the bag and damages the front wind shield, the front itself, and also breaks off the side mirror in the attempt of catching the suitcase.

When politely approached, the reception does not recognise the hotel liability, neither the word "sorry" seems to be in the vocabulary. On the contrary, it was in fact my own fault it had happened. Even though I was standing at least 3 meters away, watching.

In my native part of the world, hotels have liability insurance, and are eager to keep guests satisfied. This did not seem to be the case here. As I refused to pay the bill, untill they had accepted liability, they grew very mad. I had (and still do have) every intention of paying the bill of 17.000 rps, if they would accept liability or at least pay the percentage of the repair bill, that insurance would not.

Unfortunately, we parted as enemies, the receptionist wishing us death and disfortune on our way to Bangalore.

I left my full contact details with the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thmunck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Landed in Pondi with my family just after the cyclone had vent all her fury. We planned to celebrate new year at Pondi.

Rooms in the new wing of this hotel are simply superb!! The washrooms are magnanimous/ostentatious and a class apart. It had everything.

Room no 225 & 226 have a private terrace overlooking the main road; thats a bonus.

Food in the restaurant is ok. Some dishes are a wow while some others will dissapoint. for example the sizzler was bland and they did not have tabasco or paaprika sauce to go with it.

Buffet breakfast cld have been better.

Response to room service and house keeping is very slow and same is the case in all the restaurants. Entire staff needs some serious functional training but they were all very courteous & friendly.

Room Tip: room 225 & 226 have a pvt terrace overlooking the main road; good place to have drinks in the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjayshivnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Excellent service,ambiance and food .Swimming pool and spa are great.Premium rooms are superb and at par with five star deluxe hotel.Really worth staying with the price when compared to other hotel in Pondy.Also its in the downtown nearer to all areas to be visited.

Room Tip: .Really worth staying with the price when compared to other hotels in Pondy.Also its in the downtown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirra1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We visited Pondi during the Karnataka Rajyotsav holiday long-weekend (Oct 30-Nov1) and we stayed for 2 nights at the Anandha Inn! We were 3 families, all with kids and we had opted for 3 Executive Rooms with extra-bed.

Our entire experience at the hotel was pleasant. The rooms are nice and big and CLEAN! They have a nice reception lobby and ample car parking space. For families with kids, the nicely maintained swimming-pool is a big plus, there's a lovely bar overlooking the pool and you can enjoy your cocktails as you watch the kids splash about the pool.

They have a decent spa and the gym is functional. The breakfast is also good. The staff are pleasant and always willing to please you. Our booking was handled professionally without any hitch, and particularly for families with kids we will recommend the hotel strongly.

Room Tip: If you have children do go for the Executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raujot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

When we visited the hotel , the hotels new phase was being made.
We resided in the older phase.
The accomodation and services were great.
The stay was truely value for money.
We had made a comparative study of other hotels at Pondicherry - Prior confirming this one.
I wait for my next visit , As understand that the new section is built already.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gurveenkaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
2.4 km away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#15 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
3.4 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.3 km away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#27 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Annamalai International Hotel
Annamalai International Hotel
#22 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#30 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 km away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites

Property: Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
Address: 154 Sv Patel Road, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#13 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anandha Inn Convention Centre and Suites is a four star classified hotel located at the heart of the city. 10 min walk to beach and Sri Aurobindo Ashram, French Consulate and govt. public service offices. And walkable distance to the city's shopping centres and downtown. 7 km to Auroville - the international township. 3 km to railway station, 4 km to bus terminal. 140 km to International Airport (Chennai-MAS), 1 hour drive to Mahabalipuram, Chidambaram and many historical places. Well appointed 145 rooms with the option of single or double occupancy. These moderately priced accommodations are ideal for corporate, leisure and budget travelers. This centrally air-conditioned rooms are furnished with all modern facilities like guest supplies, minibar, coffee kettle, electronic key card lock, safe lock, LCD TV, one touch telephone, free Wi-Fi internet, soft comfort pillows, health club, Ayurvedic SPA, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, florist, cosmetic/bookstore, beauty parlour and boutique shop and travel desk. Convention centre with this hotel property has 50,000 Sq Ft banqueting spaces for MICE and social gatherings including pre function areas which can cater up to 1000 PAX each in the 2 large banquet halls and 400 Pax in the small banquet hall, 2 board rooms, 3 business chambers, net browsing area, meeting lounge, 24 hr coffee shop, 59 premium rooms with king size/twin bedded/executive suite/club suite/presidential suite, club lounge with all the facilities adhering 4-5 star standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anandha Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing