We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of the city location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Annamalai International Hotel
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The hotel is good with decent food. The lobby is huge with Traditional architecture. There is a swimming pool on terrace which is good. Staff is cordial and they have spacious rooms.
There Bar in the hotel is resonabally priced.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alliancekaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

I was on a business trip to Pondicherry and resided in Annamalai Hotel. The hotel ambience and rooms was good. However the food was not to the expectation.The hotel had 2 resturants i.e one fine dine and other the buffet area.

I had food in fine dine in evening and buffet breakfast in morning. The resturant was closed by 11:00 PM and was left with little choice for dinner.

Even the morning breakfast was having the variety of dishes whihc is normally in the buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Take the back rooms as front rooms have noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agarpawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Hotel is located very close from City centre and industrial areas. Very well maintained and prompt servive. Hotel is old but maintains its Food and aroma on truly south.

Very well suited to pocket and Good food. Frendly staff with every thing close to Hotel.

Room Tip: take rooms on back side to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajeshkumar1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This hotels is slightly gaudily designed but has that old world habits, rhythm and charm. The South Indian fare at lunch/dinner is quite sumptuous and filling. Do try it.

Our room was pleasantly decorated and furnished, spacious and well appointed. The room service as well as restaurant service were prompt and attentive.

It's slightly away from the sea shore but that would be acceptable for the business traveler, I suppose. It was a bit of a struggle for us as tourists though with the autorickshaw drivers charging heftily in the night.

Overall, definitely recommended unless you've got a booking at one of those delightful boutique hotels in the French town.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem to be slightly more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbhijitParkhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My visits to Pondicherry have been frequent, and I know this Hotel when it first started. Centrally located in Pondicherry with easy accessibility to the beach and other shopping areas. This hotel has maintained its standards - with good food - especially for South Indians, checking in is easy and service reasonably good for a hotel of this stature - inspite of other new hotels coming up in Pondicherry. Airconditioning is good in all the rooms and well ventillated. Pricing is reasonable and for Corporate Organisations discounts are offered.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vincejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The hotel where you want to stay When no other hotels are available. Very far from beach. Got a roof top swiming pool. South indian meal is really good which makes your stomach full. They provide only 2 hours free internet. No Vallet parking. Cannot be considered as a star class as the services are not upto the level. When compared to the other hotels of same level have got much more facilities and offers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOWRISHANKAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I stayed in Annamalai for the first time on 8th June'11 though it was my 4th trip to Pondy. I had already booked the room through mail (they are super fast in replying to the inquiries for booking). Reached early morning and the check in process was smooth and was allotted room in seconds. The bed was comfy and pillows were very comfortable. It had all the herbal products in the bathroom which was very refreshing for a change. The room was equipped with bare essentials of a hair dryer, shaving cream, soap, shampoo, writing material and a mini bar.

I enjoyed the pool which was well maintained with a guard constantly monitoring us. The breakfast was ready at 7:00 AM sharp and was King size. The grape juice served was very sour though but enjoyed the buffet.

I will add to the location of the Hotel that it is situated at a very strategic location and every attraction and government offices are located at close proximity.

They had north indian thali for lunch and was a refreshing change from the normal al a carte. The food was good and I had enough to keep me on. The lobby is a grand one and u have adequate space to relax and read a book without being disturbed.

I checked out after having the dinner, I must add that the room service is efficient and super quick. All in all a pleasant stay I had at Annamalai.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devsingh911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.4 km away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#26 of 85 in Pondicherry
423 reviews
0.6 km away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#17 of 85 in Pondicherry
658 reviews
1.9 km away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
2.2 km away
Ginger Pondicherry
Ginger Pondicherry
#21 of 85 in Pondicherry
584 reviews
2.6 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#5 of 85 in Pondicherry
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annamalai International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annamalai International Hotel

Address: 479, Kamaraj Salai, Pondicherry 605013, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: $61 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Annamalai International Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Annamalai International Pondicherry was established in 2001. Located in the heart of the city. It’s a centralized air conditioned hotel with 70 well-appointed rooms, multi-cuisine restaurant and vegetarian restaurant with exclusive vegetarian kitchen. The Court of Bacchus (BAR). 4 conference halls and business centre. Swimming pool in terrace Open to sky is exclusively for resident guests. We are number one in Pondicherry, India’s key industrial & commercial city. Wide range of accommodation with 3 Annamalai Suites, 3 King suites, 6 Executives Rooms and 58 Standard Rooms with all modern amenities and comfort to match with international standards. All the rooms are provided with Safety Locker & Bath tubs. The Swimming Pool amidst of Rock garden with Paddling Pool promises sheer exhilaration. Moonshine dinners and Pool Side Parties at Roof Top make your evening come live and crackle with excitement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Annamalai International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing