We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel”
Review of The Sunway Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sunway Manor
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stayed at sunway grt for the nights of 7 and 8 jan 12. The hotel is majestic and very good it is perfectly located where all the important places of pondichery are within easy reach it is very near to the beach and nehru market. Housekeeping is very good rooms are big and very nicely decorated. Front desk people are helpful it has beautiful lobby with capsule lifts. The buffett breakfast is very nice with lots of variety. In short a nice decent place where you get value for money. May be best hotel in pondichery. Great job guys keep it up

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitpartap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTGRANDC, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Mr Amit Partap,
Greetings from The Sunway GRT Grand,
Thank you very much for sparing your precious time in appraising us. It is a morale boost for all our employees. Now the big task lies on us to sustain with the same standard and to upgrade ourself. I am sure with your support we will be able to do the same as the slogan of GRT says "The Promise of more".
Thank you once again!
Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 9003010137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
There are newer reviews for The Sunway Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

Excellent Hotel. reasonably priced. Good Food. Excellent Service right from the Door Man upto Check Out. Definitely an example for service standards. Basement buffet vessels were not in good condition - not a GRT standard. Needs attention.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Beds can be made more comfortable.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bysani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTGRANDC, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sparing your time to write this review. Thank you for your compliments and your suggestions are valuable. We will sincerely look in to this and do the modification accordingly.
Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 9003010137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

It could not have had been better place for a perfect place to stay. They have great hospitality, great food, very helping and flexible staff who are very happy to help you. They have a very good and vast buffet breakfast, lunch & dinner and if not so hungry the À la carte is also available. They ensure each guest is personally greeted and taken care. Nice comfortable rooms with a lovely swimming pool.

Room Tip: Swimming pool users preferably use the pool side rooms. Easier approach.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rishu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTGRANDC, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Mr Rishu,
Greetings from the Sunway GRT,
Thank you very much for appraising us. It is a great please to read such nice compliments. It is definitely a boost for our employees. We will make sure we sustain to the GRT standards and live up to the expectation of every individual.
Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 9003010137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Ambience of the hotel is very good. Rooms are comfortable and cosy , room service was also very quick. conference rooms are huge and can accomadate a huge crowd. Staff can be more cordial. Food served is also good.

Room Tip: Must try dosa's here
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritzy313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTGRANDC, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sparing your precious time to appraise us. Thank you for your compliments and we have taken your suggestions and we will adhere the same. Please do visit us to enjoy the GRT hospitality.
Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 9003010137)
General Manager
Rajoo@grthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

GRT Sunway Grand is the best hotel in Pondicherry and we simply went there by the reputation. Thanks to Trip Advisor. We read the reviews first and decided on this hotel and trust me, it doesn't dissapoint.

The hotel is a little far from the Pondicherry but in a way that is a bliss. It's near the beach.

I really loved the food there. The service was too good and staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel for all sort of travellers.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajneesh_kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTGRANDC, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear Mr Rajneesh Kumar,
Greetings from the Sunway GRT,
It was our great pleasure reading your wonderful compliments. You have given us a great task of sustaining. But I am sure with your support we will strive hard to live up to the GRT standard. Please do visit GRT group to enjoy the hospitality.
Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan(+91 9003010137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We expected GRT (being a brand) that it will be definitely good and the experience was just that. To start with, the receptionists gave us a warm welcome & were quite friendly till we checked out. The rooms were posh, clean & just the kid where you can stretch & relax.
The staff even gave us a map of Pondi & explained how to reach the beaches we chose. Food was awesome for reasonable cost (better than other 5 star hotels)

GRT made our Pondi trip definitely memorable. We shall definitely stay in GRT every time we go to Pondi!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RakhiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTGRANDC, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear Ms Rakhi,
Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand,
It was our great plesure receiving such nice compliments. It will definitely boost the staff morale. We will strive hard to live up to the GRT standard at all times. Thank you very much for giving us assurance that you would stay only at GRT. We have started our property at Vellore recently. If you get an opportunity do visit to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+919003010137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I had stayed here in month of November 2011.Location is off of beach and main attractions in Puducherry but if you have a car it is 15 minutes only. Staff greeted me well and came with me to show our room. Hotel is multistory and well maintained. Rooms are well decorated, bed is comfortable and bathroom showers have good flow of water. They sent a welcome fruit plate as welcome!! Wifi is free and fast. We ate the breakfast and it was one of the best in our trip to south Indian city. I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask the desk for good rooms away from main road.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasatv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
2.7 km away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#17 of 82 in Pondicherry
623 reviews
3.6 km away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
3.3 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#25 of 82 in Pondicherry
392 reviews
18.2 km away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#20 of 82 in Pondicherry
784 reviews
5.5 km away
RKN Beach Resort
RKN Beach Resort
#42 of 82 in Pondicherry
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunway Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunway Manor

Address: 100 Feet Road | Mudaliarpet, Pondicherry 605004, India (Formerly The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry)
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#1 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#7 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range: $61 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunway Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SUNWAY MANOR - IT'S A LOT MORE THAN JUST A PLACE TO STAY. It features a contemporary ambience that is blended with traditional South Indian hospitality. Located in the city center, it presents 61 aesthetically designed spacious rooms, OPEN HOUSE - 24 Hour Restaurant, GARDENIA - Multi Cuisine Restaurant, LE VERANDA - Open Sky, DELICE - Cake Shop, ASTA - Bar, Spacious Banquet Halls, PALI - Spa & Fitness Studio, RA - swimming pool, kids' play area, biggest parking, etc., which suit your leisure and business requirements. Opulent in decor and detailed in needs ensure an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sunway Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunway Grt Grand Pondicherry Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing