We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good view, mediocre food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ajantha Sea View Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ajantha Sea View Hotel
Ranked #35 of 139 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Reutlingen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good view, mediocre food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The receptionist was friendly, helpful in every way. The room on the second floor (the larger one) is on the corner and has two quite spacious balconies with a sea view and a street view. It was clean, but a little worn down. The hotel food was certainly below average. You get good value for the money. -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Egon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    19
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
13
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Our stay at "The Ajantha Sea View" was a short one, but one that has left us with many beautiful memories.It was a new year celebration-2012 in Pondicherry with my better half. “Its in the French colony & has an excellent sea view from the room (No-103-Coral) where we stayed.Room charge was 3500 Rs/Night and hospitality,roof top restaurant was excellent.Centrally located on Goubert Avenue (beach road) near to duple park. This charming European-style hotel has stunning views of the Bay of Bengal and is within walking distance of some of Pondicherry's most notable attractions like Ashram. park, near Mg road and Nehru road, museum, and plenty of good french restaurants.

A must stay - if ever in Pondicherry....!!!

Wishing you all a very Happy New Year - 2012 - Enjoy !!

Room Tip: Coral - Room N0 - 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Chacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel. The positive points are the physical location, Open the french windows and you are going to enjoy the view and sea breeze. However they have only 4-5 rooms to manage, but they seem to run out of hands to work, brains to come up with common sense processes and interests from the workesrs on creativity to use the advatages physical location. Shabby tea, break fast shop. Strong odour in the dining area. Lack of "JAZZYNESS" in the Bar.

My Advise to the owners will be to get some good ideas from the workers, they seem to be smart and have ideas, but looks to me that they are not being heard adequately.

Regards, Raghu

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJoyousRaghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Along with my wife I drove to Pondicherry hoping for a nice weekend. I didn't get rooms at the Promenade and Calve Heritage Inn because of the weekend rush. Neither I couldn't find a room at the budget guuest house (Dumas Guesthouse). However, this pathetic property (Ajantha Seaview) overlooking the Bay of Bengal offered me one standard double room @ Rs.3000 a night. Though I never gone through their reviews on Tripadvisor or any other travel forums I blindly opted for it as I couldn't find a place anywhere else. I was so amazed that the room is overlooking the sea soon I realized it's only the views and the service is pathetic or no sevice at all. Curtains were not washed, stains everywhere. Balcony was not cleaned for several weeks it seems. Hand rails were so dirty and so are the table and chairs in the balcony. No words for flooring - it was dusty and could see paints scattered all across! All this at 3000 a night! We saw 2 cocroaches running all across the room. And by late night running water stopped in bathroom and upon enquiring they were told me its because of weekend rush. What a pathetic response from the management! And a dirty fellow came up with a bucket of water in case of emergency. Seeing the dirt on his clothes we rather used bottled water for emergency! And when we woke up in the morning, there was no power and A/C was off - no lights in rooms and bathrooms. They took almost 3 hours to fix it! The complimentary breakfast offered was a shocker. They said as there's power failure they cannot toast a bread or can't make french fries. We were offered a piece of bread with butter and jam! Literally there is nothing called room service. I called up reception twice the day I checked in to clear the plates and the fellow at the reception told he will send the person soon - though noone bothered to come and collect the plates. Finally I had to dump it outside my room. We couldn't even sit on the balcony as it was dirty and stinking. And when I wanted to complain the next day morning noone was at the reception and only some cleaning staffs were present who speaks only tamil and they were helpless. If you don't want to ruin to holidays never ever think of this place - it's the worst place in the best location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bakpakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel during a imprmptu trip to Pondy with friends. decent place with no frills. Awesome location, like all hotels on the promenade - bang on the sea shore. Sorrounded by the French Quarters and good restaurants, it is a hotel to keep in the shortlist, in case one doesnt get acess the 4 or 5 star ones.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitrabhanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

We booked this place to be right on the waterfront. for three nights. Considering the price we expected good efficient service, but the service was soso, all this with only four rooms to run... The room was very spaciious, with A/C and fan. The car they sent to pick us up at Chennai airport had 4 scrap tires which we rotated twice on our way in, Every day, we had to specifically ask them to clean the room and for new towels. The shower head holder was broken, hot water supply was random. Avoid the roof top restaurant except for a drink, the dishes are not up to indian standards in terms of quality and taste. service was pityful. The included breakfast is served in the ground floor café, It is a hot and unconfortable place, the breakfast is a cheap fare there again, best to eat elsewhere. Overall the hotel has a great spot but makes no effort to make the place charming and recommendable. So, book there knowing that you pay for the great view, only, don't expect much in terms of service.











.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank telegumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

Hi,
We went here for dinner on the eve of Valentines day and believe me there couldn't have been a worse place to go!

This is located right on the beach road and rooms and restaurant facing the ocean, but that is where are the good things about this place ends! The food was worse than you can imagine at costs which were insane! Just a lime juice was priced 120+ rupees! The place was also stinking with people around just drunk and the place kept no so clean.
We also got some uncooked rice in the name of Jeera Rice and some squashed tomatoes in the name of tomato soup.

The service was bad with many of the guests shouting at the waiters and managers.

Stay away! Please do not spoil your day by visiting a horrible place in a disguised good location!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#10 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.8 km away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
0.5 km away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#18 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#28 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#8 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Corbelli
Hotel Corbelli
#47 of 72 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajantha Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajantha Sea View Hotel

Property: Ajantha Sea View Hotel
Address: 50 Goubert Avenue, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing