We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value for a one night stay. Better then expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Derbyshire Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Derbyshire Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Cumbria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value for a one night stay. Better then expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Booked as a deal at £79.00 Dinner, Bed and Breakfast and a bottle of wine included for one night per room !!! At that price and after reading some reviews didn't expect a super 4 star, However , the rooms were clean,the bathroom was spotless... fluffy towels/hot water. Yes a little dated in colour scheme but a good size. The Restaurant was busy ( It will be at that price !) , We found the food okay. The service was friendly and thought the two courses included did provide excellent value. Breakfast was a bit busy but we had no problems with the service or quality of the food. We visited the shopping outlet , 5 minutes away and didn't mind the closeness of the road network noisy. We chose the hotel for its location and price for a one night stop over. As a bonus, we used the leisure facilities... all were warm and in use. Not bad at all really for £79.00 !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review

It was pleasing to read your comments, and you expectations were met and exceeded. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Derbyshire sometime in the not too distant future

Kind Regards

Glynn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    498
    296
    107
    78
See reviews for
163
646
35
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Although it did what it needed to do, due to the décor I felt that I had been transferred to my mothers house in the 1980's (but much more worn and tired - in reality mum would be horrified to see the thread worn nature of the fittings!). Really needs totally refurbishment, the spa facilities were a bonus, but even the spa is in need of TLC.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Business T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback

Sorry you feel the hotel is a little dated, we have an ongoing plan to refurbish areas of the hotel.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed the spa facilities, our Jacuzzi is fully up to date as it was only fitted last month

I do hope you visit again in the not to distant future

Kind Regards

Glynn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We booked this hotel through a travel zoo deal this is not our first experiance of travel zoo hotels which i must add have been very good,
this break was for my wifes birthday treat to get away and relax do a bit off shopping and get a massage in the spa
unknowing to her i had booked her mother and father into the hotel aswell as myself,my wife and two boys in adjoining rooms
the hotel gave us all rooms together close to the spa but not to close the rooms where spacous clean and tidy a little dated but well maintained the first evening myself and children went for a swimm and sauna letting my wife catch up whith her parents
we booked for the included evening meal not expecting to much to be more than pleasantly surprised the service and quality of the staffing and food gave the resteraunt a warm pleasant feel and each member of our party concured that the food not to big a portion was of high quality as was the breakfast the following two mornings and the next nights evening meals on the whole the hotel was warm welcoming and had ample facilities pleasant staff and a easy feel . thanks to all at the Derby hotel.

Room Tip: as for adjoining rooms for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norberto m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you taking the time to post your feedback

I am glad you and the family had an enjoyable time at the Derbyshire Hotel to celebrate your wife’s birthday, and the rooms allocated were suitable for your families to be together

The Derbyshire hotel is renowned for its warm Derbyshire welcome and my pleasant staff love to offer all our guests an experience they will not forget, I am pleased this was the instance during your stay

The hotel as been a Travel Zoo hotel for a couple of years now, and offer great value deals through the website, I do hope we have the pleasure over ypur company again on a similar offer in the near future.

Kind Regards

Glynn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed for one night on a deal through travel zoo, 1 night, breakfast, evening meal, bottle of wine. Room was fine, carpet looking a bit drab, but overall the room was fairly clean! Fridge didn't work, so couldn't cool the wine. Pool was lovely:) Evening meal was very good, but I wouldn't say ti was 4 star, times to book where a bit limited, it was first come first choice of time to eat! Pub acrooss road, so could get cheaper and change of surroundings. Outlet one minute in car for shopping
Slow to check out and they did mess up my bill quite a bit, however, we did experience a nice weekend, staff very friendly, definately not a 4 star but well worth what we paid £79. Would go again on that deal

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
A Lovely stay

Thank you for taking the time to post your review

It was pleasing to read you did experience a nice weekend, and that all the staff were very friendly.

Kind Regards

Glynn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

we booked this hotel through easybreaks, this hotel was in the premier range collection and 4*.
The staff are very friendly and kind, however not our usual 4* hotel.
The display units in the reception area, contained dove roll ons and toothbrushes, the hallway's are very dark. The Pool very small and not appealing as you have to walk through a gym to get there.
Our double room was fine until i sat down and notice the stains all around the base of the bed.
We had booked for 2 nights, however decided not to unpack and drive straight back home again. Advised the staff of us leaving who kindly offered us a change of room.
At this point we were already put off by the cleanliness and decided we would be more comfortable in our clean home a few hours away.
I have stayed in better Bed and Breakfasts for cheaper rates, it wouldnt have been bad at all if it was clean. Stains on the Bed are unacceptable. Should be reviewed as a 4* Hotel

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel at all if you are looking for a 4* Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabi04uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
I am sorry you thought the hotel was not 4 star, we have only just received our AA assessment and have been rated 4 star again for a further year

The cleanliness issues you mention are certainly not acceptable from any hotel, if only you had taken up the kind offer from my friendly staff to change rooms, I am positive you would have had an enjoyable stay and the room you were checked into was an isolated incident, we usually only receive comments about how clean and comfortable our rooms are.

The pool is relatively small and accessed through the changing rooms, and can be seen through the gym windows which is nice when you are working out, our members and guest alike compliment us on the facilities and how relaxing and whole spa area is, please let me apologise again for your disappointment

Should you have occasion to return to the area, visit the hotel again and when we hope to make amends for you previous disappointment

Kind Regards

Glynn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Normanton hotels

Godmanchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed for 1 night as we got a cheap deal through Travelzoo. 1 nights accomodation for 2 with breakfast and evening meal and a bottle of wine thrown in for good measure. £79 all in.
Not a bad deal at all

The room we were given stunk of cirarette smoke even though it was a non smoking room. This was changed quickly. The receptionist was very helpful i might add.

Only 1 towel in the bathroom but we found a very thin, old towel in the wardrobe which i used. I could have rung reception but thought this was a one off.

Dissapointed to learn that the only times we could dine was @ 6:30 or 9:00. We checked in at 5:15 so 6:30 didnt leave much time as 9:00 is way too late.

Food was ok but the lamb was very bland and not the type of meal i would expect from a 4 star hotel. The problem really was the queues to get into the resaurant. It was like a truckers cafe!!

At breakfast we had to give our room number and sit and wait to be called forward when we had a table free. When we looked in there were about 7 tables free and set up and some others just not cleared from the last people.

Service was slow, had to ask for plates, salt, spoons, butter etc.

Overall not a 4 start experience abd not a romantic place. The hotels groups saying is "Memories that last forever". Not good ones i'm afraid.

2 or 3 star is more fitting than 4 star.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rizz1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review

I am sorry you thought the hotel was not 4 star, we have only recently received our AA audit and was graded again a 4 star for 2012.

Most of our guests find the bedroom guest amenities adequate for their stay, our Reception is manned 24 hours per day and should you have requested any further supplies, the staff would have been only to pleased to bring them to your room for you

Our breakfast offering should offer a choice of continental and full English items, I am sorry this was not the case on the first morning of your stay, we have recently introduced a breakfast checklist to ensure no items are missed from the buffet as per our specification each morning.

The Housekeeper will look into the lack of handles from the drawers as this certainly is not acceptable

I do hope you return to the hotel when we can make amends for your previous disappointment.


Kind Regards



Glynn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at The derbyshire it is mainly aimed at the business rather than the tourist trade however we had an enjoyable stay and it is in such a convenient location for visiting the area and the food was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bilti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
17.7 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
16.6 km away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
15.3 km away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
15.6 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derbyshire Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Property: The Derbyshire Derby
Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing