We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant on the Island!”
Review of Dahon Restaurant

Dahon Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Dauin
Price range: US$7 - US$34
Description: Dahon Restaurant offers five star dining at Salaya Beach Houses for anyone who is looking for top quality food and service in the Dumaguete area. The restaurant is open to the public and resort guests from 7am-late 7 days a week. Dining options include a modern art-gallery style air-conditioned restaurant overlooking tropical gardens, or poolside tables (subject to availability) with views of the ocean. Dahon restaurant offer menus with mixture of contemporary European, Asian fusion and Filipino influences with strong emphasis on celebrating fresh local ingredients. Expect hand made everything! Dahon make everything in-house, including pasta, breads, sauces, ice-creams, cakes, and more. You won't find any packet mixes or pre-prepared short cuts here, it's all about high quality, healthy food that is cooked with love, and without the use of preservatives.
Restaurant details
Description: Dahon Restaurant offers five star dining at Salaya Beach Houses for anyone who is looking for top quality food and service in the Dumaguete area. The restaurant is open to the public and resort guests from 7am-late 7 days a week. Dining options include a modern art-gallery style air-conditioned restaurant overlooking tropical gardens, or poolside tables (subject to availability) with views of the ocean. Dahon restaurant offer menus with mixture of contemporary European, Asian fusion and Filipino influences with strong emphasis on celebrating fresh local ingredients. Expect hand made everything! Dahon make everything in-house, including pasta, breads, sauces, ice-creams, cakes, and more. You won't find any packet mixes or pre-prepared short cuts here, it's all about high quality, healthy food that is cooked with love, and without the use of preservatives.
Reviewed May 9, 2018

As an expat, living in Dumaguete (Philippines), I would definitely say that my favorite restaurant is Dahon. I come here a few times every week, enjoy the good food and the good mood. I've stayed at Salaya Beach Houses before, which was an amazing experience and this is how I got introduced to Dahon Restaurant. A great choice in breakfast, lunch, snacks and dinner. As a yogi, I love the organic garden! Mango salad and the fish taco's are my all-time favorites for sure. And for breakfast, as a real Dutch, the 'uitsmijter'. Will be back soon! ;)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sunayildirim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Dauin, General Manager at Dahon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2018

Thank you so much fellow Foodie . We do our best to put lots of love into our organic herb and vegetable garden at the resort, and of course into the meals we prepare for all our guests. It's rewarding for our team to know that it's appreciated - thank you for taking the time to provide such a lovely review.

You might be interested to know that we have some regular events for restaurant goers:

Friday nights from 6-8pm we offer a free Apperitivo Tasting Plate to all our diners at the pool bar - it's a lovely way to start the weekend with some delicious morsels of our best food, while sipping a cocktail as the sun goes down and enjoy some live music!

Saturday nights you can enjoy Pizza & Pasta by the Pool - beautiful wood fired pizzas and home made pasta dishes includes our hand-made Squid Ink Pasta Marinara.

Thanks again and best wishes from the Foodie Team at Dahon Restaurant (located at Salaya Beach Houses)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 18 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2018 via mobile

A very clean and modern restaurant which is situated in the grounds of the Salaya beach house complex. It is indoors which is handy if the weather is a bit unsettled or you want to escape the humidity for a while. It has a decent menu and the service is very quick and friendly (I was served by Kathlyn). I accessed the restaurant from the beach which was a nice stroll, and strolled back to my hotel via the same way although I needed my torch. Otherwise a motorbike with sidecar is easy to arrange or a Jeepney if you're thinking big! A nice evening out, strongly recommended!

Thank F1Hertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Dauin, General Manager at Dahon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2018

Thank you F1Hertz! We're glad you enjoyed your experience at Dahon Restaurant and hope to see you back soon.
We have a new menu being released this week, so if you are still in the area, perhaps you might like to come and try some of our new dishes.

Best wishes from all the team, Dahon Restaurant @ Salaya Beach Houses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2018

Delicious tuna and coriander fish cakes - the best I have ever had, fresh and crunchy garden salad, home made mulberry ice cream, super cold beers served in a chilled glass, gorgeous beach side setting and friendly staff, could'nt ask for more.. can't wait to come back next year

1  Thank carolpearce2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Dauin, General Manager at Dahon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Thanks so much for your review Carol! We've just added some really delicious Quinoa Cakes to the menu too - if you like the Tuna ones, these are a lovely vegetarian alternative.

We're looking forward to your return and hope that the weather in the UK is not too cold in the meantime. Best wishes from all of us at Dahon Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2018 via mobile

We have dined here several times and will be returning next time we’re in the area. The food quality was outstanding, everything is freshly prepared in the kitchen, even the bread is baked daily. Lots of excellent healthy & vegetarian options. Great menu with something to suit everyone. Oh, and make sure you leave room for desert!!

1  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Dauin, General Manager at Dahon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2018

Thank you Emma! we look forward to seeing you back here again soon.
P.S. Ask if the Red Velvet Cheesecake is available when you are here (a new addition for special occasions, and it's a desert lover's dream!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2018

Dahon restaurant offered same height quality taste in food as the hosting Salaya resort in housing and activities. Dining is in a clean restaurant or you can grab a chair in front of the pool facing the ocean. I was up for Philippino Fish Kinilaw on the first day and Indonesian Nasi Goreng the second evening. In short word, "best in the Philippines!"

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Explore530667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Dauin, General Manager at Dahon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Wow! Thank you for such wonderful feedback Tomaž, we're thrilled that you rated our food "best in the Philippines!". This is a lovely compliment to our staff who do their best to prepare great food. Thank you for taking the time to review Dahon. Best wishes from Carol, Marc and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dahon Restaurant also viewed

Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
Dauin, Dumaguete City
 
Dauin, Dumaguete City
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 

Been to Dahon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing