We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vida Homes Condo Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Dauin
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Vida Homes is modern, beautifully maintained condos mere steps away from immaculate grounds and swimming pools (yes pools plural). The staff were very friendly and helpful, and made us feel valued and welcomed from the first day. We had trouble with our luggage (a day late due to issues with a late United flight in the US), and they, together with Philippine Airlines, handled the issue for us; our luggage magically appeared at the resort only a day late with no effort on our part! The morning breakfast was great and became a fixture. The dive shop is staffed with exceptionally qualified and friendly instructors and we have been transformed into enthusiasts; can't wait to get back and get diving again. I honestly cannot imagine anything being done better!
Diving and scuba, markets, relaxing in the pools (nice swim-up bar :-)), spa, ...... Very near the highway so trips to the city & elsewhere are easy. Go !!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randlemclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vida H, Manager at Vida Homes Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you feel valued and welcomed from the first day of your stay. Thank you for your appreciation to Vida Homes staff as well as the dive center. I am so thrilled to share this with them; your review encourages us to give our best always to help create a memory that will last a lifetime. We look forward to welcoming you again to our little paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

We stayed for a week in July with Kids Sea Camp. The diving is amazing! Don't miss the whale sharks! We did both diving and snorkeling with them....the snorkeling won hands down with my kids! Fantastic experience! The owner is Swiss and has lived there for 30 years. He's an interesting guy..definitely ask him about his Mustang sunk down at 100 feet directly in front of the resort. They've put in an artificial reef in front of the resort consisting of the Mustang, a Jeep, and a myriad of wine bottles encased in concrete blocks. Lots of interesting critters have made their homes there. Although the muck diving in Dauin is top notch, the diving at Apo Island was our favorite! The island has the longest established sanctuary in the Philippines, and it shows! Wow! Fantastic hard corals and biodiversity. Turtle Town is to die for! Dozens of big green sea turtles in less than 40 feet of water. Seemed like there was a new one every few feet either doing turtle yoga or taking a snooze amongst the stellar coral. The dive operation run by Biggs is truly valet. The crew is the happiest that I've come across in 20 plus years of diving. They simply can't do enough for you! Biggs will do anything in her power to make your stay the best that she can. She is an amazing lady! The resort is beautiful with the landscaping a feast for the eyes. We loved seeing the gardeners trimming the lawn with hedge clippers. Tried to get my daughters excited about the idea of pink ones, but they were not interested. The transportation to the resort, to the Cabilao Sea Explorers property and back to the airport was seamless. Sea Explorers has operatives that take care of you from the moment you step off the plane until you step back on the plane. For those of you who are worried about safety due to the issues in the south of the Philippines, don't! We never felt the least bit vulnerable. The Philippino people are absolutely lovely! The resort condos are gorgeous and spacious with beautiful patios! The swim-up bar and pool is a great place to cool off. Only wish that there was more of a beach. For us, we were diving most of the time, so it wasn't a deal breaker. The summer months are the rainy season, but we only had a few light showers while we slept. Bring study materials for the mountain school, extra dinero for the $20 hour long massages and tip, tip, tip! A little really means a lot here!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divingmommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vida H, Manager at Vida Homes Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Divingmommy,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It was awesome to receive such kind words from you. We are overjoyed to hear that you had a fantastic experience during your stay with us. Thank you for your appreciation to the owner, to Ma'am Bigs as well as to Vida Homes and Sea Explorers. We will continue to give our very best to always help create a memory that will last a lifetime. We look forward to welcoming you again to our little paradise.

Best regards,

Vida Homes Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We stayed at the 2 bed rooms. There's living room, dining table for 8 persons, kitchen and a patio. Just in front of the room there's a pool. Room are clean. Everything perfect. On the opposit side of the resort another resort own by the same company. There you can hire banca to go island hoping or go to apo island and swim with the turtle. There are more than 10 with different sizes.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PCT555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaEx-VidaManagement, Manager at Vida Homes Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for your review of our resort. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again with us one of your future trips. Best Regards from the whole Vida Homes Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

A fantastic resort in a beautiful setting. All the faculties of a dive resort, but without it being in your face.

Our apartment was immaculate. A large balcony overlooking the pool with decent views of the ocean.
Whilst booking, we were advised of ongoing construction work. It was happening at the back of the resort and was hardly noticeable. To be fair, we probably wouldn't have noticed had we not been told about it (though we were positioned near the front of the resort).

The resort has a very strict outside guest policy, which did upset one group of guests. However, it was great for my partner and I as the resort felt like our own. Quite often we had the pool and gardens to ourselves and the overall atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing.

Out of earshot, but only a short walk away is Pura Vida. A dive resort operated by the same owner. The bar and restaurant there is a little livelier and a great place to dine and be social. There's always a few staff and divers at the bar to have a drink with, and there are tables on the beach where you can enjoy a romantic meal.

The food and drink are reasonably priced considering the location. You can eat cheaper locally of course, but I think you get what you pay for and the food is consistently good.

Of course, one of the biggest draws to the area is the diving. The sister company dive centre is very well operated and the staff are some of the best you'll find. Vida homes itself isn't a dive resort. So you really get the best of both worlds. Living in tranquil luxury with all the benefits of a 5 star dive centre, but without tripping up over wetsuits and BCDs at every turn.

Highly recommended, and I cannot wait to come back.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrBadExample_VN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaEx-VidaManagement, Manager at Vida Homes Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of our Vida Homes Condo Resort, as well as Pura Vida and the Sea Explorers Dive Center. The whole team is delighted to read your review and they highly appreciate it. We hope to see you soon again here at Vida Homes. Best Regards from your Vida Homes Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay in Vida Homes and would love to come back someday. We got a two bedroom condo for 6 days. Loved the master bathroom with stone tiles and frosted glass windows. It's as if I was showering outdoors. Great wifi, nice variety at breakfast, infinity pool, bar and food service, and impeccable decor. Also next door to Sea Explorers for diving activities. Fantastic staff and housekeeping! I didn't give it 5 stars because the transportation options are exorbitant. For example the cost of getting a tricycle (at the hotel) round trip to the Malatapay Market was 600 pesos. And the cost of hiring an all day van from the hotel is 3000 pesos per person. It's quite a lot and we had to look elsewhere for those services in order to tour Dauin and Dumaguete. Otherwise, good value hotel with luxurious amenities. Thanks to Chris for a warm welcome during our stay!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CocoSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisheim99, Owner at Vida Homes Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Hi CocoSoul
very welcome and thanks for your review highly appreciate it.yes we will go over the price for the transport service....when you come back its fixed.best regards from your vida homes team happy weekend chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We had our family reunion on this resort and booked over 10 rooms. I was very impressed with the whole resort. I had a two bedroom unit for my family of four. The rooms were very comfortable, the bathroom was excellent, the rooms were spacious with living area, kitchen, dining room and your own patio. The landscaping on the gardens were great, and everything was very clean. We had a few hiccups on the initial bookings which were kinda stressful as some rooms had not finished construction on time and we were a big group of 50 people but the staff sorted everything out as we got there. The room where my mother stayed however had a stench of sewer coming from the drains of the bathroom but having constructed my home recently, i know that sometimes happens for new structures. The staff were very friendly and the service was great. My only complain from our whole stay was that the beers on the pool bar were not very cold. They need to sort their chilling capacity on the pool bar. Overall, we had a great reunion and i would definitely look to stay in this resort again.

Room Tip: ground floor room closest to the beach are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee D, Marketing Officer at Vida Homes Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Hello Antonio,

thank you very much for your review of our condo resort and for choosing our place for your grand reunion. Yes we tried our very best to get all the rooms done in time but weather conditions and other factors did not play in our favor, but we are very thankful for your patience and understanding. We are glad you pointed out the issue with the smell from the drainage which has also been addressed and resolved, and we can asure that all the rooms don't have this issue anymore. The chiling capacity of our drinks has also been reorganized, we apologize for this inconvenience since this was the first time the resort was open with a higher room capacity. We will be looking forward your next visit here where you can enjoy the fully completed resort including the new lap pool as well as the new villas. Big regards from Tess and the whole Vida Homes family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

The property is located roughly around 45 minutes to 1 hour of Drive from the Airport. You may get car transportation from the airport for 700 pesos.

Check in: Experienced a bit of a hiccup checking in as we were told they have not received our online booking. Something about their main reservation team based in Cebu not being able to forward our booking to them. We waited for about 30 minutes until we were assisted to our room. This was a bit of inconvenient as we just really want to rest after the long travel. Nevertheless the foreign manager's presence who keeps apologizing for their lapse, had this experience almost irrelevant.

The room was clean, crisp and perfect in every detail. It is as beautiful as it is in the photos in their website. The bathroom has a spa-feel which is extremely relaxing and screaming holiday. Pool is squeaky clean and surroundings are well maintained.

The restaurant is located in Pura Vida, the nearby resort. And is open until 10pm only. So, make sure to make it to dinner before the restaurant closes as there are no other options for food after that late (even fastfood). The menu is full of variety. Food was delicious.

Pura Vida has trips for Oslob Whale Shark Watching and Apo Island but I will recommend just planning your own trip if you wish to see as much of the attractions, especially for those who are planning to stay for just a few days. The trips offered in Pura Vida will use up the whole day as you will just be tagging along with the Divers. You will then have to wait for 1-2 hours for the Divers to come back and off to the next diving spot. They have as much as 4-5 stops.

Staffs are friendly and would go extra mile to help you. Definitely worth coming back!

Room Tip: Request for the beach side rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wanderluster1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisheim99, Owner at Vida Homes Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Hi Wanderluster,

Thank you so much for your review and being with us. We apologize for any mistakes and we will make sure that it will not happen again.

Happy weekend!

Best regards with a big smile,
From Vida Homes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
0.9 km away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#7 of 16 in Dauin
58 reviews
2.6 km away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 16 in Dauin
324 reviews
0.3 km away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 35 in Dumaguete City
317 reviews
9.7 km away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 3 in Zamboanguita
221 reviews
0.8 km away
Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vida Homes Condo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vida Homes Condo Resort

Address: Washington Street, District Iii, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dauin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range: $252 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vida Homes Condo Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vida Homes is an alluring and exotic blend of Asian and European comfort! A 25 minute drive south of Dumaguete takes you to Dauin, Negros Oriental where the first and only contemporary tropical condo-resort nestles--VIDA HOMES. As you enter the gate and walk around its well-manicured lawn, you not only see beauty but also feel the security and comfort that the condo-resort promises. At the heart of it is an infinity pool with integrated cocktail bar that beckons you to take a swim or simply enjoy a drink or read a book while sun bathing. The Habagat and Amihan buildings house a total of 28 luxurious homes with breathtaking view of the sea and the mountain. It is the perfect haven for you, furnished with the amenities of a 5-star hotel, providing comfort and serenity. There are 2 units of 3-bedroom Villa, 2 units of 2-bedroom Penthouse, 14 units of 1-bedroom and 10 units of 2-bedroom condos with porches that offer a picturesque view. Definitely lifestyle starts in VIDA HOMES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Vida Homes Condo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vida Homes Condo Resort Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing