We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
36
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar lot lot food delivered sea explorers dining table living room dive centre apo island whale sharks apartment luxury gym gardeners massage philippines van sanctuary
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 43 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2017

We stayed for a week in July with Kids Sea Camp. The diving is amazing! Don't miss the whale sharks! We did both diving and snorkeling with them....the snorkeling won hands down with my kids! Fantastic experience! The owner is Swiss and has lived there for 30 years. He's an interesting guy..definitely ask him about his Mustang sunk down at 100 feet directly in front of the resort. They've put in an artificial reef in front of the resort consisting of the Mustang, a Jeep, and a myriad of wine bottles encased in concrete blocks. Lots of interesting critters have made their homes there. Although the muck diving in Dauin is top notch, the diving at Apo Island was our favorite! The island has the longest established sanctuary in the Philippines, and it shows! Wow! Fantastic hard corals and biodiversity. Turtle Town is to die for! Dozens of big green sea turtles in less than 40 feet of water. Seemed like there was a new one every few feet either doing turtle yoga or taking a snooze amongst the stellar coral. The dive operation run by Biggs is truly valet. The crew is the happiest that I've come across in 20 plus years of diving. They simply can't do enough for you! Biggs will do anything in her power to make your stay the best that she can. She is an amazing lady! The resort is beautiful with the landscaping a feast for the eyes. We loved seeing the gardeners trimming the lawn with hedge clippers. Tried to get my daughters excited about the idea of pink ones, but they were not interested. The transportation to the resort, to the Cabilao Sea Explorers property and back to the airport was seamless. Sea Explorers has operatives that take care of you from the moment you step off the plane until you step back on the plane. For those of you who are worried about safety due to the issues in the south of the Philippines, don't! We never felt the least bit vulnerable. The Philippino people are absolutely lovely! The resort condos are gorgeous and spacious with beautiful patios! The swim-up bar and pool is a great place to cool off. Only wish that there was more of a beach. For us, we were diving most of the time, so it wasn't a deal breaker. The summer months are the rainy season, but we only had a few light showers while we slept. Bring study materials for the mountain school, extra dinero for the $20 hour long massages and tip, tip, tip! A little really means a lot here!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divingmommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vida H, Manager at Vida Homes Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Hi Divingmommy,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It was awesome to receive such kind words from you. We are overjoyed to hear that you had a fantastic experience during your stay with us. Thank you for your appreciation to the owner, to Ma'am Bigs as well as to Vida Homes and Sea Explorers. We will continue to give our very best to always help create a memory that will last a lifetime. We look forward to welcoming you again to our little paradise.

Best regards,

Vida Homes Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2017

We stayed at the 2 bed rooms. There's living room, dining table for 8 persons, kitchen and a patio. Just in front of the room there's a pool. Room are clean. Everything perfect. On the opposit side of the resort another resort own by the same company. There you can hire banca to go island hoping or go to apo island and swim with the turtle. There are more than 10 with different sizes.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PCT555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaEx-VidaManagement, Manager at Vida Homes Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Thank you for your review of our resort. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again with us one of your future trips. Best Regards from the whole Vida Homes Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2017 via mobile

A fantastic resort in a beautiful setting. All the faculties of a dive resort, but without it being in your face.

Our apartment was immaculate. A large balcony overlooking the pool with decent views of the ocean.
Whilst booking, we were advised of ongoing construction work. It was happening at the back of the resort and was hardly noticeable. To be fair, we probably wouldn't have noticed had we not been told about it (though we were positioned near the front of the resort).

The resort has a very strict outside guest policy, which did upset one group of guests. However, it was great for my partner and I as the resort felt like our own. Quite often we had the pool and gardens to ourselves and the overall atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing.

Out of earshot, but only a short walk away is Pura Vida. A dive resort operated by the same owner. The bar and restaurant there is a little livelier and a great place to dine and be social. There's always a few staff and divers at the bar to have a drink with, and there are tables on the beach where you can enjoy a romantic meal.

The food and drink are reasonably priced considering the location. You can eat cheaper locally of course, but I think you get what you pay for and the food is consistently good.

Of course, one of the biggest draws to the area is the diving. The sister company dive centre is very well operated and the staff are some of the best you'll find. Vida homes itself isn't a dive resort. So you really get the best of both worlds. Living in tranquil luxury with all the benefits of a 5 star dive centre, but without tripping up over wetsuits and BCDs at every turn.

Highly recommended, and I cannot wait to come back.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrBadExample_VN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaEx-VidaManagement, Manager at Vida Homes Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2017

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of our Vida Homes Condo Resort, as well as Pura Vida and the Sea Explorers Dive Center. The whole team is delighted to read your review and they highly appreciate it. We hope to see you soon again here at Vida Homes. Best Regards from your Vida Homes Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2017 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay in Vida Homes and would love to come back someday. We got a two bedroom condo for 6 days. Loved the master bathroom with stone tiles and frosted glass windows. It's as if I was showering outdoors. Great wifi, nice variety at breakfast, infinity pool, bar and food service, and impeccable decor. Also next door to Sea Explorers for diving activities. Fantastic staff and housekeeping! I didn't give it 5 stars because the transportation options are exorbitant. For example the cost of getting a tricycle (at the hotel) round trip to the Malatapay Market was 600 pesos. And the cost of hiring an all day van from the hotel is 3000 pesos per person. It's quite a lot and we had to look elsewhere for those services in order to tour Dauin and Dumaguete. Otherwise, good value hotel with luxurious amenities. Thanks to Chris for a warm welcome during our stay!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CocoSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisheim99, Owner at Vida Homes Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Hi CocoSoul
very welcome and thanks for your review highly appreciate it.yes we will go over the price for the transport service....when you come back its fixed.best regards from your vida homes team happy weekend chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2017

We had our family reunion on this resort and booked over 10 rooms. I was very impressed with the whole resort. I had a two bedroom unit for my family of four. The rooms were very comfortable, the bathroom was excellent, the rooms were spacious with living area, kitchen, dining room and your own patio. The landscaping on the gardens were great, and everything was very clean. We had a few hiccups on the initial bookings which were kinda stressful as some rooms had not finished construction on time and we were a big group of 50 people but the staff sorted everything out as we got there. The room where my mother stayed however had a stench of sewer coming from the drains of the bathroom but having constructed my home recently, i know that sometimes happens for new structures. The staff were very friendly and the service was great. My only complain from our whole stay was that the beers on the pool bar were not very cold. They need to sort their chilling capacity on the pool bar. Overall, we had a great reunion and i would definitely look to stay in this resort again.

Room Tip: ground floor room closest to the beach are the best
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee D, Marketing Officer at Vida Homes Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2017

Hello Antonio,

thank you very much for your review of our condo resort and for choosing our place for your grand reunion. Yes we tried our very best to get all the rooms done in time but weather conditions and other factors did not play in our favor, but we are very thankful for your patience and understanding. We are glad you pointed out the issue with the smell from the drainage which has also been addressed and resolved, and we can asure that all the rooms don't have this issue anymore. The chiling capacity of our drinks has also been reorganized, we apologize for this inconvenience since this was the first time the resort was open with a higher room capacity. We will be looking forward your next visit here where you can enjoy the fully completed resort including the new lap pool as well as the new villas. Big regards from Tess and the whole Vida Homes family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews