We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful relaxing week - perfect for small children” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Xaloc Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Xaloc Playa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Punta Prima
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing week - perfect for small children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Xaloc and it was a wonderful relaxing week. For us, it lived up to everything shown in the brochure and more.
This was the first time we had taken our 3 year old abroad and it was a perfect first time experience. Menorca is only two hours from Stansted and the airport transfer was the smoothest we have ever had. The hotel was quiet as it was coming to the end of their season, but it suited us perfectly. We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor which has pool views. The level of cleanliness in the hotel was superb. Our room including the bathroom was cleaned everyday with all the floors being washed, beds remade etc and there were fresh towels every other day. Yes, the decor and furniture is not the most modern, but there was plenty of storage and the room was nice and big. We had a twin room with the addition of a very comfortable camp bed for our daughter and it didn't feel cramped.
ALL the staff, without exception, were friendly and helpful. The food was not as varied as some places we have stayed at and the menu seemed to rotate every three days, however, it was cooked to a very high standard and I think you would have to be ultra ultra fussy if you could not find something that you liked. But there were several restaurants located a short walk from the hotel which offered food at reasonable prices if you didn't want to eat in every night.
Entertainment was only on three nights a week and Punta Prima is a really small place so it's not the place to stay if you want to be out every night, but there was a magic act, a band and traditional flamenco dancing. All of which we could watch/listen to from our balcony, as we did once our little one was asleep.
The beach is just across the road and there is also a good quality play park a few minutes away. The Hotel Barcelo, a two minute walk away, has a water park for children with slides etc. You can just walk in and use this, no problem, which we did.
We did take the land train to Binebeca one day, which was a lovely train ride, but there is not much to do in Binebeca if you have a small child. Beware that the train does not run between 1 and 5 pm because of siesta time so it is best to catch the first train, stay in Binebeca for an hour and then catch the next train back to avoid getting stranded. A return ticket was 7 EUR and there is no concession for children. If they take up a seat they pay!
We would definitely recommend this hotel, whether you have children or not, and would love to return at some point in the future.

Room Tip: Pool Room, top floor, fairly close to the hotel so you can see everything that is going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jod1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    166
    57
    8
    9
See reviews for
109
243
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Couldn't find any fault from this lovely 3 star hotel. Staff are friendly and work very hard to make your stay comfortable. Our room was very clean with a beautiful sea view. If your after a quiet, relaxing, chilled out break for a week then this resort and hotel is for you. I would definitely go back again next September.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helenflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Offley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Just spent a very relaxing and enjoyable week at the Xaloc. Hotel and room were very clean. we were in a pool side room which at first i did'nt think i would enjoy but found it to be very easy and convenent for all the facilities on offer. room would benifit from an up grade of furniture and a unit with draws. the hotel was busy but we found very little disturbance at night. during the week there were three nights of entertainment which were ok. ALL staff were very friendly and helpfull. We were on half board and there was always a variety of food on offer, they actually served egg and bacon for breakfast. Although a quiet resort we found plenty to fill our week. the bus service to Mahon was excellent but is an experience on a busy morning. packed in like sardines comes to mind but was 'fun'! train ride to Binibecca was enjoyable,especially as the sun set. lovely relaxing break which is what we were after to an island we had not been to before but will be returning to.

Room Tip: pool side very pleasent,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

13-23Sept 2011...we have just returned from a weeks break at this hotel. The hotel staff are so friendly and accomodating that it would make up for any fault you could find of a 3 star hotel. The food is basic with limited choice but is of good quality and unless you are really fussy should find something to suit. The pool area is great but small. This is a great place to chill out and relax with no real nightlife. It seems the area is cheap as we found drinks and food in and out cheaper than most other destinations we have been to. The hotel only charges €1.20 for 5 ltrs water to keep in the room. The bar drinks and food are very resonable too. All in all you can get a cheap holiday here. The bus to Mahon is €1.60 and is so easy to use and is just outside the hotel running every 25mins past the hour. The beach is accross the small road and is great for those that love the beach. their are two supermarkets close by and the local restaurants serve good food at a very reasonable price, we had a fish platter at Santi restaurant, enough for two at €17 for the platter. we have paid upwards of €26 in mainland spain... Great place , give it a whirl for a cheap 3star relaxing holiday. If you want to use a Spa i reccommend the Barcelo resort hotel 2 mins up the road at a cost of €18 for 1 1/2 hours which is ample...saunas steam room, jaccuzzi, orange juice, fruit and water included.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hoenesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Lovely hotel - very helpful, hardworking and friendly staff. Very clean hotel - rooms cleaned every day. However, we found that the food on a half-board basis lacked the imagination and variety of other similar hotels we have visited recently but agree that other guests appeared happy enough - we ate out twice during our week and found that the local restaurants served far more interesting meals. We even eventually managed to find sunbeds free late one afternoon, and yes, the brits are as guilty as everyone else for "reserving" this scarce resource despite several signs in the hotel asking guests to refrain from this practice. This doesn't really matter though as the lovely beach is very close. Punta Prima is a very small hamlet and will only suit people looking for a chill out location - like us ! We loved the location but would only return to a self-catering property.

Room Tip: Room 601 was shaded by large pine trees which kept the very hot sun off the balcony and allowed us t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpatanWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Rooms we booked were not available. "We are all human we all make mistakes". Accepted unseen bungalow for 4 with upgrade to full board. Bungalow 3 to be avoided - damp and smelly - competing with ants for the run of the place. Cleaners - lovely people - put in dehumidifier. Bit of improvement till I woke up with ants all over my pillow. Kept trying to solve problems. Eventually moved to poolside room minus ants, but little ventilation - hired fan to sort this out.Did not relax for several days due to these issues. Thos Cook holiday cannot choose room - other tour operators seem to get best rooms. Staff excellent, food generally good. Location is best around. Pool area was busy with pool generally quiet. Entertainment 3 nights - OK - not startling. Beach and swimming first class - lifeguards give disability access to the sea. Nice restaurants - but most with chips and salad - need to ask for alternatives. Very handy for airport and Mahon town which has lovely, and very large, harbour area. Enjoyed it but had to make the most of it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patdoessun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey,Uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Just a back from a week at the Xaloc.Whay a little gem in Punta Prima.Rooms very clean,towels changed daily, sheets every other day Staff are so helpful and friendly what a good team they all are.Food Breakfast/Evening Meal was buffet basic but good fare (even fried eggs for breakfast), Although just the two of us we had a bungalow which slept 5 !!! loads of space. Was a bit musty when we 1st arrived (but this is a problem on the island high humidity).Rooms had no air con but you can hire fans which was fine for us. Pool and gardens beautifully kept what a little oasis with the bungalows in the garden.We go to Menorca several time s a year, as we have family there,but we will be staying there again next year,Not sure how it would be if we took our three noisy grandchildren, as we were there during term time, so not many children.Perfectly placed in Punta Prima, beach 2 min away and resturants ( Fantastic Santi's) just again 2min away.We didnt eat in every night as we saw family but the deal we got was so reasonable we could do that.Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DnDNicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Prima
0.3 km away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
30.4 km away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
23.6 km away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.3 km away
Isla Del Aire Apartments
Isla Del Aire Apartments
#1 of 6 in Punta Prima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
39.4 km away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xaloc Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xaloc Playa

Property: Hotel Xaloc Playa
Address: Calle Major s/n, 07713 Punta Prima, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Punta Prima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Punta Prima
#5 Family Hotel in Punta Prima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xaloc Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Xaloc Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xaloc Playa Punta Prima Es
Xaloc Playa Hotel
Hotel Xaloc Playa Punta Prima, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing