We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value.”
Review of Hostal El Castell

Hostal El Castell
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Castell
Ranked #1 of 4 Calafell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Note google maps shows the location inaccurately but look for the blue neon 'Hotel' sign after you pass the castle and you'll see it.

I went here based on the “A Really Lovely Hotel” review and was not disappointed. 35 euros inc breakfast. Nice family run atmosphere. Only issue was my room smelt of smoke so had to keep windows open a while.

Room Tip: sniff it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jd-chiangmai-expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Boasting one star and looking less than alluring on Streetview, my Wife and I were convinced that we should book this hotel only because of the good reviews that it has attracted. We were not disappointed - it was a great place for us to stay.

We were also concerned by the word "hostal" and had images of communal dormitories - these fears were of course groundless. I think there is probably some regulatory reason why it is called a hostal - probably in much the same way as a guest house in the UK cannot call itself a hotel without meeting certain requirements.

Our room (202 on the second floor) was very clean and looked freshly decorated - as did the entire hotel. Air-conditioning was a god-send in August, and worked well. It was even possible to get too cold despite 30 degree outside temperatures. Our room had a small balcony. About half of the rooms seem to have balconies - and it is worth asking for one. from ours, you could see the sea.

The Hotel has free wifi that works very well. Logged in easily, and managed to Skype and Youtube at will.

Staff were really nice, as was the breakfast. They will cook bacon and eggs if the continental fare of meats and cheese isn't your thing. Coffee (Cortado) was delicious.

The hotel is about a mile and a half from the sea and the main attractions of Calafell. We preferred the proximity of the old town with its castle - very picturesque and quiet. There are a couple of bars in the ain square, where many of the locals gather fro a drink into the small hours - often having a sing song...

There is an hourly bus service to and from the main centre of Calafell - one Euro ten cents each way. Well worth the fare.

Presented with a bottle of champagne as we left - a lovely gesture.

Would very happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

very clean hotel, elevator present.
very clean room with Airconditioning, a clean bathroom and everyday cleaned and changed the linen/towels.
breakfast is continental standard, but ask and they make whatever you want (like fried eggs)
its approximately 1.5 km from the sea, but easy to walk.
the only thing you might miss if you have children is a swimming pool - but therefor the price is nice!
I surely will go back here

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaunnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjcbrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Salima H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SamStaCriMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Fernando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calafell hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Antiga
Hotel Antiga
#1 of 10 in Calafell
231 reviews
1.9 km away
4R Miramar Calafell
4R Miramar Calafell
#3 of 10 in Calafell
237 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Kursaal
Hotel Kursaal
#5 of 10 in Calafell
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Costamar Apartments
Costamar Apartments
#8 of 10 in Calafell
16 reviews
1.7 km away
Silken Canada Palace
Silken Canada Palace
#4 of 10 in Calafell
341 reviews
1.7 km away
Pension Rovior
Pension Rovior
#2 of 4 in Calafell
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Castell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Castell

Address: Carrer Baix Penedes 24, 43820 Calafell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Calafell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Calafell
Price Range: $65 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal El Castell 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal El Castell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing