We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
17
14
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
14
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 32 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Note google maps shows the location inaccurately but look for the blue neon 'Hotel' sign after you pass the castle and you'll see it.

I went here based on the “A Really Lovely Hotel” review and was not disappointed. 35 euros inc breakfast. Nice family run atmosphere. Only issue was my room smelt of smoke so had to keep windows open a while.

Room Tip: sniff it first
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jd-chiangmai-expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Boasting one star and looking less than alluring on Streetview, my Wife and I were convinced that we should book this hotel only because of the good reviews that it has attracted. We were not disappointed - it was a great place for us to stay.

We were also concerned by the word "hostal" and had images of communal dormitories - these fears were of course groundless. I think there is probably some regulatory reason why it is called a hostal - probably in much the same way as a guest house in the UK cannot call itself a hotel without meeting certain requirements.

Our room (202 on the second floor) was very clean and looked freshly decorated - as did the entire hotel. Air-conditioning was a god-send in August, and worked well. It was even possible to get too cold despite 30 degree outside temperatures. Our room had a small balcony. About half of the rooms seem to have balconies - and it is worth asking for one. from ours, you could see the sea.

The Hotel has free wifi that works very well. Logged in easily, and managed to Skype and Youtube at will.

Staff were really nice, as was the breakfast. They will cook bacon and eggs if the continental fare of meats and cheese isn't your thing. Coffee (Cortado) was delicious.

The hotel is about a mile and a half from the sea and the main attractions of Calafell. We preferred the proximity of the old town with its castle - very picturesque and quiet. There are a couple of bars in the ain square, where many of the locals gather fro a drink into the small hours - often having a sing song...

There is an hourly bus service to and from the main centre of Calafell - one Euro ten cents each way. Well worth the fare.

Presented with a bottle of champagne as we left - a lovely gesture.

Would very happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2012

very clean hotel, elevator present.
very clean room with Airconditioning, a clean bathroom and everyday cleaned and changed the linen/towels.
breakfast is continental standard, but ask and they make whatever you want (like fried eggs)
its approximately 1.5 km from the sea, but easy to walk.
the only thing you might miss if you have children is a swimming pool - but therefor the price is nice!
I surely will go back here

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaunnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews