We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
No ordinary gorge

We walked several gorges but this is not the typical one. Go prepared. Normally you park your car... read more

Reviewed August 3, 2020
Raoulr89
,
Sittard, The Netherlands
via mobile
Amazing place

Great place to visit Spring to Autumn, Winter not really recommended. Easy access also with public... read more

Reviewed November 10, 2019
Adrian B
Read all 134 reviews
  
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
83
41
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
41
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gorge route hike shoes information
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 134 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2020 via mobile

We walked several gorges but this is not the typical one. Go prepared. Normally you park your car en walk the paved route through the gorge and back. The total length of the wutach gorge though is 119 km! It is not all the time a walk through the gorge next to the water. It consists of several gorges which are connected with lots of hiking trails of several lengths. Along the 119 km there are several parking spots and there is also a bus line which you can take to several spots along the route. With the Schwarzwald cart it is free to use. We parked the car at schattenmuhle, one of the larger parkings with also a bus stop. Be early because it can be crowded. We hiked route 5 (at the parking area there is a large map with all routes on it). Here you will walk along the Wutach, through the Lotenbachklamm and along the panoramaweg. The sign said it is 8 km but it was 10,5 km. Good shoes are necessary because the stumps and stones are wet and there is a lot of climbing. You can skip the panoramaweg by taking the bus. It was a nice route but we hoped for more "gorge" walking. Now it was also next to a road for several km.
If you want to enjoy the Wutachschlucht to the fullest you have to take several days. We will come back sometime to walk the other gorges which are part of the Wutachschlucht.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank Raoulr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2019

Great place to visit Spring to Autumn, Winter not really recommended. Easy access also with public transport. Places to stay and eat along the way. Can do day hike or multi-day hike. Good information on internet.
During summer refreshing swimming, including skinny dipping

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

Chill trip! Almost 1,5 km in one way , the cascades are beautifull. If you are nearby , it’s worth a few hours .

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank claudiucg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

This was a brilliant day out. Parked and caught the bus at the Wurtachmohl, the saw mill. Cost 3 euros each on the bus, a really obvious pick up point outside the mill, then hiked back. A baking hot day. Wear boots for ankle support as the track is very rough and undulating. Take lots of snacks and water. Nice food kiosk when we returned to Wutachmohle.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank veanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

The information we found was very confusing and we weren't sure if it's a good idea for our group (ages 5 to 80). We started at Schattenmühle, an entry with information sign.
There are endless paths you can take different lengths and difficulty. It is possible to start with one and continue to another. There is a bus that goes through the parking zones along the gorge so you can enjoy the hike and then take the bus back.
We were planning on doing path number 5, which is an eight km circular one, from Schattenmühle to Lotenbachklamm then to Boll, Tiefentall and back. However, we started at the opposite direction and after 1.4 km we got to the next parking. Since we were a big group with snow walkers we decided to take the bus to Boll (skip about 3km of hiking) and continue from there to ehem. Bad Boll, and back to Schattenmühle. It was great decision. We hiked for 5 km all together, and it took us about 5 hours, coinciding the 5 and 80 years old, the stops we did at the river, we were happy.
The path can be slippery but usually not to difficult to pass. The parts we did were mostly on the shade so it wasn't too hot, and there are real gems alone the way. Bring enough water!

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Orna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews