We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Solvanes Farmholidays
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Varmahlid(Varmahlid)
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Bakkaflot(Varmahlid)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Flugumyri 2(Varmahlid)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Hjaltastadir(Varmahlid)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Solvellir(Varmahlid)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
23
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are basicpotatoeslambsfarmkitchenbeds
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 26 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile

I stayed three nights at Solvanes and enjoyed every minute. It is a family run farm, we were welcomed warmly and felt at home. We stayed in the lower house, which had shared facilities between four rooms. It was wonderful to have the use of a communal kitchen. We opted for breakfast in the main house, which was good and filling. Visiting the sheep was a highlight for my daughter. There are beautiful walking trails behind the house. Very much recommended for a real Icelandic farm experience.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank pjsubway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2015

Our stay at Solvanes was our second stop of an 11 day tour around Iceland. It was a short detour off of the ring road, but we were glad to have made it. One great thing about the location is that there is a wonderful riding stable within walking distance. The accommodations were clean and neat, and had everything we could ask for, including access to a kitchen (and a refrigerator). We checked in later in the day, and there were not many options for dining in the area, but Eydis kindly offered up some burgers for us to grill so we didn't have to venture out with the kids. It was perfect. In the morning, our children were welcomed to visit the farm by Eydis and her sons. They fed the baby sheep, visited the horses and the calf and played on the hay bales. Our children had so much fun, I didn't think we could convince them to leave and they were terribly disappointed that we were not staying another night. Eydis is a wonderful host and when we travel back to Iceland some day, we will be sure to stay at Solvanes again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahS1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2015

Eydis and Måni are gracious hosts and good cooks! My daughter and I stayed overnight and while farm accommodations are basic, the rooms are clean and bright. The highlight for us was dinner with grilled meats, potatoes and string beans. I know. It sounds simple, but this was well prepared and we had our fill. Dessert was homemade ice cream on fresh pancakes with jam. While there, take the time for a walk around the property which includes a couple of small waterfalls, sheep, horses and a wonderful friendly farm dog who loves to fetch.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wagsfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2015 via mobile

The hosts at Solvanes were so warm, welcoming and friendly. When they heard it was our wedding anniversary, they made us a special treat of waffles and homeade ice cream. They sat and talked with us at breakfast about what life is like as an icelandic farm family.The room was clean and quiet, and the best part was the secluded hot springs you can hike to. We absolutely loved Solvanes.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2015

Fantastic place to stay about 20km off the ring road but well worth the journey. Our only regret was that we only stayed for one night, we would have loved to stay on longer. A lovely part of Iceland with lots to do in the area. The couple who own this property are extremely friendly and go above and beyond the norm of what is done in other guesthouses. We took a farm tour and had breakfast which was lovely. Went horse riding at the neighbouring farm and saw the northern lights which was the icing on the cake. A great place to stay but stay for more than one night!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GoldieOShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews