We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location to explore the Normandy Area”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Harold's Place

Harold's Place viewed from the drive and owners back garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harold's Place viewed from the drive and owners back garden
Harold's Place guest terrace with chickens in the background Cosy lounge with pot bellied wood burner and comfy seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Harold's Place viewed from the drive and owners back garden
Harold's Place guest terrace with chickens in the background
Cosy lounge with pot bellied wood burner and comfy seating
Lounge showing dining table and entrance to kitchen
Viewof the lounge showing entrance door, stairs and entertainment area.
Brilliant kitchen, efficient, well equipped and fun to cook in
Is that typical French bread and wine I see waiting for you?
Downstairs shower room with loo, wash basin and washing machine.
Pink bedroom with traditional French bed shabby-chic'd note suitcases above for linen storage!
View of pink bedroom small 'mezzanine'
Window on landing over looking the meadow
Pink bedroom cosy corner
Approaching the blue bedroom
Cosy Blue Bedroom with quirky window designs!
Blue Bedroom wash basin and loo behind the door decorated like a beachut!
Upstairs landing from pink bedroom to blue bedroom
Plaque dedicated to Harold Schillingberg on the wall outside our cottage. Thank you.
The Hurdy Gurdy man in our village square of St Clair sur Elle
Harold's Place over looks this meadow.The moon setting at 8.30 a.m.at winter solstice
John painting the Mulberry harbour which we to help maintain at Omaha beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Saint-Lo, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
benooch67
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect Location to explore the Normandy Area”
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This was our first try with an AirBnb place and we were happy with the choice. The owners are very gracious, helpful and quite witty. They had a fire all ready to light in the wood burning stove to take off the chill as it was a little rainy during our visit. There are 2 bedrooms, each with a sink and toilet en suite. The shower is downstairs and always had plenty of hot water! The WiFi was great too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin B
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming & friendly”
Reviewed May 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This property is charming and furnished with a real mix of French & English. The Owners are very friendly and helpful. Places to eat. We mainly cooked at the Gite in the evenings and used the local Patisserie / Shop/ Butcher and garage in the village. Places to Visit. The area is full of D Day landing places to visit, We visited
The Omaha & Utah shore areas and did a full coastal tour of the Cherburg Peninsular. (Barfleur is a must) St Lo is a lovely ol town and a walk around the town walls is a must. Parking in St Lo centre is Free. (As is most of France) You must visit Bayeux. It is superb. Buy the triple museum ticket and enoy the Tapestry/Musuem of Arts and Normandy Landing Museum. The old town is cobbled and it is worth 6 Euro's to take the tourist train around the town. Plenty of cafes etc. Closest parking is expensive. 10 minutes walk will find a Free Car Park. Visit also the Balleroy Chateux. Restored by a US Billionair and has a very good museum about Hot Air Bollooning. ( A very very good Cake shop nearby) Enjoy

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2017
So glad you enjoyed staying here. There is so much to see and do and the interests are very diverse. Thanks for the tip about the cake shop at Balleroy, will give it a try.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rustic, charming, rural French gite”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely few days at Harold's place. It is rustic, but (almost) perfect for a family with a two young children who can share a bed.
Lovely gardens, lovely hosts (Sue and John live next door) who looked after us very well. Small but perfectly functional kitchen (that was well used during our stay) and chickens that ate our leftovers.
Ideal spot for exploring Basse Normandie (D-Day beaches, Bayeux, Mont Saint Michel) and close to Saint Lo which has a very good Saturday food market.
Only one gripe. The main bed was very soft and springy for my taste but it didn't stop me from sleeping well (as long as movement was kept to a minimum!).
Nearly forgot..a very friendly spaniel call Piccolo that the children loved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and location
Liked least: Bed was too soft
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Thanks Vicki and Martin
Sorry about the soft bed, it is a brand new mattress of an excellent quality. Most guests love it but everyone has different tastes and preferences. Which is why we have a firmer bed in the "blue room".
Piccolo says hi to the girls. She actually went looking for you after you had gone - bless!
I hope it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tommayes8...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for a week at the end of September into October.
Its a very charming little place sent in the quiet Normandy countryside. Susan and John are very helpful and were brilliant hosts.
We found that everywhere was very accessible to reach from here as we visited everything from the D-Day beaches (30 mins) to Mont St Michel (about 90 ish mins)
The cottage itself was very cosy with a wood burning stove for the chilly evening, it was well equipped for cooking what ever meal you wanted.
We really did enjoy our stay here but we did find that there was nothing to do in St Lo in an evening (the one night we did try to eat out we were completely ignored by the waiting staff so we left)
We would recommend this place to people who are happy to spend their evenings curled up on the sofa with a glass of wine (which of course who doesn't!)

Just be warned make sure you have supplies in for a Sunday as not even the major supermarkets in St Lo are open!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burning stove and the Silent nights
Liked least: Nothing to do in the evening (not the owners fault i might point out!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
St Lo is not the clubbing capital of Normandie it has to be said! However there are some lovely bars and restaurants, and, we are discovering more of them. Trip advisor has a list of rated Restaurants in St Lo on its web site - well worth a look.
Unfortunately when these guests came it was the beginning of Autumn and the options were limited. Sorry:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddcan
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“PERFECT place to stay in Normandy! Piece of Heaven!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Harold's place for a week in July 2014. It was our home base from which we visited the Normandy beaches, Mont St. Michel, and other sites in the area. It was near-perfect!

The owners are from the UK, and live right next door, but you have the utmost privacy. They were always available if needed for advice on where to eat, which sites to see, etc.

Here's what you get:
A cosy Gite (self contained cottage) with full kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms (1 with a shower), and a living room. It's 2 floors. There is a TV with British channels, so you can wind down in the evening watching some TV is desired. But, the huge draw for us was the firepit in the private yard. We had a campfire 6 of the 7 nights we were there. Wood is provided by the owners.

Location wise- it's about 30-45 minutes from all of the D-Day landing beaches. It's approx 10 mins north of St. Lo where you can find lots of restaurants & shopping if desired. There is a small town 3 minutes down the road which has a small, but well equipped grocery store, a pharmacie, and a gas station.

The only minor thing we would have liked to have is WIFI internet access, but the owners said they were looking at adding this. But, believe me, we are all heavy internet users, and only missed it a few times. Internet would be a nice addition, but my very high opinion of Harold's Place is not affected by it's absence.

Since the owners live next door, arriving and departing are super easy - they meet you there upon arrival to show you around, and give you the keys. Emails and questions are responded to VERY quickly, and with great detail. Super easy to book!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Fire Pit
Liked least: No Internet (but not terribly missed, to be honest)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owners, rural location
Liked least: A bit cool...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind response. We are sorry the April weather was not very warm but that is spring for you!
We will test the heat of the water and maybe turn it down a tad. I guess its better than not hot enough!!
Sue and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing