We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go if you don't have a car ”
Review of Hotel Soltroia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Soltroia
Ranked #8 of 10 Grandola B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

It has a nice pool and lounge. It is about 4 miles from the Ferry landing. They have a small restaurant that serves the worst food I have ever eaten. To eat dinner you need to order at noon for that evening The free breakfast was cheese, cold cuts, white bread and cold cereal. Better the just stop serving food. Good luck if you don't have a car. They stopped the bus service and there is one taxi. Today we went decided to leave a day early do to the uncomfortable bed, musty odor, unless jacuzzi tub and muddy water off the small beach. The water the same day was clear at the beach near the town (hotels, restaurants, casino and ferry) Called for a taxi and found out he was in Lisbon for the day. Ask the hotel employee is there was a bus she said "not any longer". She was nice enough to drive us to the ferry for $10. We took it. Spend a little more and stay at the hotel's and restaurants near the ferry landing.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

We came here for one night during our one week Portugal visit. It was our first night in Portugal and we did not first remember why we had chosen this location. The hotel is more like a house in nice location by the sea with outside pool. The staff were not very helpful and we asked what to do here, are there any sights and nice restaurants nearby? Well apparently nothing to do, no activities and one nice restaurant in 11 kilometers But when we just started to drive, there is a perfect beach in Comporta with several nice restaurants. And that was the reason we came here and you should too. The tiny central of Comporta is also wery idyllic. Hotel has ok rooms and modest breakfast but that is about all.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CallMeCaspian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Although it is a 4 * hotel, missing some things such as, problems with heating the bath water, poor breakfast, grocery consumer products.
Although this season is still low, not without bad aspect to lack of cleaning the pool.
Moreover, the rooms are reasonable and well equipped, with furniture of family type.
The staff is attentive.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VasconcelosG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

i've just stayed here for a couple of nights, and i must say i expected more. the hotel is in a very quiet area, with nice pool overlooking the sado river mouth, with direct access to the beach;
the bedroom was ok, although it could have been better insulated from the one next door. either that or the neighbors were too loud. that said, there was no wifi throuhout, at least not in my room; the shower, one of the features i personally value the most, wasn't great with little pressure which to make matters worse, the hose wasn't long enough to reach its support without bending the pipe and killing the supply. exasperating...
last but not least, i personally feel that a ''4 star hotel'' should provide a lot more that just the portuguese public tv channels. there was nothing else available and the tv shows are just appalling.

the breakfast was ok, nothing fancy - the microwaved scrambled eggs with bacon is not the best choice really.

with all this said, i could still consider coming back - maybe i got a slightly worse room than the rest. the manager who greeted us was very friendly too. all of this would be fine, if it weren't for one the staff members who in my opinion crossed the boundary between the local "rough and the edges" overfriendlyness past to being rude.
i probably won't be gong back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The Hotel is situated on the Troia peninsula with views across the Rio Sado to Setubal. It has a four star rating and in most respects it more than fulfills that. The owners have paid a lot of attention to the decor and small details, yet the rooms do not have the normal toiletries, shower cap, tissues etc., that you would expect in a 4 star establishment. The owners and the staff are extremely helpful and happy to be of assistance. The hotel is small, just 9 rooms, and the upstairs ones are up a fairly steep staircase, so if walking is an issue book the ground floor. It is worth paying for a river view room with a balcony overlooking the pool, garden and river.

The lounge and dining areas are comfortably furnished and it is as if you are sharing someone's home. The atmosphere is peaceful and relaxing. Outside is a

Breakfast is served between 8.30 and 10.00 am and you will find home made jams and preserves on offer together with home made cakes. You can have your coffee/tea outside on the terrace enjoying the view.

Troia is a very pretty area and this hotel is an ideal base for getting around and very pleasant to come back to such a tranquil retreat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrillyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CLAUDE-ARNOLD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos no R/C têm melhor acesso uma vez que o Hotel não tem elevador.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1794cv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandola
1.5 km away
Pestana Troia Eco-Resort & Residences
34 km away
Serenada Enoturismo
Serenada Enoturismo
#1 of 10 in Grandola
179 reviews
47.7 km away
Sobreiras - Alentejo Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.6 km away
Hotel Dom Jorge De Lencastre
36.3 km away
Herdade das Barradas da Serra
26.6 km away
Monte do Brejinho de Agua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soltroia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soltroia

Address: Urbanizacao Soltroia, Lote 419, Grandola 7570-779, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Grandola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Grandola
Price Range: $81 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Soltroia 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Soltroia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing