We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed 5-6 times in this hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alka The Lake Side Hotel
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Nainital
Delhi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stayed 5-6 times in this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

I would consider Hotel Alka as the best option next to the lake. There are other good hotel but if we talk about hotel facing the lake, I would rate this the best. I have stayed in this hotel for almost 5-6 times and also stayed in few other hotel but this hotel has better rooms.

The standard rooms on the 3rd floor are the best due to its view and openness. The balcony is very nice.

Food
Food is good. Better to have room service than having it in their restaurant, you would love having the meal in the balcony.

Dos' & Don'ts
Do not bargain for the room price, what ever they say is final, no point wasting your energy. At times it become arrogance on their behalf, but that's how they are.

Do not try to book a room through any agent, they do not cater them, rather you call them personally and find out. Normally, if it is not a peak season, just walk in and you will get a room, but only if you require one or max two rooms.

Amenities
They have a Pool Table on the 5th floor, one of the best way to spend your time.

Rooms
The standard rooms have wooden flooring, walls & sealing, it gives a good feeling. Room size is not very big but average in size.

Room Tip: Take the standard room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Raj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    127
    36
    17
    15
See reviews for
132
87
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Assam
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I alongwith my family stayed at Alka in the first week of October 2011. I booked one suite which was lake facing. The main advantages of this hotel is its location as it near to the mall road. The view of the Naini lake from the hotel was excellent. Service staff/Manager is average. Hotel maintain cleaness. Suite is conjested compared to its tariff i.e. Rs. 4500/- plus other taxes. Over all experience was good.

Room Tip: road face suites at the higher floor are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nipu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

I have visited thrice to Nainital and each time I stayed at Hotel Alka. The major plus point is it's lobby in front of every room. In front of every room they have place tea chair table set which make it the best place to sit and relax, what more, this is in front of the Lake. So you can even enjoy watching people boating. Room Service is average and food taste is also average.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PraveshGoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We spent our first anniversary there as its the only lake facing resort ( I will call it a hotel considering its stretch) in nainital. The rooms have wooden cottage look and very cozy. The only issue we faced was that the hotel had centralized AC, not individual AC. The service was very personalized and quick. Overall the trip became excellent coz of the ambience and service.

Room Tip: take rooms on 1st floor as it will give unobstructed view of the lake across the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poojii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel has a major plus point of the location..
the rooms are quite big enough and clean..
Rooms are warm also.
staff is friendly.
car parking is not available
and WIFI facilities are present

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehtishamandrabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Dear All,

I stayed at Hotel Alka on 22/08/2011, based on the information and detailes provided on their website.

1. Let me tell you all, the rooms are not at all cozy / comfortable. There is not even proper light in the rooms. Rooms are just like jail and there is no ventilation or window for fresh air.

2. The quality of food and service also in bad shape.

My suggestion is not to stay here. There are many more hotels, like Naini Retreat etc. where you can stay and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ramanGhaziabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shillong, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We had a lovely time staying in The Alka Hotel,Nainital.The rooms are cozy and hotel is well presented. They also have large number of rooms.Added to the beauty is the fact that there is a water fall right behind the hotel.There are different types of rooms catering to the different types of tourists.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiranjeev_027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
1.8 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.3 km away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#26 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.7 km away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#10 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.9 km away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.8 km away
Dynasty Resort
Dynasty Resort
#23 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alka The Lake Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alka The Lake Side Hotel

Property: Alka The Lake Side Hotel
Address: The Mall, Nainital., Nainital 263002, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel on the lake side... one of the best locations in this lake town! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing