We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lots of batik stuff to see”
Review of Sams Batik House

Sams Batik House
Ranked #19 of 75 Shopping in Penang Island
Attraction details
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Easy place and accessible to find this shop. The staff is friendly and approachable. There are lots of variety of batik stuff to look at other than Indian costumes. Can bargain before paying. Good price they give.

Thank Rainbowlifecolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beautiful silk"
in 2 reviews
"visiting penang"
in 3 reviews
"george town"
in 3 reviews
"alterations"
in 8 reviews
"fabric"
in 5 reviews
"scarves"
in 4 reviews
"michael"
in 9 reviews
"blouse"
in 7 reviews
"indian"
in 7 reviews
"shop"
in 23 reviews
"treasure"
in 4 reviews
"outfit"
in 2 reviews
"skirt"
in 2 reviews
"tourists"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 57 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2017

My wife was quoted 160 RMB for a sun dress which she later bought at Fort Cornwallis souvenir shop for 28 RMB. Be warned. Better go to Batek Lah or Penang Batik Factory for quality items at realistic prices.

2  Thank vultureMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aanchal92, Owner at Sams Batik House, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

Good afternoon. Firstly i would like to inform you that there is a big confusion between 'Sams batik house' and 'Sams Collections' as we are just few doors away from each other. We dont sell any sundress in our shop for Rm80. Our sun dresses range from Rm25-Rm60. Moreover we are in this business for the last 35 years and we believe in long term business. Kindly dont hesitate to contact us via email(samsbatikhouse@msn.com) for any enquiries or clarifications.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile

I LOVE wearing Indian dresses and the whole staff was really helpful to find me a few pieces that fit me well in the style and colors that I prefer. I also got a few lovely silk scarves for friends, I highly recommend this shop, some of the other shops can be pushy and rude, everyone here was absolutely lovely. Enjoy a browse!

Thank LisaFreeBirdCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for gifts or fun clothes this is the place to visit. They have a wonderful array of fun clothes, there are hippy style happy pants, full skirts and wildly colored dresses. They also have however for the more conservative, beautifully embroidered cushion covers, scarves, handbags and the list just goes on. There are clothes for children, men, women and household item. They are happy to make alterations so they will happily fit the clothes to you.
Most of the clothes are not actually made in Malaysia however there are some if that is important to you.
It is a friendly family run business which will generally give discounts if you are buying a few items. Just up the road at the intersection are some great noodles shops where you can stop for a refreshing glass of fresh lime and a bowl of noodles.

I would highly recommend this as a shopping stop.

1  Thank Sushila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aanchal92, Manager at Sams Batik House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Hi Sushila,
Thank you very much for rating and recommending us. We hope to serve you once again in the best way possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2017

I had an outfit altered here and had to have four fittings, all done with a smile and no charge for the alterations at all. Great place they wee all so helpful. We needed a jeweller to fix a ring that had been broken, Michael - the owner - drove us to a place, the ring was fixed for very little money, he waited then drove us back to our hotel. What a great guy. His wife was lovely too. Be aware you need a great deal of time here, the place is absolutely full of clothes and material and also clients. to me this is a place not to be missed on any trip I take to penang. Thank you Michael for looking after us so well.

2  Thank Bernice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aanchal92, Manager at Sams Batik House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words. Hope to see you again in Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sams Batik House also viewed

Penang Island, Penang
Penang Island, Penang
 
Penang Island, Penang
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Sams Batik House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing