We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful garden”
Review of Monkey Cup Garden

Monkey Cup Garden
Ranked #457 of 2,129 Restaurants in Penang Island
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We enjoyed leaving the crowds and walking to this unique little garden. Our guide provided us a quick overview of the plants and was helpful in answering any questions we had. We were able to wander through the garden at our leisure and after we enjoyed a cup of tea in the cafe before being transported back to the funicular station. Would definitely recommend a visit to this garden.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Hikari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 25 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2017

A shining example of homegrown eco-tourism on Penang Hill! The owner, Eric, and his team are passionate and knowledgeable about their plants and park and the experience is immersive set as it is in the middle of the jungle. The cool weather on top of Penang HIll is also a big plus and a great way to escape the heat and hustle & bustle of George Town.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank AllenTanPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2017 via mobile

Very small nepenthes/monkey cup/periuk kera garden, it takes less than 5 minutes to walk inside the garden. But I really love the landscape, running water and unique types of monkey cup. Great place to take photos. You also can enjoy drinking coffee/hot chocolate there. My daughter enjoy taking photos there.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Excursion673492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

If you like chilling amidst mother nature, take the buggy from the station and head on to this quiet little cafe. Hidden place and serene. Coffee is good. You can take a walk, but it's quite a walk. The buggy is a little pricey, RM15 one way, so if it's a group of you it's not so bad. The cafe arranges a jeep to take you back to the station area.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Piaree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

2km walk from the banner. Was attracted by the free buggy ride back to train station as there are 2 adults and 2 kids. PAID for 2 kids entrance ticket but when we request for buggy ride they wanted us to pay RM5/pax! According to staff they mention buggy ride is meant for customers only but aren't we customers already for paying for 2 pax? In that case they should put minimum expenses in their banner for not misleading customers. Bad attitude from the Malay staff.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank Jewel929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monkey Cup Garden also viewed

 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Monkey Cup Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing