We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
63
10
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
10
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa staff the main hotel half moon amazing villa welcome home girls trip common areas jerk chicken sugar mill shrimp commissary bedroom derrick housekeeper golf accommodations spa
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 79 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2018

We just returned from a stay at Villa 57 at the Half Moon Royal Villas. This was the first time we had ever stayed at a villa. What a fantastic experience for all. The villa itself was beautiful and had a magnificent view of the water. I can't say enough about the wonderful staff that took care of us the entire stay. Carmen's food was so delicious that members of our party who normally don't eat meat or fish were trying everything she cooked, including meat and fish! She provided a wonderful sampling of local flavors while ensuring we had our favorites each day. NIgel was a super butler. He made sure that we had everything we wanted. From mixing drinks to driving us around he made sure that our stay was relaxing and fun. He also had some great jokes. The rest of the staff was also great, keeping our villa and pool spotless. The villa had been renovated and each bedroom and bath were extremely comfortable. We would highly recommend this villa and its staff.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kryan356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

A wonderful vacation with friends. There were eight of us. There were 5 bedrooms and we had a cook, Carmen, Nigel the butler, and Patricia the housekeeper. They were all very accommodating and made us feel quite at home. The meals Carmen prepared were fantastic and Nigel waited on us "hand and foot" Patricia kept our rooms made up and provided clean towels everyday.

Room Tip: villas with an ocean view or ocean front
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

I went to Half Moon with my entire family for Spring Break and it was amazing! The house was great, tons of room for the 10 of us. Our butler, Cassel, made sure that we had everything we needed always, he made sure we were always happy and went above and beyond to cater to our small children. Our maid, Lucille, made sure our rooms were clean, fresh sheets and towels everyday, and took care of our laundry! Lastly, our cook, Janet, made the most amazing food every night. We let her decide dinner most nights and she did not disappoint! Everything was so yummy! Overall, it was an awesome trip with so many memories our family will cherish for years!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2018

Our trip was fun. The level of privacy, seclusion, and family togetherness was hard to beat at any price. Having said that, the accommodations are FAR more tired than the photos would indicate. The 7 bedroom villas are large and spacious and not luxurious in any way. There is a single 3 person couch, the villas are not air conditioned other than the bedrooms, the small showers have soft pressure and no doors (curtains only), the beds are not close to the quality you would find in a Starwood property (for example) and everything feels very old and in need of an update.

Joy, our cook, was world class awesome. Her kind spirit, flexibility, and delicious cooking was the most enjoyable part of the experience. This place has many hidden costs: food from the commissary is nearly all frozen or shelf stable (rather than fresh), and very expensive. The alcohol mark-up is higher than retail, and the prices at the bar (pool and beach) are akin to staying at a 5Star resort, without the 5Star luxury accommodations or service. Also, occupancy is down because of construction, and the staff, as a result, focuses more on receiving tips than on providing fast and efficient service.

Joy is awesome. My family had a fin time. I know far better value can be found across Mexico and the Caribbean, in terms of luxury and service and high-quality food for the spend.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank sethdarmstadter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2018

We went to Half Moon with 5 other couples for 5 nights. The Villas were good - many parts were in need of renovation but if you keep in mind you are in the caribbean - maybe you can love lower standards? I decided to do just that. The maid, butler, cook made me overlook the outdated bathroom and bedroom. It was so nice living in a villa having someone take wonderful care of you. Keep in mind - you will need to take wonderful care of them and give nice gratuities - they deserve it. this is how they make a living. The bed was 'ok' not great, not horrible. We were about a mile from the main hotel down an pretty rustic road on the property but that didn't matter. If you want to be right by the main things in the hotel - this might not be for you. But our crew enjoyed our dinners, cocktail hour, time by the pool and just hanging out. It was wonderful. Not the most modern or luxurious in the Caribbean. They definately need to dump some money into this resort but I would be back just to relax and be pampered and share the villa with friends. would work really well for extended family too. Everyone has a 'main' bedroom. Work out facility in the main hotel was excellent. Spa - overpriced. I think they need to get realistic with the prices on that one.

Room Tip: We chose a villa that was not ocean view to save money = was just fine for us.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelandenjoyliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews