We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, clean retreat in rural, peaceful setting”
Review of La Calma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Calma
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Ribadesella
Reviewed 23 July 2017

My friend and I enjoyed a couple of nights of Morelia's warm hospitality at "La Calma." I echo the suggestions put forth by other visitors, e.g. of the hotel's great location near beautiful beaches and mountains. We loved our morning walks along the country road, including getting to chat with the farmer up the road chasing his running cow (really! This was a first for me). We loved awakening to the cow bells and birds' songs.

Morelia and staff are helpful, and we enjoyed the healthy breakfasts, which satisfied us till lunch time. Organic breads, butter, jams, cheese, hummus, fresh fruit and coffee/tea were lovely.

And Shhh! After all, we don't want TOO many people to discover this beautiful spot in Spain. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2016

4 of us stayed here at the end of our two week Camino across the northern route in Spain, this little gem hidden about 2-3km from the lovely fishing village of Ribadesella was most certainly a welcome to tired legs and bodies.

The hotel was beautifully furnished, the toiletries top of the range and the calmness was superb, just what was required.
The massages were great,really relaxing and while we didn't indulge in the yoga or meditation we will most definitely be back to avail of the additional services.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tomvc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacalma, Propietario at La Calma, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Dear Tom
Many thanks for sharing your experience at La Calma. It was a pleasure to receive you and the group :) I am so pleased that La Calma provided the pampering you all deserved after ending the Camino.
Lots of love to all and we look forward to receiving you again soon!
Morelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Before arriving to La Calma, I had been in touch with Morelia and she'd been very helpful with directions etc. On arrival, she welcomed us with such ease - we were straight away put into relaxation mode! She took the time to go through a map of the area to share with us what she felt were the best places to go.
With regards to the B&B itself, it was in good condition with lovely decor and in a beautifully tranquil setting and a view of the fields. Every morning I would hear a farmer go by on his horse and cart and throughout the day the distant ringing of cow bells could be heard. It felt really peaceful. We also chose to do some yoga and have massages which were fabulous (I promptly fell asleep during mine!).
The breakfast was great each morning with fresh orange juice, pan con tomate, jams, cereals etc.
There are plenty of activities to do in and around the area - unfortunately we only had a few days which in hindsight was too short. There is something for everyone; hiking up in los Picos, rafting, kayaking, horse riding, beaches, surfing, visiting quaint villages or the nearby Gijon and/or Oviedo, cycling or driving up and down the windy roads, dinosaur print hunting, prehistoric paint visiting.... Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rm810612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

We spent 10 days in La Calma in Ribadesella with Morelia. We could not have made a better choice for a restful and enjoyable break from city life.
La Calma is wonderfully situated just outside a great little town with lots of nice restaurants and bars, but also really close to nature in a very calm environment. Our room was beautifully appointed, and well looked after. All rooms overlook the garden and surrounding fields. It was pleasure to wake up with nothing else than the birds and the bells of the cows nearby! It was also a treat to be able to have a massage treatment just downstairs!
There are only 3/4 rooms in the hotel, which makes it cosy and familiar, with Morelia always availbale for some great recommendations.
La Calma is also wonderfully located between the ocean and beautiful beaches (really beautiful - Morelia has a great map with the best ones), and several impressive mountain chains, including the famous "picos de euorpa". For those who enjoy hiking (like us) it is a paradise!
What's more this beautiful area seems like a secret as it is not full of tourists like many other places in spain.
Higly recommend it, looking forward to coming back!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Laure P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

A beautiful retreat set in typical Asturias countryside. If you have never been to Asturias, Morelia (the owner) will give you hints and tips of the best places to visit (which are numerous - you will need a car). If you are stressed out and require massage, yoga or life-coaching she can provide this too (with prior warning)!
Fantastic food (lovely restaurants), friendly locals, great climate (not as hot as southern Spain due to cooling sea breezes) and fantastic scenery - this place is truly 'breath-taking' (great beaches, mountain walks, cycling , kayaking, coastal walks etc etc) and never stops giving. You must also visit Oveido (Capital of Asturias) a truly stylish and sophisticated city with English tours at 10am on most days.
We will be back!
PS. If you want to avoid crowds don't go in August (so we were told).

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kimyan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay in La Calma. I really enjoyed the pregnancy massage and the tranquil house. We had a wonderful room with a mountain view and woke up with the dawn and the birds singing. From La Calma we explored Picos de Europa. The drive doesn't take long and it was great to enjoy the park and than get back to the quite house away from the busy park.

Stayed: June 2015
Thank ChaVicGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014

La Calma hotel is a small hotel with a really nice owner. Every day Morelia asked us if we needed any information for our trip that day and she also recommended some nice restaurants near the hotel and also in Ribadesella. The location of this hotel is perfect, because it's located in a rural setting. However it's just 7 minutes away from Ribadesella. She also offers massages and coaching, but she does not push you to do this, because she not even asked us. We had only one disappointment; we couldn't use the garden of the hotel at the time we were there and the rooms have only small balconies, so we missed a place to relax when we came back from our day trips.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DA_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ribadesella hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Villa Rosario
Hotel Villa Rosario
#1 of 18 in Ribadesella
325 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Mirador Del Sella
Hotel Mirador Del Sella
#4 of 18 in Ribadesella
211 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#7 of 18 in Ribadesella
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Ribadesella Playa
Hotel Ribadesella Playa
#6 of 18 in Ribadesella
121 reviews
1.0 km away
Gran Hotel del Sella
Gran Hotel del Sella
#11 of 18 in Ribadesella
172 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Villa Rosario II
Hotel Villa Rosario II
#5 of 18 in Ribadesella
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Calma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Calma

Address: El Escayon 8 Lugar Junco, 33569, Ribadesella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Asturias > Ribadesella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Ribadesella
Price Range: $118 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Calma 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Calma is a rural boutique bed and breakfast located in Ribadesella, the heart of beautiful Asturias.La Calma is a traditional Asturian country house made of stone, reclaimed wood and granite. It is located in a small countryside village located within Ribadesella at less than 3 km from the main sandy beach (Santa Marina) and Ribadesella centre.We offer 5 stylish double rooms with private bathrooms and stunning coutryside views. You will also find our purpose built Wellness Centre where you will be able to receive massages and take part in a range of courses designed to promote relaxation including reiki and meditation.Press and TV:La Calma has been featured on several TV programmes and press articles. We were on C4's A PLACE IN THE SUN with Amanda and last year on a National Spanish TV programme called ¨Hoteles con Encanto¨ (meaning charming hotels!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Calma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing