We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extensive Pizza and Dinner Menu”

Al Vicolo Pizza E Vino
Ranked #25 of 102 Restaurants in Nicolosi
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 19, 2017

First thing's first - Al Vicolo has an English menu available if your Italian is a little rusty...

The menu is amazing, loaded with pizzas and entrees. They carry a wide selection of craft brews as well. The prices are a little high, but you do get what you pay for at this place.

The wait was excessive. I believe we waited about twenty minutes to order, and it took almost 40 minutes after that to get a pizza. They failed to satisfy on this point.

Tip: Get a reservation, dress well (don't wear your vacation shorts and fanny pack), and enjoy your dinner.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank 294alicias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2017

My husband and I was in Sicily in April to visit his fathers family in Biancavilla.
On evening they took us to Al Vicolo.
The restaurant is modern and well decorated.
As a starter we shared a beautiful arranged mix of different cheeses, sausages, hams and other delicatessen. All was of a very good quality.
We all had pizza and we only needed three even though we where 8 adults and two kids.
The pizzas were VERY good. We have had a lot of pizza in Italy and these where the best ever.
We will go there again on our next visit to Biancavilla.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karennairobi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2016

My husband was so sick.It was obvious that the salmon was really old, it tasted awful. il mio merito ha vomintato non mangiate qui!!!!
salmone scaduto da mesi messo nella pizza vergognoso

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NicO573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

A little town Nicolosi about an hour west of Catania which is a jumping off locale to visit Mt Etna is hardly where you'd expect to find a gem of a restaurant. Generous portions, spacious almost cavernous, contemporary-style setting with commanding view of the kitchen and pizza stoves , very visible staff ( we counted 25 waiters, cooks and bartenders with only 3 tables of diners although admittedly at 7:30 PM on a Monday in Late Sept that's more like late-lunch time for most Sicilians than an appropriate time for dinner)
The pizza list is mind-blowing: about 10 choices of dough (w/o gluten,with ground hazelnut mixed in, with different types of flour) and then as wide a selection of toppings as I've seen
Warning: the portions are Gargantuan. A normal pizza cld easily satisfy a family of 4
Check out the house drinks. Lots of ingenious inventions, garnished tastefully
Waiters are very nice
This restaurant cld easily develop into a destination choice for epicureans
Only criticism is music is a bit loud for an intimate conversation

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Scotus27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2016

We have been in this place for a pizza during our stay in Sicily. Much-publicized and much renowned. At the end of a disappointment. The waiters do not know what is education. They will bring the food and you almost throw it in your face. As if they were doing you a favor. The quality 'of the food is ok. But the lack of education of staff does everything else. Better to just a bar.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vanzand1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Vicolo Pizza E Vino also viewed

Nicolosi, Province of Catania
Nicolosi, Province of Catania
 
Nicolosi, Province of Catania
Nicolosi, Province of Catania
 
Nicolosi, Province of Catania
 

Been to Al Vicolo Pizza E Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing