We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
192
104
45
39
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
192
104
45
39
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews log cabin bumper boats campers kitchen climbing wall christmas island camping trip clara lara cinema night camping area great facilities cafe on site kids activities banks of the river play ground brilliant site long weekend play park
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 411 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

I recently visited this holiday park and we returned home yesterday (Tuesday the 22nd of August) and I was very pleased with how our stay went. On our final day we went back to the café after eating all of our meals here for the last 4 days because of how it is cooked fresh and as it was very quiet we were served immediately, by the looks of it we seen a health inspector who seemed to be giving the staff a hard time. I couldn't see why as the place was spotless. The seating area was also spotless and there was 2 girls coming in and out cleaning up, if there was a spillage on the floor it would be cleaned straight away. As I am a publican myself I know it is hard to find good staff, but I reckon Hidden Valley have hit the nail on the head. I have already booked Christmas Island for myself, my wife and 3 kids. Will be back again next summer. Well done to all, including Management at Reception, Activities and Café.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank sos999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile

Bins overflowing fir whole weekend . Rats and wasps all around bin area close to communal camp ground and children's plsyground! Cafe also filthy, oil for cooking needed changing. Kids activities way overpriced. Won't be back

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Doynzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

We've been to Hidden Valley for the last four years and the overall experience is very good (just back from our recent stay).The onsite activities are plentiful for the children (9 & 5) and the facilities cater for the majority of your needs. The pricing on the activities is a bone of contention with each token costing €2 - most activities take a minimum of two tokens. They could easily set the token pricing to €1 and vary the prices a little more. The Glamping Lodges could do with a good hoovering under the mattresses (if you are squeamish - don't look!) and the Fishermans lodges are beginning to show the strains of age - the outsides could do with a fresh painting while the internal cabinet doors and general kitchen area look very worn. By far the worst experience is the cafe. It seems to be mainly run by college students working for the summer whose culinary credentials, if indeed they have any, need to be questioned. They spend too much time talking among themselves, unfortunately not about the orders they are preparing. Out of three visits to the cafe, they made errors on two of the orders, and one of those orders was for two bags of chips!! An older lady who looked like a manager, purely because she was at least twice the age of everyone else, thought it was acceptable to stand on the customer side of the counter while vaping! Hidden Valley is a very good outdoors facility, which we will return to, but even our resolve will wain if the basics are not maintained.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rory176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile

The bins were disgusting and attracted thousands of wasps. Rats I'm sure were also a feature at night. A once weekly collection is not good enough. It means those who are unlucky enough to book in towards the end of that week have to deal with the over full dump right beside the camping area. Tents were full of wasps and it would smell hideous if it was hot. There needs to be at least a twice weekly collection. You can pay for this service. The campsite is not cheap so I'm sure there is enough revenue. There were also too many tents packed in. And the take away tables were filthy and attracted more wasps. The chipper oil was old and made the deep fried food inedible. The covered in pic nic area beside the take away is blacked out so if you need to sit inside you're in a tomb with all the wasps. The staff were friendly but young and disinterested. If these problems were solved and the campsite was cleaned up and the staff were trained to care this would be a cracker destination. Oh and don't pack so many tents in.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank tania g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

Hidden valley is a smashing campsite in rathdrum co Wicklow it's setting is wonderful on the banks of the river with beautiful forests surrounding it. There are many activities to keep kids entertained but not all are free and a token system is in operation. We visited on a bank holiday weekend and the place was extremely busy and queuing for showers was lengthy and also to use the toilet, expansion of the facilities would be required to cater for the large number of people using the campsite

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews