We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Awana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Awana Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Ernakulam, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

A very good hotel and the service you get is also value for money. The rooms were very comfy, and the view from our 17th floor room was lovely. The whole valley was covered in mist and it was very cold also. There was a balcony in our room where we could sit and take in the breathtaking view. The buffet lunch and dinner in the Rajawali Restaurant is good if you are non-vegetarians, but the choice is limited for the vegetarians. But still you can leave with a full stomach. Unfortunately we couldn's stay for the breakfast, as we had to leave at 6 in the morning. But they packed a breakfast of cheese sandwiches which were very good, with lots of pepper, salt and sugar packets.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandni_shenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    287
    214
    79
    72
See reviews for
368
204
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Ok, you are not going to Awana because of the hotel. You go because you either want to play golf or go to the casino.

The hotel, rooms, restaurant, facilities are all dated. Suspect was built in the 80ties.
Though the rooms are clean and big. They serve the purpose well for a night or two.

Breakfast is normal, nothing special and was very crowded on the weekend.

We tried the a la card meals in the "Flavour Cafe" - was a pleasant surprise.

At least staff was very helpful and friendly.

There is a shuttle bus in hourly interval to both the mountain top casino and the Skyway cable car. Which i though was actually quite a scenic ride (over the jungle with the Monkeys playing below). And for only 6 RM very reasonable.

Room Tip: Get a high floor one, you might be over the mist if you are lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texmex81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is an excellent resort in terms of location, environment and services.

We booked for 2-room suite, initially i thought of asking for an extra bed for a family of 6, but the receiption arranged us with a unit that comes with a free sofa bed. Our master room are equiped with jacussi while the wall is foldable so we would have a large living room. What a great idea.

Breakfast not included but the cafe is serving a nice selection with reasonable price.

A nice surprise is the warm (not really heated but maintain at 28c-30c) open spa at cold weather (18c - 25c). Free suttle-bus to cable-car station is a plus point.

The hotel is currently upgrading some of the rooms and we are lucky to have a newly furnished room. Please insist on 'new furnished room' if possible.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank si w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

If I had a choice, I wouldn't book this hotel. The hotel room's mirror is broken, everything was like 'cut & paste', broken chair that fixed with a board, broken mirror fixed with glue, etc. Hotel room is equiped with a kitchenette but nothing is provided except for a kettle and 2 cups. Don't think of cooking or even making yourself a cup of coffee, because basic utencils and pots are not provided. I called the housekeeping to loan a coffee pot, they said they don't have, passed the line to room service, they said they can't loan to us as they have limited supply for their own use. I asked them what's the point of having hobs and kettle in the big room with nothing is provided? They kept quiet and just hung up without finished talking. However, there's an advantage of the hotel, which is the warm pools. But don't expect much as the pool is dirty! A pool staff was so rude, i asked for 3 towels for my kids and husband. He said each room only entitled for 2 towels, he couldn't do anything if I needed extra. What a ridiculous answer! He didn't even apologise or do something but just kept argue with me and let me waited there. Yet, the changing room's door is sticked with a 'no smoking' sign, but someone (I think she's a hotel staff) is standing behind the door, inside the changing room smoking, never bothered a baby was in the changing room. I told the staffs, but they just smiled and walked away. Bell boy sent my luggages took exactly an hour, and it was only week day, not much people checked in. It's really disappointing staying in such a lousy hotel. However, there's still a good thing about the hotel, the hotel front desk service was good, staffs are friendly. Aside of this, nothing is up to the sandard expectation.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlottechin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Upon advice and recommendation by the Awana people, my wife had proceeded to get the premier suite for a one night weekend getaway. As described, the suite consists of 3 seperate bedrooms and 4 baths. Payment was made promptly as it was on a first come basis.

Arrived at reception, was told that they have tried to contact her but had ended up dialling a completely differrent contact number. Was told that due to electricity problems, the said suite was not available.

Was given 2 connecting rooms instead as a compromise on the 1st floor of the main building. It was an absolute disaster. The wall mirrors had a long visible crack, only 1 bathroom for the 5 of us, old tattered sofa set which required urgent re upholstery stained carperting worned out bath fittings ancient television set etc greeted us.

Not wanting to create a scene, we politely turned it down. Went to view the actual suite to see if the reasons given earlier did jive...guess what?.. the floor which consists of 4 simillar suites were full of " foreign tourists"...

Despite subsequently being given a much better alternative on the 6th floor of the main building, I for once was not impressed with the lack of professionalism shown in them handling this issue.The subsequent offerings reflects the underhanded tactic of the management in originally offering a more substandard compromise, hoping that the guest would accept it without any fuss, and if still such fuss is created, then offer a slightly improved version until the guest stops making noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Budiman_6600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Genting Highlands hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The rooms were just functional, the toilets were ancient and need to be scrapped and done again. We know it is an old property, but it should have first class fittings in the toilet if it considers itself 4 star.
The property is gorgeos and nice for nature lovers. The shuttle service is good. We preferred to stay here than in the hill top which is very concrete, They have tried but need to put in a lot more. Breakfast is ordinary as mentioned before. A la Carte meals are good !! Rajawali coffee house is good, the Indian chef put up a good meal. Dhoklas were too good!!!! BUT the restaurant staff need a lot of training. They serve the kids very late and the adults were served first , while the kids almost went to sleep waiting for their meal. No room service in the Tower complex.

Room Tip: top floors are good, but have no room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girish1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Hotel is nice but stay there only if interested in golf.
Out of the two days i stayed one full day the hotel staff were trying out fire alarms and that was very irritating. The reception staff were quite unhelpful in addressing this issue.
Room was very spacious, the bathroom was well fitted and big.
The breakfast was very ordinary but the view from the dining hall is pretty good.
Overall would suggest travellers to stay at the hill top in one of the four hotels there. To be fair the hotel provides free shuttle to the cable car station and to the Genting gaming and amusement center but still...why stay so far away?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhaskarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
3.4 km away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
2,696 reviews
2.9 km away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
445 reviews
4.0 km away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
3.1 km away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#2 of 10 in Genting Highlands
177 reviews
3.1 km away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 10 in Genting Highlands
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awana Hotel

Property: Awana Hotel
Address: Km 13, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Awana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in five-star luxury while taking in breathtaking views of a majestic mountain range landscape within the comforts of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Awana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Genting Highlands Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Resort Genting Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing