We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy experience”
Review of First World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First World Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Reviewed 12 December 2017

My family and I had a very unhappy experience at the First Worl Hotel n the Genting Highlands, Malaysia. The rooms are too small, the facilities are uncomfortable and the service is below our expectations

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hafezmagdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 2,970 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2017

It is not for fussy travellers. Our friends booked the hotel for us and we probably got the cheapest option. Room was very basic and pretty dusty. Due to the climate at Genting Highlands, the rooms do no have air conditioners, or rather, they do not need air conditioners! Just open the window slightly and you will be greeted by cool air. However, the rooms are still fitted with a ceiling fan.

If you cannot live without wifi, request for Tower 3. Only that Tower has wifi.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank MC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Was trying to check in at the reception because I had a request to locate several rooms together near each other. If you use the auto check in the rooms would be randomly allocated which I did not want. The queue was very long and it took more than an hour to reach me. Perhaps the hotel can see how the service at the counter can be improved.
Overall the hotel has really improved with many eateries opened.

Room Tip: Rooms at the new wing has wi fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

We booked this hotel by online at Resort World web, we check in by automated check in machine , we check out by the same automated machine., never see the room service guys along we stay..
noted :
you can add MYR 50 for additional view for your room you can choose to
you can add MYR 15 for counter check in if you can't self check in/check out
Overall if dont need anything but sleep this hotel ok.

Room Tip: Don't make additional room view charge, it had the the same view all room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cai0467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

The room is small and has No fridge, no internet , on shampoo, no cattle for hot water
And
I reserve two night, after the first one the room key didn’t work, and when I ask they said today your check out day, and after a looong argument, they fix the problem

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Helmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel have a very long front counter but the speed of servicing each customer is so slow.. been waiting in the queue for one hour and it is still not my turn anywhere near..
Counter staff number needs to increase and speed of service need to be improve a lot..

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Mikeng81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

This huge hotel has different room types. The one we stayed is Superior which is very small and poor facilities. However, it's on high floor. Good for taking photos from the window. We spent most of our time going shopping, dining, so accommodation was not the most important. Breakfast was terrible :(

Stayed: December 2017
Thank JolieNg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.4 km away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 11 in Genting Highlands
480 reviews
1.2 km away
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
#4 of 11 in Genting Highlands
290 reviews
0.4 km away
Maxims
Maxims
#5 of 11 in Genting Highlands
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#3 of 11 in Genting Highlands
205 reviews
5.7 km away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
17.3 km away
Tumike Hotel
Tumike Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bentong
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First World Hotel

Address: Resorts World Genting, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range: $22 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First World Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world's largest hotel First World Hotel is adjoined to the First World Plaza, which boasts 500,000 sq feet of indoor theme park, shopping centre and food galore. A lush, grand tropical rainforest greets guests at the main entrance of the First World Hotel, followed by a spacious Spanish courtyard lobby. All rooms are comfortably furnished with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your First World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st World Hotel
First World Genting Highlands
Hotel First World

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing