We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Cape Breton Cottage”
Old Miller Farm, view of Main house from across the U fish pond.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Miller Farm, view of Main house from across the U fish pond.
Main house to left, Guest house on the right! Guest house. Two bedrooms, with ensuite 4 piece, upstairs. Full kitchen and lounge downstairs. WiFi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Old Miller Farm, view of Main house from across the U fish pond.
Main house to left, Guest house on the right!
Guest house. Two bedrooms, with ensuite 4 piece, upstairs. Full kitchen and lounge downstairs. WiFi
Guest house on right.
Guest house from across the Lily Pad pond
Kitchen Area
Sitting, lounge area. (Wireless Connectivity)
Twin beds in East Room
Double futon in East room.
Visitors
Another summer guest!
The Master of Pat's Pond
Another, (permanent), guest--Just lookin'.
George and the missus, coming or going.
Spring in Margaree
Fall colours
Winter trail to rock quarry
Makings of a great Meal from U fish pond
Marco, our Italian friend---Fishing hard....
Swimming above Doyle's Bridge
Fly fishing the Margaree
Whale Cove Beach, (1 of 4 beaches in area)
Margaree Harbour from Belle Cote, of an early morning.
Range Lights at Margaree Harbour beach
Your Hosts: Cape Breton Gothic, with apologies to G. Wood.
We get visitors. The day before St. Patrick's Day
Ms Moose came in to brouse the front yard. Was here before 7:30AM, stayed till after 6PM
Pruning the moutain ash, here, but had already done some apple trees further down.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Margaree Forks, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Trish W
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Cape Breton Cottage”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you want a perfect place to stay while visiting Cape Breton - Old Miller Trout Farm is the place to stay. The location is not too far from the Cabot Trail and Margaree Forks, where there is everything you need in a small town. Guests stay in a converted barn - which were perfect accommodations – comfortable, spotlessly clean, and fully equipped. We took advantage of the fact that this is a trout farm - having great success fishing and then enjoying barbequed trout for dinner. There is a short hiking trail on their property, where you can take in the breathtaking view of the farm and Cape Breton. In the evenings we sat on the balcony of the barn, enjoying a glass of wine, listening to the bull frog and the quiet, simply basking in the peacefulness.

Pat and John are wonderful hosts! Gracious and very generous - lovely people to get to know. They are very knowledgeable about Cape Breton, recommending many wonderful little gems to visit.

The 4 days we spent at the Old Miller Trout Farm have left us with memories that we will have forever.

Date of stay: June 2013
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The fully equipped cottage.
Liked least: Not having enough time to drive the whole Cabot Trail!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2013
Many thanks Trish and John, for your kind remarks and review. We MUST keep in touch.

Pat and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parlee_Be...
Shediac, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“In touch with nature”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The first thing you notice as you arrive are the sounds and feel of nature. The hosts were welcoming, as if we were family arriving for a visit. The place was very clean and comfortable, with a fully equipped kitchen. It shows that the hosts, Pat and John have paid a lot of attention to small details to make the guests' say homelike. I recommend this place to anyone wanting to get away from the "fast life" and get back in touch with nature. Cap Breton is a picturesque place, a must see.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSQ
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hosts, beautiful setting, great location”
Reviewed August 21, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent one week at the Old Miller Trout Farm and Pat and John were amazing, warm and lovely hosts. Our kids adopted them as on-site grandparents, and they were generous with their time, advice, and home. The rental was spacious, private and had everything one would need. The location was great both for staying put relaxing and fishing as well as for exploring Cape Breton. Quick drives to some of the beautiful beaches nearby, live music, and the Cabot trail.

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ON
Reviewed August 14, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Date of stay: August 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oshawa ON
Reviewed September 22, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kent, England
Reviewed May 11, 2011 for a stay in October 2005
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: October 2005
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ON
Reviewed May 4, 2011 for a stay in July 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: It's location and the hosts.
Liked least: That we only stayed a week!
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.