We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
20
3
0
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
3
0
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrains passingfew weeksglamping tentsrustic settingtammycampsitecountryfishingspothubbyhostsitesgemsleephospitalitystop
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 32 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2015

We had the vision of finding a little cabin in the woods somewhere's for our holiday this summer and sought out to find it. It was not easy, until we stumbled upon this little place in gods country.
It was just what we had imagined as our perfect little cabin in the woods destination.
The view from our cabin deck was awesome and breath taking and private.
I was worried that my wife would not do well with a "rustic" country cabin as she is very much a city gal. As it turned out she was thrilled and so happy to relax without a cell phone, city traffic, kids, no TV just us and nature in our little cabin.
First time in years I've seen her so relaxed and content.
The cabin was clean comfy and just like a western movie.

This place is a gift to all who need a good shot of "relax" from the city.
We will come again and more often.
Thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wolf j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2015

Traveling from Australia an found this special place. Such a refreshing change from other camp grounds. A true nature outdoor camping experience with all the amenities, Very well run, large private site on the river and Ice cream at the take out to beat the heat and what a treat !
Camping at its best.
Came for one night stayed for 4.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: All sites are stunning on the river
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2015

Glamped out at the Rock !

Never Glamped before and found this place. Our Tent Cabin was beyond spectacular & even came with a wine rack ! Just like an outdoor hotel.

We were beyond thrilled with the service, the nature, our Camping /Glamping experience on The Thompson at the rock.

My husband caught a 3 lb trout to boot ! we cooked it up for dinner on our BBQ at our tent cabin (on the private deck) over looking the river. Watched the sun go down and star gazed the Big sky.

We did not want to leave this very special and beautiful place.

After 35 years of marriage we found romance again thanks to you !

We found our " Happy place " and ladies... this is a real romantic getaway bring your Hubby !
Can not say enough about this fantastic spot on the Thompson ! Plan your holiday here nothing wrong with this place .
( Oh and the out door solar shower was divine !)

Thanks Tammy for such a wonderful adventure and our first Glamp vacation.

Room Tip: RENT THE Glamp cabin ! Riverfront view of the Thompson.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Belinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2015

Travelling towards Drumheller and with Juniper Beach full for full hook ups along with the Savona campground we settled on this place. The owner was friendly enough and she has a great location along the Thompson river but the campground is in some serious need of work.
The full hook up price of $35 is fair but wow after a friendly owner that's where it ends. It looks like the campground was thrown together with old tables needing repair and oh yea the new outdoor outhouse and shower that is a garden shed turned into a shower with water heated by hose in circles on the roof.
I give the lady credit for trying but would I stay here again or send folks here I knew no.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank BCR4601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonRiver101, Manager at The Rock & River Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Hello Fellow Camper,
Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we are sorry you were not happy with your stay. We do wonder however, why you stayed if the riverfront surroundings were not to your refined campground tastes.
Fortunately our many guests feel differently and enjoy the beautiful riverfront acerage and clean quiet and very large sites on the river.

We are constantly improving things so do come back and give us another try ! Its on us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2015

We love this place. The camping is right on the river and hook ups or not it is the best. Tammy is a wonderful host and it's a laid back experience which we quite enjoy. All the rules and regs of provincial campgrounds are left behind so you can relax and enjoy the stars, camping, campfires and quiet. We are so glad we stumbled upon this little gem of an oasis!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews