We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Memorial des Deportes de la Mayenne
Save
Review Highlights
Moving, informative, unmissable

Visited today, part of group and even through we were given a full tour of the current exhibits we... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JudithC222
via mobile
Beautifully presented and unbelievably moving

We were only in Mayenne for a weekend - but visiting this museum was the highlight. It is so... read more

Reviewed September 28, 2018
CherylJoy666
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Read all 22 reviews
  
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
4
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small attraction resistance jews ww2 moving
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited today, part of group and even through we were given a full tour of the current exhibits we will definitely be going back. The personal stories of the people deported during WW2 was moving and their personal effects, uniforms and images made the exhibition very accessible. The exhibits are in French with english audio guides available. Recommend everyone visit here at least once.

Thank JudithC222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018

We were only in Mayenne for a weekend - but visiting this museum was the highlight. It is so unbelievably moving and so beautifully presented that you feel it is a great privilege to be able to share the experience of the wartime Jews and Resistance workers in this area.

Thank CherylJoy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017

Having visited this attraction over 3 years ago I returned in June with French friends.
The venue has been updated since my last visit and although small is a worthwhile place to spend 1 to 2 hours.
There are details of over 400 people who were arrested and sent to labour camps or concentration camps.
Many did not survive the war but some that did recall their experiences.
My friends were impressed with this small attraction.

Thank michaelallaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

Opened in 2012, this small museum commerates 75 Jews and 550 members of the Resistance to occupation from the Mayenne region who were deported to camps during World War II.
Check the opening hours before planning a visit. Entry is 5 Euros. There is a seperate room dedicated to the role of women in the Resistance.
A part of European history that should not be forgotten.

1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

This is a hidden gem. It's not a large venue but there is a wealth of material inside. It is very net resting to follow stories of individuals and families and not how many simply disappeared.

Thank Viewlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2015

It covers a dark period in the areas WWII history and as such it is extremely interesting. It is defiantly not for children or casual viewing.

Thank 292bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memorial53, Gérant at Memorial des Deportes de la Mayenne, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2015

Thank you very much for your message !
The Memorial of the Deportees from Mayenne is opened for all people. We receive children from 10 years old with their family or their school. There aren't picture or testimony which hurt sensibilities. This building is voluntarily sober.
See you again soon in the Memorial !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Having frequented Mayenne at least four times anualy for the last ten years we have only just found this small attraction.
We were amazed at the numbers of local people deported during WW2 from the area.
A moving visit

4  Thank michaelallaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews