We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Charming Lonno Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2017

After being picked up in an air conditioned car with cold bottled water provided, we arrived at Lonno Lodge and were totally overwhelmed by the beauty of the hotel. The hotel is kept immaculate and the views are breath taking.

We were warmly welcomed by the owners and subsequently the wagging tailed dogs and that hospitality followed through the rest of our stay. We spent some time relaxing around the pool and thoroughly enjoyed the lunches and dinners. All freshly made each day and a great mixture of foods with all tastes catered for.

The owners couldn't do more to help you. The boys wanted to go off and play golf one day and Silvia rang the golf course and booked them in. We also wanted to go into the town and they lent us their bikes to cycle in. One evening we wanted to experience a Kenyan restaurant and got given a brilliant recommendation, Silvia booked the table for us and even organised our taxi their and back for us.

All in all it was a perfect relaxing stay in a beautiful location. We will definitely not hesitate to return or recommend to others in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Susie L, thank you for your really nice review, and for appreciating our efforts in keeping the Lonno Lodge as clean and immaculate as it must be :-)
And beside that, we truly love to share this tiny piece of Africa with our guests, suggestions on local activities are part of our love for this country.

Thank you again for staying with us
Aldo & Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for The Charming Lonno Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017

It's very rare that online photos match real life expectations but Lonno Lodge delivered this and more. From the moment we were collected from the airport (with cold drinks) we were made to feel welcome and looked after by our hosts Silvia and Aldo. The bedrooms and communal areas of the lodge are beautifully designed and the staff were fantastic at helping us book trips (golf), transfers and dinner reservations.

We enjoyed half board as part of our stay and could choose whether to have lunch or dinner in addition to breakfast. The food was absolutely delicious - we particularly enjoyed the stuffed pork loin and homemade gnocchi. One of our group has a gluten intolerance and Silvia even prepared gluten free pasta and gluten free muffins each morning for her. On a couple of occasions we left early for excursions and Silvia was kind enough to prepare a pack up for us.

I can't fault anything about our stay at Lonno Lodge! Thank you Silvia and Aldo for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camilla555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

And thank you camilla555 for choosing our tiny lodge for your holiday in Kenya!
We loved to prepare gluten free meals for your friend, we think it is a must in our way of welcoming guests :-)

See you again after the next safari?
Aldo & Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We arrived at Lonno Lodge after a very tough hike up Mount Kenya. We booked Lonno because of the reviews and photos - which really are a true representation of the hotel - if anything they don't do it justice!!

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty! From dining requests to recommendations Sylvia and Aldo couldn't have been more helpful. We spent hours relaxing by the beautiful pool and drinks from the bar. The views are stunning and the staff, particularly Alan, are lovely.

A Swedish massage is a must!!! Lots of activities close by and Sylvia and Aldo can help organise any trips with the locals which is a great help.

The food was superb and couldn't be faulted - I failed to tell them I was gluten free before arriving but was thoroughly spoilt with gf pasta, bread and cake!!

The rooms are also stunning. We had a top floor tower room with a beautiful sea view. Extremely clean and washing was done for us very quickly.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel - excellent value for money and beautiful location. But overall the staff and owners really made the holiday (and the dogs!!)

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Lucy C for your review, and for confirming that the pictures on our website are actually representing the real lodge :-).
The staff too says thank you, (the dogs say whoof!)

Thnx, have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

We went to`Lonno Lodge for peace and tranquility from our busy lives. This is exactly what we got. We received a very warm welcome from Bruno on arrival. From when we arrived to when we left everything was sorted out for us. We arrived a bit too late for lunch. However, they went out of their way to ensure we had a great lunch. My wife is pure veg and the menus were catered to this. The rooms were tastefully furnished and extremely clean. The view from our room was beautiful!! The salt water pool was therapeutic. The food was excellent!! The staff was friendly and efficient. Would definitely recommend this boutique lodge to anyone who would like pure relaxation and privacy.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nshah86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you nimitshah86 for your nice review, we're happy you could completely relax at our ocean lodge. Tailoring our menus for our guests is something we love to do, and we're overjoyed we succeded in getting your appreciation, and your wife's as well :-)
We do hope to host you again at The Lonno Lodge in the near future.
Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Lonno Lodge has got to be the perfect spot for a romantic getaway (it would also be great for friends and families)...we honestly had such a blast, although, admittedly, we had what their website fondly refers to as the "do nothing tour". Limoncellos, dawas, fantastic meals, lazing about and only occasionally snorkeling or cycling to the town (they have bikes). I loved the fact that we got to wine and dine with one of the owners- Bruno- and his wife. He was so concerned for our well being and keen on ensuring that everything was perfect for us, and this level of hospitality thankfully trickles down to the staff. Not sure what to do when you get to Watamu? No worries...Bruno will have you covered! Oh, and the salt water pool offering incredible views of the sea was one of my favourite things about Lonno, right up there with the spacious Top Tower room in which we stayed, and whose impressive patio offered breathtaking panoramic views of the property and the sea. I love how menus are customized for everyone and my only regret is that I wasn't able to eat more. Haha. I would give Lonno a genuine five stars and can't wait to go back someday!

Room Tip: choose the rooms on the top floor for the best view
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WattaOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

WattaOnTheGo,
thank you for your really nice review, it truly was heartwarming :-). We love when we are able to meet our guest's expectations, and to receive such a nice words and comments.
See you again for your next celebration, maybe?

Thnx, have a great day!
Aldo & Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

We had a fabulous long weekend in Lonno Lodge and would always recommend it to anyone! We stayed in one of the beautiful and well arranged suites with seaview surrounded by lush gardens: airy, calm & serene and private - just what we needed!! The salt-water pool is the best swim in the mornings and for cooling down after a long sunbath or after a lazy hangout on one of the rope-hanging outdoor beds. Service is splendid and so attentive, menu selection and food quality are both outstanding. We had a fly & stay arrangement and didn't need to worry about anything - it was all very well taken care of. There are great activity options outside as well - so next time we would definitely like to stay for longer! Asante sana - mille grazie!

Room Tip: the sun terrace @ the tower room
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _oceanomare_te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

We're happy you enjoyed your stay, and that our Fly & Stay package did satisfy your expectations. We look forward to host you again in our ocean lodge.

Thank you!
Aldo & Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Was there with my sisters for five days for a special family celebration. The quietness of the lodge was exactly what we needed in order to talk and laugh and spend time. The rooms are clean and built in a very interesting way. The main food menu is Italian, but they also have an excellent Kenyan Menu for those who would prefer that.
Our host Bruno was attentive to detail about any need.
Allan and Rehema were also very friendly. If you are a dog lover you will love their dogs which are just lovely.
The swimming pool was excellent. Big enough.
There are many things to do while at Watamu and we were busy everyday. You can visit Bio-Ken snake park just nearby, the Gede Ruins, Kipepeo Project, Mida Creek, go to Watamu or Malindi town for shopping. We used a tuk-tuk to go around, it was more interesting and they had an excellent guide/ tuk-tuk owner called Robert

Room Tip: First floor and top floor rooms have excellent view of Indian Ocean
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rosa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you Rosa W for your exhaustive and detailed review, and also for pointing out the long list of activites one can experience while in Watamu, we truly appreciate that!
Our staff too is glad you enjoyed your stay, we all hope you'll repeat it again in the future.

Thnx!
Aldo & Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.7 km away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
280 reviews
2.5 km away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
779 reviews
9.2 km away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
149 reviews
2.7 km away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#19 of 26 in Watamu
33 reviews
5.4 km away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charming Lonno Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charming Lonno Lodge

Address: 390 Kanani Road, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Watamu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: $320 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charming Lonno Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charming Lonno Lodge Watamu is a luxury hotel on the sea side of the Watamu Marine Park, Kenya. Its secluded structure, with nested private tiny beaches, is the optimal spot to relax and indulge on the white beach of Kenya. Despite the proximity with the sea, a huge double swimming pool with salt water is available for our guests. Guests whose presence is limited in number to provide everyone with privacy, silence and top quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Charming Lonno Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonno Hotel Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing