We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a Lifetime”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watamu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wildfitness - Baraka House
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Experience of a Lifetime”
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Wildfitness is a life-changing experience. So much more than a "fitness retreat." I had a shared room in Baraka house, which was huge (apparently when they built the place, everything was accidentally buit 3 times the intended scale). The housekeeping staff is wonderful (they do an excellent job with laundry and dirty sneakers). The Wildfitness program in educational, fun and challenging. I was on the 9-day kickstart, and my fellow "Wild ones" were great - in fact we all stay in touch through email and FB. The food is amazing - and there is as much as you want, no starvation diet here. Cannot recommend highly enough. For those travling a long way to Kenya, I recommend tacking on a 3-4 day safari beforehand, just so you can acclimate to the time zone before you jump in to the fitness part.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmh200886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Saw this on the web promoted as "Best Hardcore Turnaround" – just what I needed, especially at 63! I was the oldest member of The Tribe, but it didn't matter at all – the fitness stuff isn't competitive (unless you want it to be), you're just encouraged and challenged to give it your personal best.
Fabulous location, diet, and company – and the best trainers in the business. Truly.
Physically it was the best thing I've ever done for myself – lost weight, toned and loosened up, felt fantastic... What I didn't expect (and others confirmed on return) was the MENTAL, PSYCHOLOGICAL, SPIRITUAL turnaround... All that trekking, swimming, climbing, boxing, boating, weights-work, yoga – plus the beautiful get-togethers in the evenings under the stars, the talk and laughter – turns your head and attitudes right round, too. Everybody should do it! Often!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caseyleeLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Hugely professional team and an inspiring location make Wildfitness a great option for those interested in an activity holiday. The food is terrific and the staff - client ratio makes for excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

My Wildfitness experience in Kenya was fabulous, energizing and quite transformative! I can honestly say that it catalysed quite a few changes in my life and has had a lasting effect on my health and fitness.
The location is idyllic - beautiful white sand beaches and lush tropical forest. The programme is as easy or as tough as you want it to be, although the team spirit and support does mean that you end up really pushing yourself. Exercising in the open air is fantastic. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The food was absolutely delicious and the staff could not be more lovely. I cannot recommend this holiday highly enough.

Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MillenniumSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2010

This is not a bootcamp holiday from hell, this is a life-changing holistic retreat that will transform your body and mind. Not only is the location absolutely stunning but the food is delicious - you will not go hungry! I have come away with amazing memories and great friends.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Str0mb0li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Ahh.. to get up at the crack of dawn and swim four Km before breakfast, to eat raw fish, and then go boxing with your fellow guests. Not everyones cup of tea but I really miss what is the most incredible holiday experience. The team at Wildfitness are friendly, professional and the best you could possibly hope to meet. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctiyman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Ideal location for one of the best fitness camps I have ever come across.
Highly recommend for those who want to be guided through making the right life changes for a healthier body.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AraliasIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.0 km away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
275 reviews
0.0 km away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.0 km away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Kobe Suite Resort
Kobe Suite Resort
#15 of 26 in Watamu
59 reviews
0.0 km away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#20 of 26 in Watamu
28 reviews
0.0 km away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildfitness - Baraka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildfitness - Baraka House

Property: Wildfitness - Baraka House
Address: 24B Mida Creek Rd, Plot, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Wildfitness - Baraka House Hotel Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing