We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and Peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
terrace
sun set from terrace
view from terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
worldview...
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful”
Reviewed April 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Waterhouse has two things that make it really special- it's view from the gorgeous deck and the owner's incredibly helpful sister. It is a beautiful wooden 3 bedroom home with a with a huge deck right over the water. The deck was our favorite place! Kitchen was fine, especially as the owner's sister Nog would bring us special treats from time to time. :-) The living room
was comfortable and flows easily into the deck. It has Internet and wifi, which is slow at best, and a DVD player. (A store down the road sells a few DVDs for approx $2- we left some good ones for you) The house does not have AC so all the doors and windows stay open. It was fun sleeping under the mosquito netting (although bugs aren't really an issue) and falling asleep to the breeze and lapping of waves. It was not so fun to be woken up before dawn by the sound of roosters, tropical birds and boats- no sleeping in on this vacation! We were not prepared for how rustic the island is. There are no western stores or restaurants. But Nog gave wonderful suggestions of the best small local places to eat and shop. She was also great about arranging our taxi from the pier to the Waterhouse, as well as arrangements for getting back to the airport. She also brought us our scooters- best way to get around the island!- and arranged a private boat tour for us which was the highlight of our trip. I didn't know we would get to go snorkeling and see wild monkeys! She also told us about a beautiful beach only a few minutes scooter ride away that we had practically to ourselves. The hammocks swaying in the breeze under the shady trees were heaven! So the Waterhouse is off the touristy path, but we quickly adjusted and appreciate the wonderful unique experience it gave us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museummum...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to relax and explore the island”
Reviewed March 24, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The Waterhouse was a brilliant home from home in the most perfect spot. We stayed for four nights with our two young children (4 & 6) whilst travelling SE Asia. The house itself has really big rooms, loads of space, well equipped kitchen, amazing views, and is in a great location as a base for the island and Phang Nga bay. The isn't air conditioning, but the fans and construction of the house keep the rooms cool. There are also mossie nets provided on all of the beds.

We hired scooters and traveled all over the island - it's not large and was definitely the way to explore. They cost £5 a scooter per day. Their is a local beach, 10 minutes away by scooter, that is just perfect - Lam Sae I think, but Nok will help you to find it. The Waterhouse is in a little village which has a couple of local shops selling basics. a lovely restaurant Kaya, and a Muay Thai Boxing hotel which serves good breakfasts. Not too far away there is a pizza restaurant that delivers to the house, and a beautiful restaurant called Rice Paddy - good food, amazing atmosphere, and wine! We also hired a long boat for the day and explored Phang Nga bay (James Bond Island, Koh Panyee etc) with Kayaks. Nok helped us sort this out and it was a brilliant day - no crowds to deal with, our own kayaks, and just a day to enjoy and explore.

The correspondence during booking was great. Throughout our stay we were supported by Nok who lives in the village and could provide information on everything from hiring scooters to organising day trips.

Definitely recommend the Waterhouse to anyone, ideal for families, romantic for couples! Just perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and amazing house
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic”
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect spot for our 4 person Thai Island interlude. Very quiet and picturesque setting .... Maybe not for late risers as the local roosters start their day early

Nok was very helpful and hooked us up with scooters and a fabulous day trip to several local islands and a trip to Ko Hong at a great price.

Really good Pad Thai at Paseo Beach restaurant, Ping Pong and Bruschetta at LA Luna at an interesting night out at Baang Nang made it a memorable trip.

As long a you are prepared for a safe, quiet, trip and aren't looking for late night partying it is great.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaMcD
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our family holiday at the Waterhouse was fantastic! The views are fabulous and the atmosphere is relaxing. A true holiday feeling! Nok our host was just wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble including a visit to one of the local schools and the kindergarten. Nok also organised a day trip out the the islands in our own private long boat, something that was very much appreciated when other boats passed by us packed out with sightseers. This was complete with a seafood lunch that had been prepared specially by Nok. The only downside to a truly wonderful experience was the beds. They were quite hard and uncomfortable. Thank you Nok and Karem for a fabulous holiday.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your nice Review, I am glad you liked your stay with us and you will be happy to hear that we have now bought two new king size mattrass that are softer and have not the normal hard springs. Sunny greetings from the Island, Karem
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigtails...
Provo, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach House Right over the Ocean! Great Escape to Paradise!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
7
people found this review helpful

We absolutely loved staying in this house! Kasem and Nok took wonderful care of us, were great at answering our questions, and even went grocery shopping for us at the market for no extra charge. Nok was willing to cook for us (for 300 baht per adult and 150 for children), but we ended up being gone most evenings and just catching dinner on our own. The home was clean, inviting, and with beautiful views from every room. The kitchen was well equipped but could use some extra utensils. We stayed for 3 nights during low season which was just perfect. You can rent scooters for driving around the island for 250 baht, but because our party was so large (7 of us) we rented a scooter with a side car (500 baht per day) for all of us to sit in and oh my what an awesome adventure that was! We loved it! We drove all over the island exploring every road we could and saw some amazing and beautiful beaches and for the most part had the beaches all to ourselves! We loved stopping to shop at the markets for some shopping, driving out to the pier, and swimming at every beach we could find. The island is just a paradise of untouched beauty! We didn't run into a single tourist all day! We also took a long tail boat 5 island tour while there to the Hong islands (totally recommended) but found the prices for the tours to be a bit on the expensive side. We were able to work a deal with a local though and got a better deal. Hong island was our favorite as we were the ONLY people on the beach, it has a really cool cave, is right next to a lagoon, and has a National park. Not to miss! Our favorite beach our entire 12 day trip! Kayaking is also available on Hong Island but you pay 200 baht per person to get into the park. The taxi from the pier to the house is about a 10 minute drive and we paid 200 baht for our whole family. But getting your own transportation is definitely the way to go! There is a GREAT little restaurant about 5 minutes (walking) from the beach house and it is fantastic. They have pancakes and french toast with honey that still make our mouths water and every Thai dish we had was excellent. Best Massaman our whole trip. So yummy! There is also an Italian restaurant that has wonderful pastas and a restaurant run by a German man named Frank that was really good too. ATM's are on the island but there are only 3 of them so bring lots of cash! Most places do not take cards. We absolutely loved our time on the island though and loved that it was secluded and tourist free! If you want to relax and enjoy a beautiful place. This is the place to go! Only complaints were the hard beds (which are almost everywhere), no washing machine, and no A/C (but its an open Thai style home so that would be impossible). Other than that. It is a magical and wonderful place! We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the untouched feeling of the island, renting a scooter with side car, the food.
Liked least: Hard beds.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M
Phuket
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well positioned, well equipped shame about the uncomfortable beds and unsightly rubbish around the entrance.”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We loved this place but it had two points that let it down, the first was the rubbish around the entrance - so easy to clear away and second the poor quality mattresses. By the end of the second night's stay my back was killing me - others in our group felt the same.
This is a wonderful place to stay. The scenery is idyllic - how many places do you know that are built on stilts out on the water? The facilities, the hospitality of the host, the roominess of the property and the overall ambiance all at an extremely affordable price make it well worth visiting - just sort those beds out and clear the rubbish away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The mattresses
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotpen
bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful in every way!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

we were fortunate to have 6 nights at the waterhouse in april 2014 and as a resident of thailand and a frequent beach traveller, i have never come across a place that is so perfect. the house is beautiful, charming and relaxing with the ebb and flow of the daily tide, Nok, the host was charming, thougthful and knowledgeable. we ate out and we ate in, thanks to Nok's family for preparing us a local meal with freshly caught prawns. hired mbikes so toured the whole island and visited most of the local communities and beaches. no fault, just heaps of praise, thank you all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home comforts and Nok's hospitality
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing