We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$84
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-13
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$84
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-13
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$85
US$81
View deal
SAVE US$4
eDreamsUS$84
Agoda.comUS$85
Expedia.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
13
24
20
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
24
20
6
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 68 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2016

Driving from the Alps to see friends in Vannes we found this little gem at the last minute. Feeling tired on the A-road we did a search for nearby hotels an chose this one.

Always nervous about finding a dud, we excepted our fate deciding 'either way it would make a story'. Approximately 15mins after coming off the motorway we drove into hillside village of Thiers.

The hotel is on the right as you come down the hill and there is a convenient (and free) underground car park right opposite. The clearance is 2m but we managed to sneak a VW Transporter with roof bars in ....!

The whole team was behind the desk when we entered, which is always a little disconcerting but they soon diasapatedand left us with the Madame to book. She honoured the Booking.com price even though we just walked in without a reservation which was nice of her.

I'd just like to say that we suffered none of the issues of the previous reviewers below, maybe because it was so out of season...?

The room was huge and clean - the old radiators were soon turned on for us (I'm sure this would have been done in advance had we booked ahead) and the room heated up quickly. A rug or 2 would have been nice but otherwise a great room with a modern shower with lumber jets and rain shower. More functional than cosy it was impeccable decorated and presented and suited us perfectly as a room to relax after a long drive. English pillows were provided in the wardrobe for those that do not get on with the French bolster thingy and the free WiFi and Samsung TV were appreciated.

Being tired we opted to eat in and the 25E menu complete looked like great value.
Sometimes people on here think that they are next buddy Jay Rayner and judge the food at a Michelin Star level. As a chef of 24 years I have worked and eaten at all levels. The food here was not fine dining by any standard, but the Chef/Proprioter certainly loves his food/wine and enjoyed showcasing his local specialities.

The value was fantastic, service attentive (as you'd expect with only 4 tables), and we were expertly directed from the amazing value wine list to the carafes which did not disappoint. My foie entree was huge, as was the main course of duck - cheese course was 'just enough' and the dessert....well I've never seen a vanilla Brûlée flambeed at the table (on top of the caramel).....with Genepi but you know what, it kind of worked in a fun aniseedy way!

We slept well and came down to the inclusive continental breakfast to a warm welcome from the Chef/Proprioter who directed us to the same table as we occupied the night before - nice touch. We ordered Coffee and Hot Chocolate from him which arrived in little jugs which were enough for 2 cups each - perfect.

We left happy, rested and full and spent only 130E the room, 4 course dinner for 2, 2 x Leffe, 35cl Sauternes, 50cl Auvergne Red and breakfast.

Oh - I forgot to mention to fabulous knives ....designed and made in Thiers, of course!

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2015

By French standards, the rooms are huge, but as is often the case with old hotels, it's a logistical nightmare trying to get modern conveniences into rooms, hence the shower that's a step up of almost 8 inches, a rather alarming electric heater in the bathroom, and floors that slope. The owner and his staff were ever so friendly and that makes up for a lot of the shabbiness. All in all, it was clean and comfortable, there was very little noise from the street and we had a reasonable meal in the restaurant. However, I think I would look elsewhere before staying again.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cliffgalluplives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel room was very good clean and modern. The meal left more to be desired, my husband's main was the wrong dish. One feels that a visit from the "hotel inspector" would make a great difference. Madam was charming but stressed, the dining room was being run by a very young girl who was out of her depth. I would certainly stay there again for the room but would eat elsewhere if I could find anywhere open. We used it as a stop,over on our way south and it was ideally placed for that.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lalage G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2021 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2021
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews