We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy honeymoon cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dagley Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seating area at one end of the room Log fire for cosy nights in
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Seating area at one end of the room
Log fire for cosy nights in
Kitchen and dining table at the other end of the room
Kitchen has small hob and a combi oven/ grill/ microwave
Spacious double bedroom
Bath with shower
Snow in January
Roses in June
Shalford Common in the background
Seating area overlooking our garden
Steps to front door - once inside it is all on one level
Nearby footpath down to the River Wey
Floor plan of the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shalford, Guildford, Surrey, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EmilyHobb...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy honeymoon cottage”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My husband and I stayed here for the first two nights after our wedding and were so charmed by Dagley Cottage. A perfect little home away from home; it was surprisingly modern and had all the amenities we needed and more. Joanna was lovely and left a basket with some lovely treats and basic food supplies which was really helpful.
Really enjoyed the log fire which was stocked with all the wood we needed. A relaxing time away and we will definitely have to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire
Liked least: No shower capability, only for baths
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent tidy cottage & private location”
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Me and my beautiful girlfriend stayed in the cottage for a few days and was pleased to say that the cottage exceeded all expectations. Extremely tidy and well presented on arrival and has a unique homely feel. Great location and close to local amenities. Perfect location and extremely private. Joanna also very kindly provided us with a few nice bits and bobs of food. Very much enjoyed our stay there and would hope to go back again sometime. The owner Joanna was also extremely welcoming and helpful during our stay! Can not recommend enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BysMelynY...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Like living in a John Lewis catalogue...”
Reviewed November 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at this wonderful cottage on my own for 4 nights during October half term. I fell in love with it from the moment I drew up outside the property. Dagley Cottage was very tastefully decorated and had a homely and cosy feel. The basket of goodies was very much appreciated as was the warm welcome by Joanna the owner.The cottage is well situated for visiting Guildford and the surrounding area with a bus route and train station a 5 minute walk away.
Would definitely stay again, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry H
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous cottage, great location!”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my partner are very pleased to have booked our long weekend break in Dagley Cottage!

Upon arrival the owner was very welcoming and helpful showing us around the property. The cottage is in the owners grounds and it was made clear that we could approach them if we needed anything during our stay and they also gave us complete privacy.

The cottage is beautiful and was bigger than I originally thought it would be, which is a good thing!!! It is nice, immaculate and cosy with everything we needed to make our stay perfect, with a basket of goodies provided on our first day including a fresh loaf of bread.

The cottage is situated just outside of Guildford in a nice peaceful location and within close reach of everything you need including the town center, railway station, places to eat and also the village shop is within walking distance.

We definitely wouldn't hesitate to come back and stay again!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A L
Golden, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy cottage in ideal location”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We rented the cottage for ten days and was welcomed by Joanna who owns the property, she was very welcoming and knowledgeable. The cottage has a lovely open fire, and all the wood and fire starter was provided along with all the basic pantry needs for your first eveing and breakfast, along with some great homemade marmalade. The property is ideally situated for exploring the Surrey Hills, with it's many National Trust properties and parks, with many local hiking and cycling routes on its doorstop .

The cottage is situated very close to the historic town of Guildford being only a 20 to 25 minute walk, with easy access into Central London by Train.
My husband and I had a lovely vacation and we even had our baby Grandson to stay with us at the cottage for three days. Next time we are in England we would definitely rent the Cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm cosy and ideal location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing