We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage to stay in, set in picturesque...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dagley Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seating area at one end of the room Log fire for cosy nights in
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Seating area at one end of the room
Log fire for cosy nights in
Kitchen and dining table at the other end of the room
Kitchen has small hob and a combi oven/ grill/ microwave
Spacious bedroom with kingsize bed
Bath with shower
Snow in January
Roses in June
Shalford Common in the background
Seating area overlooking our garden
Steps to front door - once inside it is all on one level
Nearby footpath down to the River Wey
Floor plan of the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shalford, Guildford, Surrey, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sd_norman
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage to stay in, set in picturesque surroundings”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Wonderful cottage, clean and tidy, very homely.. Especially liked the fact a small selection of provisions were left, very thoughtful. Would recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved the look of the property, very homely
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretorium
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little slice of bliss”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This lovely cottage is cosy but spacious, standing in a gorgeous garden with lots of birds in the trees. It is very well equipped and comfortable.The location is central to sightsee around Surrey and the town of Guildford is a few minutes away where the shopping is great.
The family is very friendly and accomodating yet respectful of privacy. We had an amazing time there relaxing, driving around and taking walks through the multitude of bridleways and paths. We hope to be there again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We could smoke outside
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBUSA62
Petaluma, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent rental”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage (very clean, too), perfect location (in walking distance of Guildford and also of a long river walk), lovely owners. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife and I spent our wedding night at Dagley Cottage, it turned out to be perfect for our needs. The location is superb, the accommodation is private with access to the lovely garden and off-street parking. The rooms themselves were immaculate with every detail considered, especially the real coffee!
Joanna the owner was highly accommodating and friendly, ensuring we were happy.
I highly recommended Dagley Cottage for romantic breaks or just a great getaway with excellent walking all around and Guildford centre only a short drive away. Far better value than any of the other hotels/guest houses we checked out.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ted049
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This cottage was exactly what we were looking for. It was so charming!!! We had a wonderful relaxing time in this cosy cottage. The photos don't the place justice - the space is used most advantageously and the open fire is such a treat. It was much appreciated that milk,bread, biscuits and butter were left out. It is these small touches that make such a difference. Loved it!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyHobb...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy honeymoon cottage”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My husband and I stayed here for the first two nights after our wedding and were so charmed by Dagley Cottage. A perfect little home away from home; it was surprisingly modern and had all the amenities we needed and more. Joanna was lovely and left a basket with some lovely treats and basic food supplies which was really helpful.
Really enjoyed the log fire which was stocked with all the wood we needed. A relaxing time away and we will definitely have to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire
Liked least: No shower capability, only for baths
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent tidy cottage & private location”
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Me and my beautiful girlfriend stayed in the cottage for a few days and was pleased to say that the cottage exceeded all expectations. Extremely tidy and well presented on arrival and has a unique homely feel. Great location and close to local amenities. Perfect location and extremely private. Joanna also very kindly provided us with a few nice bits and bobs of food. Very much enjoyed our stay there and would hope to go back again sometime. The owner Joanna was also extremely welcoming and helpful during our stay! Can not recommend enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing