We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
179
96
18
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
96
18
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night's rest a lovely stay small pool central drakensberg reception area main building beautiful area home away from home two nights rooms are spacious dining room self catering hosts kitchenette setting sherry accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 305 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2015

We have just returned from a four-day-break at the delightful Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage. It is indeed a little paradise in the Midlands of KZN. The hospitality of the owners, Julita and Schalk is outstanding, no host/hostess can supercede their absolute dedication to making their guests feel extra special.
And the gourmet meals are something else. The cheese cake we had one evening was ambrosial, never tasted anything like that!
The rooms are really comfortable, the surrounding gardens; a delight to behold, and the animals bring a special homelike feel.
We love the general ambiance exuded by this little paradise.

Room Tip: The inner courtyard rooms lead out onto an intimate little garden.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coba45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 25, 2015

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights as a base to explore Central Drakensberg. It's located just outside Winterton, where there are a few shops, restaurants and a SuperSpar supermarket.

We stayed in one of the huts which felt very authentically African with a thatched roof. It came with a kitchenette (including fridge, freezer, 2 ring hob, oven/grill, microwave, kettle and toaster), a very comfortable double bed, DStv Satellite TV, and a good sized shower room. There is no air conditioning or WiFi in the room but there is WiFi in the communal areas and there was a fan provided which kept the room cool enough.

Breakfast was available at an additional cost, which we didn't take advantage of as we prefer to cook our own breakfast, as well as a small pool.

For the price paid, I would say this represented excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dancingqueen98, Owner at Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2015

Thank you for your positive and informative review for our WCL@RoseCottage lodge! Lovely to hear about happy guests and their special experience! Hope to welcome you back in 2016, and all of the best to you all!! Schalk , Julita & staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 25, 2015

I enjoyed my stay. It was breath taking the area is beautiful and very good English breakfast. They have a lovely garden. It very nice and green. Peaceful far from the outside world. Enjoyed my stay. The host and staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AndronicaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2015

Very friendly and welcoming Hosts that care for the individual wellbeing of all the guests. Beautiful Lodge and definitely worth a visit! Was easy to find on the main road. Great opportunites for hiking in the Drakensberge within a short driving time

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ramons975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2015

Great cottage fro 2 but owner was very happy to provide an extra bed for our daughter. Very helpful and friendly. Lovely setting with beautiful gardens and 3 lovely 4 legged Beagle friends who loves company and to check on you comfort.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wessel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews