We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveller rating
438
257
76
30
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
257
76
30
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cathedral peak quad biking golden oldies breakfast and dinner stir fry honeymoon suite dining room drakensberg mountains buffet style superior room morning and afternoon tea hole golf course mini golf fresh trout old world charm south africa out of this world
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 814 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Cathedral Peak hotel is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed at. Every morning I would step outside my room and be greeted by the majestic Drakensberg mountains. It took my breath away!

The rooms themselves are nice. Each room has a small patio. Small cats and bush bucks will come right up to the patio. We spent some time relaxing on our patio, enjoying the beautiful view.

The hotel organizes a number of activities, including guided hikes and horseback riding. The guides are very knowledgable and friendly. I recommend taking a guided hike. Some of the guided hikes will bring you to see San paintings on the mountain side. It is worth the hike!

The pool on the grounds is nice and worth a visit.

Food at the dining hall was good. Lots of choices, changing every day.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris86752014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had another great stay at the hotel ... We have returned over the years ... Nice rooms, great hiking and golf ... And always great meals ... One of my favorites ... you have work hard to find a more picturesque setting - high in the Berg ...

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
Thank MarkT219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay was amazing and had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our friends’ wedding. The staff were friendly and efficient. Even with our children there we had a lovely time. The food was excellent. Thank you

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank MelissaD1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After travelling many kilometers on a narrow winding gravel road we reached our destination, what a wow! Cathedral Peak, beautiful accommodation, in between the majestic Drakensberg Mountain Range. We had a wonderful stay and cannot fault anything. Breakfasts were great with every day a surprise, kidneys, liver, egg dishes and delicious porridges, pastries and all served by the friendliest staff ever. Lunch was served in the pub and dinners were excellent. We celebrated our anniversary there as we also honeymooned there 40 years ago. We spent mornings at the pool and went for a beautiful walks at sunset. Other guests played golf, tennis and went horseriding. There is so much to do if you are energetic or you can just relax, read and chill. We also experienced an electric thunderstorm which was magnificent. We will be back.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wandererstilbaai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cathedral Peak is probably in the top 10 of wonderful places I've been privileged to visit. The setting is spectacular, the physical plant is beautiful and very much says "Africa". Staff was top notch and attentive without being intrusive. We planned for three days....and stayed over for a fourth. A truly wonderful South African experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the escarpment are great. But all views are terrific
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Meander794105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews