We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,195)
Filter reviews
1,195 results
Traveller rating
614
371
141
38
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
614
371
141
38
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue grotto tsogo sun canopy tour kids entertainment horse riding the ground floor self catering great holiday hiking trails family holiday heated pool world class whole family dinner buffet zip lining trout all ages
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 1,195 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We had taken a German visitor to experience the Drakensberg and make it a family treat as well.The Breakfast was great. Dinner was not good on day one but day two it was excellent. Rooms are average but clean and comfortable. we were treated with champagne for a celebration which was good. Over all it is a good vacation destination.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank DayTrip764101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, General Manager at Drakensberg Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

It was a true pleasure having you on the Resort with us recently and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback following your stay is appreciated and will be shared with both the Management and the Staff. Enjoy the rest of your travels, a safe journey home and we look forward to seeing you back here soon. Best regards Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Comfortable and excellent stay. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The rooms were tidy and clean. Breakfast was served on time and the food was freshly prepared. Staff were willing to extend a additional help

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank malinireddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, General Manager at Drakensberg Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

It was a true pleasure having you on the Resort with us recently and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback following your stay is appreciated and will be shared with both the Management and the Staff. Enjoy the rest of your travels, a safe journey home and we look forward to seeing you back here soon. Best regards Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Upon arrival, which was after 2pm,my family had to wait for over an hour while they prepared our rooms. The boat ride provide at the lake was a nightmare ,as a 2pm ride would just leave at 1:30pm .This left the Kids soo disappointed, they need a second boat or better booking system. The Vote itself is now due for a renovation,but is still elegant. The Staff were wonderful, and truly helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 328phumelelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, General Manager at Drakensberg Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

It was a true pleasure having you on the Resort with us recently and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback following your stay is appreciated and will be shared with both the Management and the Staff. Enjoy the rest of your travels, a safe journey home and we look forward to seeing you back here soon. Best regards Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

My husband & I chose the final three nights of our honeymoon to spend in the hotel section of this resort. Upon arrival we were thrilled to find champagne & a tin of biscuits & nougat in our room as a congratulatory gift from Roger, the manager. The food was consistently excellent, the staff were efficient & friendly, our room was spotlessly clean with a breathtaking view of the Berg. However, we were saddened by a racial incident that marred our stay. On the last evening we went down to dinner early in order that we might secure a particular table we desired. After having placed our drinks order with Thandi, who removed the extra plates & serviettes, we went to help ourselves at the buffet. On returning we found two men seated at our table. We spoke to Richard, the supervisor, who refused to move them because, in his words, "it might cause an incident". On one of the previous evenings we observed Richard requesting another white couple to move as a black couple were already seated at that particular table. When the waitress returned she placed our drinks at their table & was surprised when I told her that we were no longer sitting there as two black men were now occupying the table of our choice. Thandi said that this was nonsense & asked the men if they would move, which they did. We remained at another table because we had by now already started eating. Thandi was highly efficient & attentive & handled the incident with politeness & graciousness. She was extremely apologetic for something that was not her fault. We felt that it was because we were white that nothing was done to rectify the situation caused by Richard's refusal to act. Why should a waitress have to deal with a situation when the supervisor should have sorted out? Because of this I would hesitate to return to the resort. Just one more irritation.....the WiFi is extremely erratic.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank fabulez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, General Manager at Drakensberg Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Dear Mr & Mrs Van der Lecq

It was an absolute pleasure having you on our Resort and all the more special that you were able to spend your Honeymoon with us Thank you for your kind words on your overall experience.

Thank you for taking my call and I really do appreciate your constructive criticism on the isolated incident that happened in our restaurant. I can assure you that I will oversee corrective training and supervision to ensure that in the unlikely event that this should happen again, we can manage this better and maintain the service levels that all our guests have come to expect and deserve.

Please accept my sincere apologies.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to seeing you back here again soon.

Safe travels and best regards
Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Great family hotel /resort n stunning surroundings. Lots to do at the hotel and heaps of fun activities and hikes to do near the hotel/resort. Highly recommend this hotel/resort for a fun filled holiday but also if you just want to relax by the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Buyze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, General Manager at Drakensberg Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

It was a true pleasure having you on the Resort with us recently and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback following your stay is appreciated and will be shared with both the Management and the Staff. Enjoy the rest of your travels, a safe journey home and we look forward to seeing you back here soon. Best regards Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews