We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,147)
Filter reviews
1,147 results
Traveller rating
713
331
77
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
713
331
77
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe mountain view animal farm scones wellness centre drakensberg mountains each meal self catering dining room buffet style horse riding underfloor heating public areas guided walk amazing views fantastic stay morning and afternoon tea beautiful setting
Filter
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 1,147 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2016

Don't even think about not staying her if you are in the Drakensberg, the hospitality as well as the facilities are amazing.

We stayed in Chalet 6 and the whole ambiance of the surroundings just made this a wonderful getaway.

you honestly will not want to leave.

Room tip: Chalets are the way to go with groups
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georges_Romarin, General Manager at Champagne Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Shane C

The Chalets are one of the most popular styles of accommodation at Champagne Castle Hotel, for some of the reasons you have listed (and many more).

We are very fortunate to be located in this part of the Drakensberg, surrounded by the most magnificent mountains.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2016

As always superb rooms, food, service and staff in a beautiful spot.....That's why we keep coming back.
Thank you George and all the staff for another great stay....hope to see you all next year.
Dave & Margaret

Room tip: Rooms on upper level next to the bar looking at the Drakensburg mountains are best in our view....worth paying a bit more for!
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveGMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georges_Romarin, General Manager at Champagne Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Dave

We're very fortunate to have you and Margaret come back time after time to stay with us. There is no greater compliment to any hotel than returning guests.

It goes without saying that we look forward to welcoming you back on your 10th visit and every one following that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2016

We went up for a short break to celebrate to see what had changed since I was last there over 20 years ago. We were quite amazed at the transformation at the hotel with its new rooms and added self catering. One highlight was that the staff went out of their way to make our evening special with our table neatly set and appoinnted for the occasion. Our thanks go out to all the staff we encountered for a wonderful 3 nights.

Room tip: Mountain view rooms in the front of the hotel are the best
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georges_Romarin, General Manager at Champagne Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Steven

Apart from some of the main buildings, you must have driven into a completely different hotel, from the one you remembered 20 years ago. I'm glad you had a special stay with us.

Thank you for staying with Champagne Castle Hotel on your 20th anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2016

The attention to detail was lovely to see
A great room looking out to the mountains with excellent facilities and superb food
You could also start a trek into the mountains directly from the resort with various levels of difficulty or just enjoy the resort grounds and laze around the pool - just great

Room tip: mountain view rooms
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georges_Romarin, General Manager at Champagne Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Mike

We are fortunate to be located on the mountain inside of the World Heritage Site. As you point out, the mountain starts where our property ends. So glad you got to do a little walking.

Thank you for staying at Champagne Castle Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2016

The location is wonderful, surrounded by the peaks of the Drakensberg. The room was clean and spacious, the hotel facilities are very good and the buffet food in the restaurant excellent. My wife has a food intolerance which can sometimes cause problems with buffet food, but we informed the restaurant manager and the chef and they ensured that there was some suitable food each night for her.
The only criticism was the reception staff who were somewhat off-hand and not very friendly.

Room tip: Specify a mountain view!
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne28_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georges_Romarin, General Manager at Champagne Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Lynne28_11

Chef does work hard to ensure that all of our guests are accommodated when it comes to meals at Champagne Castle Hotel. As long as he knows, he'll always do his best.

Your feedback has been discussed at our daily management team meeting, and will be followed up.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews