We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the worst apartments I had the mis-fortune to stay in...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartamentos Guacimeta Lanzarote
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“By far the worst apartments I had the mis-fortune to stay in...”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here in March this year with the expectation the apartments were clean,fresh and well maintained..... Crikey,how wrong we were. They were dirty and in need of repair.

The restaurant and I use that term very loosely was more like a truck stop cafe. I realise the apartments have a 2 star rating , however being clean and habitable should be a basic requirement.

We travel to various parts of Spain at least 4 times a year and we have without doubt concluded these apartments were just awful.Wouldn't advise staying here. Worth paying a few pounds more to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harvey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    174
    83
    36
    39
See reviews for
104
267
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eath
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Hi stayed here on the 4th April - 11th April We got dropped offf and went to the reception a very nice person welcome us gave remote for tv (free) an took us to our room we stayed in number 17 top floor nice clean room we had coffee machine,toaster,kettle,microwave, (Which we have not had when stayed at other sc places) nice size room etc the beds were hard but we did not mind that slept like a log quiet in the nights. Nice an sunny on out balcony, Appartments not far from beach 5min an shops etc,Only bad points were the swimming pool was really cold not heated and the hot water ran out if you have one shower after another,Towels and bed done 5 out of 7 days we stayed.
Very cheap to eat out(dont pay extra for half board)hotel does a great bbq on sat all you can eat chops,steak,sausages,ribs,chicken,salad bar all for only 10 euros, python bar two meals for only £10 euro nice food an big size only 1.50 euro pint 2 euro spirit+mixer, la brisa does a lovely breakfast for only £2.95 euro each, everyone nice in the bars etc in the commericial centre very cheap to buy food and drink in spar only fruit an veg was pricey i suppose cause it comes from mainland, You are not far from airport recommend walk down and see the planes fly over so close feels and looks like you can touch them flying over you,Some nice trips and places to see a really nice place to stay would recommend to anyone and when we do go back we will stay here again ,

Room Tip: top floor best as you get the sunshine and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here at the end of March and had a lovely time. the apartment was very clean and had all you needed for self catering. The grounds were well kept and there was always sunbeds available. Wouldn't hesitate to go back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at these appartments from 18 March-1 April.Where to start?
Firstly.... To Adel. Sorry We could not say GoodBye, but you were on a day off on the Sunday We left. You are an amazing member of staff. Being able to understand 5 different languages ( including the accents from the Scottish ,Welsh, Irish and all the others from all over England).

Appartments.
All you need for a s/c holiday. Came with kettle, coffee maker, toaster, fridge and microwave. We were in 53. Fantastic views of the complex and sea from the front and good views of the hills to the rear.

Complex.
Good disabled access to all areas. Grounds were kept as clean as possible. Felt sorry for the gardener. He did a fantastic job keeping the areas clean from debris and then the wind would blow a few leaves onto the bit he had just done. Pool area was hosed several times during our stay and kept very clean and tidy. If you want to lay on the sunbed all day long, then they can get uncomfortable.
There is a shop next to Reception. Not a great selection of food, but with the shops only a few minutes away, it is really for essentials like bread and water . Stocked water, bread rolls and a few other bits and bobs. In Reception there is a large selection of books and a coin op internet comp.
Watch out for the ginger tom. He is very friendly and VERY loud
Restautant/bar.

A very good selection of breakfast. Either Full English or a continental was available. Lunch and dinner is from a set menu, but if you ask for something different, then they will try to please. Somebody wanted egg and chips for an evening meal and they supplied. Great service.

Staff.

Ramon. Brilliant man. So very helpful in what ever way he could be and not afraid to get his hands dirty.He greeted everyone as an old friend, with a smile or a wave.

Adel

What to say about this man. He is chef, barman, cleaner, pool attandant and many other things 10 out of 10.

All the other staff were fantastic, Sorry but did not get your names.

Our cleaner, The young girl with the ponytail, worked so hard and always with a smile. The rooms were cleaned almost everyday if not everyday. Bedding was changed every other day along with towels. Floor either swept or mopped everytime she came in. Even cleaned the outside of the balcony,the tiles the otherside of the glass, and mopped the stairs on her way down.

Overall

A fantastic complex with great staff. Very quiet, very clean.
Would we stay again?

WITHOUT A DOUBT
12 PUT OF 10 FOR THE WHOLE PLACE
WELL DONE EVERYBODY

Steve and Mary

Room Tip: If you do not like your room, then ask to be changed. If possible, they will change it for you. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank recoverydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were there 6 days, till 2nd of april 2012
I got my holidays via Gem holidays UK.
We had arranged transport from the airport, they were on time and very comfortable but you can take a taxi and it will cost you just 8-10 Euro each way.
Guacimeta apartments are clean, very comfy and in quiet location. There are 2 beds inside the bedroom.
4 minutes walk from the Strip (Promenade) There is a small supermarket and restaurant in the Guacimeta.
Internet cost 1 euro for 15 minutes on their computer or free wifi close to the reception.
I found the internet connection very slow but being spoiled by BT fast one at home maybe.
We didn't mind to be close to the airport. You can't hear any noise. We walked to landing strip to watch the plains.:) They are literally landing 20 meters above your head, like in St Martin.
Cleaning ladies come every second day to change the towels and bedding. There are extra blankets in the wardrobe in case you are cold.
There is a TV in the room with 4 english channels, german and some spanish. I heard you need to pay for watching but we didn't..Maybe it's free now. Balcony is good size with table, chairs and place to hang your wash. We stay on the first floor by the front gate. Lower ground apartaments have less sunshine.
There is a safe box in the room, it cost 15 Euro for a week but we didn't have it. It's safe place anyway.
Two swimming pools, Smaller 1.20 meter for kids and larger 1.50m up to 2.30 m for adults. Water was bit cold at first.
Plenty of sun beds. Some in shades, some in full sunshine. You can move them around.
The restaurant in Guacimeta serves great food. Don't miss the BBQ on saturday, eat all you can for 10 Euros.
There is a ferral ginger cat, be carefull, if you let him in once...he will be back next morning 8am for breakfast lol We did.
We had self catering. And it was a good idea. Spar supermarket and Maxcoop is just 3 minute walk away in the Shopping centre. ( second street right and look to your left behing the car park) There are a lot of English and Irish bars and restaurants. And a Sportbar with all football games on big screens.
Wine at the shop cost from 1 euro (box) cigarettes around 1 euro 20 cents, cheap.
Fuel cost around 1 Euro, they have no tax on fuel, cigarettes and alcohol. 5% tax on food.
Eating out around 10 euro per person. I recommend Chines at the shopping centre, meal deal for 6.50 Euro or eat from main menu plus free bottle of wine. Great value and so yummie!
Laundry servis is just above the Maxcoop supermarket, on the first floor.
Don't forget to take sandals, the sand on the beach was to hot to walk on with barefoot. :)
We walked to Puerto del Carmen but if you decide to take a bus it's 1.20 one way from Matagorda and Puerto del Carmen.
The bus stop is behind the Guacimeta but there is no shortcut, got to take a walking path close to Shopping centre and Palm park.
I recommend trip to Timanfaya National Park. It's worth to take the Grand tour for 45 euro, they will show you all Lanzarote, volcanos, highest peak and caves with albino crabs, incl 3 meal dinner at the restaurant and wine tasting. Fantastic. You won't be able to explore all Timanfaya park if you rent a car because some parts of the park are closed to private cars. Only busses...:( Rancho texas is another great atraction if you are travelling with kids. It's a zoo and aqua park, worth going to watch parrots show, seals and white tigers. The trips details are at the reception desk. There is a lot of things to do.
Renting a car is around 14-20 euro a day. Fuel price is as mineral water in UK.
Renting a bike is around 10 euro a day, you need to give them some ID with photo.
Mornings on Lanzarote are weird and bit cloudy but there is no rain at all. It's getting really hot around 11am and stays hot till the late afternoon. Evenings are bit chilly and you need to take a light jacket or a hoodie if you are travelling in april.
If you like to sleep in the dark Guacimeta apartments have very heavy curtains, no light gets into your room. There is a stove, toster, coffee machine, kettle, fridge, all cuttery you need, glasses for every drink, wine and vodka drink glasses, shots glasses, etc, plates, mugs, coffee mugs,cooking pans, frying pan, all is there. Incl kitchen cloth. Even salt box in case you need one.
Enjoy your holidays! We had a great time! And we will be back for 100%.

Room Tip: We stay at number 1, with balcony just by the front gate. It was a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AnnaKowalska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

we stayed here from the 21st-28th March, it was fantastic, the rooms were nice and clean(try for a room with a balcony) the apartment grounds are spotless, the gardner goes around every day tidying and takes pride in his work! 5 minutes from the airport by transfer, the staff were amazing and so helpful. Food in the bar was very good and a reasonable price. Breakfast was very good with full english, tea/coffee, juice and toast only 5 euros and an all you eat bbq on Saturday nights for only 10 euros. the beach was only 5 minutes walk and a shopping center full off bars, restaurants and shops catering for all tastes. Planning a return next year if not sooner.

Room Tip: try for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hempknight712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here from 5-12 March and we had a great time. The apartments were spotlessly clean with a really good, powerful shower. It was really close to the airport to the point that you could smell the jet fuel from the planes but this didn't bother us at all, neither did the noise. The complex is lovely and peaceful and just a short walk to the commerical centre with supermarket, restaurants etc. We ate at the bbq on-site on the Saturday evening which was great for 10euros all you can eat but my advice would be to get there early as the restaurant itself was quite small and a lot of people were waiting for a table! Walked to Puerto del Carmen one evening (took about 1 hour) and glad that we were in Matagorda as PDC was a bit too touristy for us with people harrassing you to eat in their restaurants etc. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elmowarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
5.6 km away
Blue Sea Los Fiscos
Blue Sea Los Fiscos
#79 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,820 reviews
13.5 km away
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
#36 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,870 reviews
5.3 km away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#75 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach
#37 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,694 reviews
20.6 km away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,281 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Floresta
Hotel Floresta
#18 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Guacimeta Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Guacimeta Lanzarote

Property: Apartamentos Guacimeta Lanzarote
Address: Calle Junco 3, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Guacimeta Lanzarote 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Guacimeta Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Guacimeta Lanzarote Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos Guacimeta Lanzarote Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing