We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely villa but...”

Review of Villa Frances

Villa Frances exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Frances exterior
exterior 2 The master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Villa Frances exterior
exterior 2
The master bedroom
Longe 2
Lounge with all mod-cons
One of the two-bed bedrooms
The heated pool at night
Balcony with sea views
private parking under the covered car port
Fountain
well kept garden, BBQ and pool area
Lanzarote map
Sea views from the balcony
BBQ area for al fresco dining
Old Harbour nearby - great fishing!
Just 2 minutes walk to the beautiful main beach!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jessica K
Cinderford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely villa but...”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Myself, my partner and our friends stayed here from 20th June - 4th July 2013. The villa had more than enough space for the 4 of us and the pool was great - spent many evenings in there! Couldn't really fault the villa or it's location but there were little things that affected our stay. Thankfully, Lynne and her husband were always on hand to help and were so friendly - she even took us to the airport on our last day! Whilst in the villa the electrics seemed very dodgy as a lightbulb or 2 would blow near enough every day. Then the fridge/freezer packed up so Lynne brought her spare one for us to use as the shops weren't open at the time. We understand that things like that happen so it didn't bother us as we had help on hand. However, the only negative thing I can say about our stay was that we paid £25 a week (£50 in total) for the villa's wifi so we could keep in touch with home (my parents were also away and we had house-sitters). The wifi worked for all of 2 days and then decided to not work anymore. Both of the guys in our friend group either work in or have qualifications in IT so it wasn't initially a problem but whatever they tried they could not get the router to work. We asked Lynne and she contacted Frances on many occasions to ask if she could suggest what to do to sort it out and if it was anything her end but nothing came of it. Thankfully we could contact home using wifi in some local bars but we paid £50 for a service that we did not receive during our 2 week stay and despite Lynne telling us that Frances knew about it, we were never refunded, apologised to, contacted or even acknowledged on our return which was really disappointing.

Apart from the wifi fiasco, we did really enjoy our stay at the villa - I just hope the wifi works now for those who pay for it!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The pool/garden and balcony
Liked least: The lack of wifi we paid for!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Villa - Great Location”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Stayed for 7 nights and would definitely return. Good quiet location within easy walk to the beach, bars and restaurants.
Very nice villa , very clean and well maintained with all the required facilities. Good pool. Lynn who manages the villa was very attentive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villa”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Frances is a fantastic villa. We travelled with 2 children (aged 12 & 7). I would say villa is better than photos show. The pool is bigger than we imagined from photo. So much space inside and out. 3 supermarkets close by. Few minutes walk to beach (longer in the heatwave we experienced whilst staying!!). Quiet location but close enough to beach/shops/restaurants. Ceiling fans in bedrooms very much welcome. All the villa needs now is a guest book advising how things work in the villa e.g. the oven, restaurant recommendations that guests can leave etc. which we have had in previous holiday places. Had a lovely little welcome pack on arrival - water, tea, coffee, juice - especially as we arrived in the evening. Lynne was very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside pool area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris f
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Going back next year”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed here in july for 10 nights, First time we have done a villa holiday and sorry we didn,t do 14 nights, Villa had loads of room , Pool was brill, Everything you need inside and out, Close to everything, short stroll to beach,bars,shops etc..airport 17 euros away. Owner frances was great and we had no problems at all ,Special thanks to Lynn and Terry who look after the villa it was spotless and went out of there way for us thamks,,,Going back next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everythig about villa
Liked least: very hilly
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyinHa...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house in quiet neighbourhood”
Reviewed 18 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time here with our 2 children (8 and 4 years old). The garden is just lovely; peaceful with sun and shade, a BBQ and of course the pool.
The house is well-appointed, with comfortable beds and plenty of space. The terrace overlooking the garden has a lovely sea view with the mountains in the distance.
We didn't spend much time inside but the living room is nice and comfortable.

The beach is a short walk away - we managed fine without a car, only hiring one for a couple of day trips.

The only thing that could be improved on is the kitchen; it's a lovely open-plan kitchen with extras like a sandwich maker, but the bluntest knives I ever came across and hardly any wine glasses. Also I was surprised that there were no cloths or anything with which to wipe down surfaces, no dishwasher tabs, and no bottled water as a courtesy on arrival. These are however small details and certainly didn't affect our wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the peace and quiet
Liked least: The kitchen equipment
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2013
Many thanks for your kind words about my Villa. I will definitely sort out the problem of
blunt knives and ask Management to supply water for guests in future.

It makes me feel very satisfied to know that my guests have enjoyed their stay at the Villa.

Best wishes
Frances
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey87...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

The booking process and initial correspondence with the owner of this property was great - quick responses and plenty of information.
The location of the villa is excellent, 10 mins from the airport and a 5 min walk to the beach front, shops, bars and restaurants.
Unfortunately these are the only positive comments I can make regarding our stay.

We arrived Sunday 20th January & noticed that the villa next door had a lot of construction materials around the pool area; our suspicions were confirmed the next day when builders arrived to work on the renovation of the property.
Mon - Fri we were woken to the sound of power tools eg drilling & grinding and the radio on full blast, not quite the relaxing break we had anticipated.
Inside the villa with all the windows and doors closed it was very loud so as you can imagine it was practically impossible to make much use of the pool area despite the fact we had paid an additional £25 to heat the pool.
In addition to this great plumes of dust were blowing over the wall, creating the feeling of sunbathing on a construction site.
During discussions with the workmen we established that the works had not commenced the week we had arrived but had been ongoing for some time.
At no point during the booking process or during the weeks before our holiday were we informed that substantial building works were in progress.

We returned from Villa Frances Sunday 27th January and the following day I emailed the owner detailing the above concerns and asked why she had not informed us of the works next door; I am yet to receive a reply.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Building Work
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2013
I would like to mention with regard to my guests comments relating to building work. I was totally unaware that work was to be carried out next door. I have had hundreds of very satisfied guests over the last 20 years and my management have been praised over and over again in our visitors book.
Frances
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing to complain about
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jun 2013
Wow! What a wonderful recommendation from my guests. It is a great pleasure to receive such a wonderful positive review.

Thank you, kind returning guests. Look forward to your next stay.

Best wishes
Frances
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$130
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing