We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review from October 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LABRANDA Playa Club
Ranked #23 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2012

15 October 2011
Just back from 2 weeks in Playa Club and would stay there again in the future without hesitation. I can imagine it would be very busy during the peak season (as would all resorts) but at this time of year, it wasn't completely full so there were plenty of sun loungers every day. Someone goes around every night tidying them up and closing the umbrellas so they are all arranged again in the morning. The complex is set in two parts, Pool area and Garden area. Pool area is closer to the reception which is the only place to enter/exit the complex. It is possible to access a shop from the side of the complex but only with a key card. Very handy instead of going out through reception and onto the strip to drag the bottles of water back. I didn’t find the shop very expensive…..only if you go from all the brands from home. It was open from 8am to 10pm. Taxi costs was approx €15 from the airport and you don’t really need to get a taxi anywhere else if you are staying in the area. It is an easy walk to the beach, directly across the road from the casino and surrounded by restaurants. The complexes own restaurant next to it, El Palmero, offers a 10% discount for guests. Most restaurants in the area offer a take away service. It is possible to cook in the apartment (non-superior) as you have an oven, 2-ring hob and toaster. There is no microwave but enough cooking utensils to get by. Unfortunately there is no washer/dryer facilities onsite but each apartment has a clothes dryer on the balcony. Over the 2 weeks, I think I saw a total of 3 cats. They did not bother me once (and I am not a cat person). There are signs up asking people not to feed the cats. Not once did a cat come up to someone. In fact it was the opposite; they tend to run away as you come close to them. Only issue was that they were a couple of cat fights at night which were a bit annoying but not a major disturbance. Our 2 bed apartment was very spacious. Both rooms have twin beds and loads of storage space with plenty of hangers. There were extra blankets which we did not need. The cleaner seemed to appear everyday: made the beds, brushed and mopped the floors and changed the towels. I can’t wait to go back to Plays Club.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 81dac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

thankyou so much to all the staff at the playa club apartments for an excellent holiday.We stayed at los pocolos last Febuary all inclusive which was a nightmare,food etc was terrible,we decided to go self catering this year and found the apartments were really nice,basic but very clean and our towels were lovely and soft plus very white not gray as someone else stated.The staff were brilliant especially androis and miguel.We have already booked for next year and can't wait to get back.We found some really good restaurents to eat at and one in particular we would recommend is friends bar,fab food and staff are lovely.def recommend these apartments as price is brill also location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank olcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Best holiday in a long time. Service was fantastic, arrived at playa club late evening and were quicly checked in to our pool view room as requestedbut at no extra cost. Left baggage in taxi we booked through a private transfer and the hotel swiftly got i n touh with the company and we recieved our bags the next day. Nothin was too much to ask.

Positives -
- fully equipped kitchen (2 ring hob, toaster, kettle, fridge and all cutlery need) Others apartments also had microwave and oven. No problem as we ate out everynight and only ate at apartment for breakfast and lunch. Even had frying pan for bacon sandwiches!

- apartment was huge, living area, kitchen with breakfast bar, bathroom with bath and shower and hairdryer. Large double bedroom with large wardrobes, shelves and dressing table. Terrace with table and chairs or balcony for those apartments on second floor. No air con but you can hire a fan but i would reconmmend buying one for 10euro from the local shops, lanzarote cools at night so it i not hot and sometimes we needed an extra blanket. T.V which you had to pay 2euro deposit to hire remote bu you got this back at end of hotel once remote returned, 3 english channels.
.
-service was fantastic. Nothing was too much to ask. Maid service 5 times a week, new towels, beds changed, floors mopped, extra toilet roll. Cleaners were lovely and if asked not to be disturbed (late night, lie in needed) they came back at a more convinent time for you
-pool area, large adult pool and a childs pool, snack bar with drinks, ice creams and a pool table, plenty of sunbeds. Also if people left towels on bed early in morning, cleaners took them off as you are not allowed to do this which was good!

-location was the best of all. Right in the centre of lanzarote but away from any noise. Did not have a disrupted sleep once. No hills to climb and 2 min walk to the beach and strip with plenty of bars and restaurants. I recommend the cantina and la canada. All restaurants are reasonably priced. There is a shop at the front and back of the hotel where you can get fresh bread in morning. I recomend walking to the spar ten minutes away if self catering and doing a bigger hop as really good value for money. Large bottle of sangria for 2.5 euros and very tasty. Don buy duty free at airport as cheaper to buy alcohol and cigs and perfume in lanzarote from the shops on strip, just shop around.

Overall, i would strongly recommend puerto del carmen and this hotel. Beaches are beautiful white sandy beaches and i would recommend a trip to costa teguise, only 2.5 euro on the bus, well worth a visit. Ignore any bad reviews, i could not fault this hotel and will definetly be back

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lh_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just returned from Playa Club, Lanzarote. Loved this Apartment Complex. Very Clean. We were upgraded to a Superior room at no extra charge. (Thank You, Much Appreciated). Hotel Staff friendly and complex kept very clean. Saw a few cats but no problem as we are cat lovers. Location is excellent, near to the casino and restrauants and beach No Hills to Climb!!! Eating Out very reasonable. Breakfasts for two in the Resort costs around 5.00 euros for english breakfast tea or coffee juice. As a frequent traveller to Lanzarote would highly recommend and would have no hesitation in staying here again. Many thanks Playa Club for a lovely stay!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UTD4EVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

just back from playa club apts were clean and tidy good value for money excellent location staff friendly

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed here a week in January, we were given apartment 135 which is opposite the garden area on the ground floor. Overall we were really pleased with our stay and the accommodation. The kitchen is equipped with a kettle, toaster and coffee maker, and the bathroom had a hairdryer. It was very clean. We didn’t see any creepy crawlies all week and believe me after some of the reviews I was paranoid and looking all the time. The apartment was nicely decorated and furnished, even looked quite modern. We didn’t get the remote but did use the safe deposit. We didn’t have a problem with noise.
Found reception to be really helpful, our request for extra blankets was completed before we returned for the day. Didn’t use the bar, but did have one breakfast at the adjourning restaurant no issues.
We went with Thomas Cook but booked our trips to the market and to the Volcan grill (highly recommend) with Last Minute lots of outlets on the strip. We got the local bus to Playa Blanca and Arrecife.
Playa Club is in a great location easy walking distance to everything. There are loads of different restaurants to choose from we walked to the old town and ate at Blooming Cactus and Emma’s Mexican Cantina. Although we enjoyed the one that over looked the port the most. ( can’t remember the name but second one in with the pink table cloths). If you turn left on the strip we ate at buffalo grill and the Italian tarrotria also very good.
Would happily recommend the Play Club.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MarinersTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Loved this hotel! Perfect location, lovely clean rooms, nice pool. The only thing I would say is that there is no bar with entertainment in the hotel only a tiny pool side bar where you can order food during the day. But it really didn't matter all that much as there was so much to near by. Lovely restaurant in this hotel also

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GalwayAsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 km away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
768 reviews
0.5 km away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
604 reviews
0.3 km away
La Penita Apartments
La Penita Apartments
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,050 reviews
0.4 km away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#40 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
545 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#37 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LABRANDA Playa Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LABRANDA Playa Club

Address: Calle Pedro Barba 3, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $65 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — LABRANDA Playa Club 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LABRANDA Playa Club are just 50 metres away from the sea, and 150 metres from Puerto del Carmen's longest beach called "Playa Grande". This complex has 2 outdoor pools and a supermarket next to the complex seperated by a security door. The centre of Puerto del Carmen is less than 2 km away. The apartment complex has a 24-hour reception. There is also a restaurant serving à la carte menu and a buffet breakfast every day. Each spacious apartment is brightly decorated and has a balcony or terrace. There is a living area with satellite TV, a kitchenette and breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your LABRANDA Playa Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Club Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Playa Club Lanzarote
Playa Resort Puerto Del Carmen
LABRANDA Playa Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing