We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awful, horrid, grubby little hotel, possibly the worst (certainly the coldest) I have ever encountered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bureau La Cigaliere
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Le Beausset
Reviewed 27 May 2016

My colleague and I booked into this "hotel" at the recommendation of the tourist information office in Le Castellet.

We checked in at 17:45 on January 17th. The rooms were freezing -- the owner had been away on a skiing trip for two weeks and had only just returned. Thus, the heat had been off for two weeks, and the walls and floors and everything else were cold through and through. The ambient temperature was about 5 degrees, therefore the temperature of the rooms and all of the fittings was also 5 degrees (but the owner's own accommodations were fine since he locates himself in the main house, which is totally separate from the guest building ... lucky him). Even if the rooms had been warm you need to be prepared for the fact that everything else about the rooms is just nasty and cheap.

The owner turned the heat on shortly before our arrival, but after two hours we were still very cold in our rooms even though we still had our winter jackets on. Our toes and fingers were cold and we clearly had to leave.

We informed owner that we would have to find a hotel with warm rooms. He said we should go for dinner and give him another couple of hours to warm up our rooms with extra electric fan heaters. We declined since we had to start work early the next morning and couldn’t take the risk of trying sleep in ice cold rooms.

Knowing that the rooms had been unheated for 2 weeks and were therefore as cold as they were he should never have accepted our reservations. Yet the owner wouldn’t refund our money -- he said if we had paid cash he would have given us the cash back, but because we paid by VISA he was unable to process a refund (I asked VISA about this and they told me it's an out and out lie).

We left his hotel and checked into the Holiday Inn Express in Toulon which was very comfortable indeed, and which I highly recommend.

He did not provide the service for which he was paid (i.e., we had an expectation of comfortable, warm hotel rooms) and our money should have been refunded, but he refused to do so. He wouldn't even refund the 20 Euros that we paid for breakfast the next morning, and which his wife didn't have to provide.

I attempted to recover the room charge from VISA -- but be warned, just because the rooms were awful and essentially uninhabitable, VISA will not return the money to you.

I cannot recommend this hotel based upon our experiences and I would classify the owner as an extremely mean spirited individual.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the Holiday Inn Express in Toulon instead! -- the rooms were great and the staff we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPN63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2015

Beautiful garden / pinède with fab swimming pool. I enjoyed the airy, spacious breakfast room. The breakfast was plentiful (tasty homemade pomme kiwi confiture). Nice touch was the small tabled train track in the reception - our 6-year old son played with it every morning after breakfast. The room was satisfactory - cleaned and tidied every day. The owners and staff were lovely. As we were visiting friends and family in the area (Le Plan du Castellet, Toulon) and the attractions (Circuit Pierre Ricard, island of Porquerolles) I'm afraid we haven't had much time to spend at the hotel which offered more than enough to keep one occupied (petanque is so catchy!) definitely La prochaine fois !

Stayed: July 2015
Thank JaroslavaLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2014

I could forgive the rattling air conditioner, the stake old white (grey) towels, the cheapest of cheap single ply toilet and all in one soap body wash shampoo sachet, the signs everywhere telling you what you are not to do, the tired dated furnishings, the refusal to open a bottle of wine insisting wine had to be bought from their overpriced display in reception ...... if the owners had have been good friendly people. However, this was defiantly not the case. I was made to feel like walking Euros.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ftgyhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Surprising little gem. Host Olivier was charming; so helpful and helpful. We dint speak great French (we do try!) and yet he certainly didn't make us feel bad; even though we can, as British people, arrogantly expect everyone to speak English!

The room was very clean and kept so for our three night stay. The a/c was very efficient.

The location was beautiful. You do need a car but that said there is so much to do in the vicinity, along the beautiful Côte d'Azur it's really nice to have the peaceful setting to return to, in the cool of the pine forest (smells divine!) after the heat of the coast.

It is handy for the Paul Ricard Circuit and the pleasures of the Le Castellet area.

We will return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A great place to stay near Bandol and the coast but you must have a car. It's more like a motel - the rooms are arranged a bit like a stable block on the terraces looking down on the old Mas. But they really work, simple, clean, cool and very comfortable. Not luxury but not rustic either. The pool is well maintained and breakfast buffet is excellent. There is no restaurant so you have to go out to eat (Le Beausset doesn't have a lot of choice) but if you want somewhere as a base for motor racing at Paul Ricard circuit or touring, it's perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izzy180046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Lovely place in the middle of a pine forest. Very quiet. All facilities (pool, tennis...). Room are spacious and well equiped with AC.
Very good service always with a smile.
5 minutes from le Beausset by car

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian06000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night. The room was clean and with enough space for the 5 of us. It is nothing special but does the job. The owner is a nice person and the place is well run. Swimming pool is nice and clean. Price is reasonable. They have free wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgrici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Beausset
5.8 km away
Grand Prix Hotel
Grand Prix Hotel
#2 of 2 in Le Castellet
317 reviews
1.8 km away
La Cauquiere
La Cauquiere
#1 of 2 in Le Beausset
42 reviews
4.9 km away
Hostellerie Berard
Hostellerie Berard
#1 of 1 in La Cadiere d'Azur
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hotel & Spa du Castellet
Hotel & Spa du Castellet
#1 of 2 in Le Castellet
413 reviews
10.7 km away
B&B Hotel Toulon Ollioules
B&B Hotel Toulon Ollioules
#2 of 2 in Ollioules
65 reviews
9.1 km away
Dolce Fregate Provence
Dolce Fregate Provence
#1 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bureau La Cigaliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bureau La Cigaliere

Address: 537 Chemin de la Pierre Mouraou, 83330 Le Beausset, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Le Beausset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Le Beausset
Price Range: $81 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bureau La Cigaliere 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bureau La Cigaliere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing