We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,732)
Filter reviews
3,732 results
Traveller rating
1,407
1,401
631
188
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,407
1,401
631
188
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areahalf boardsea viewlovely hotelplenty of sunbedsper daypiano barevening mealplenty of choicesea frontgreat holidaymister sisterthomson rephigh floorbuilding workreception staffemailed the hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2,533 - 2,538 of 3,732 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Couple with 14yr old daughter. Back from 2 weeks holiday at the Guayarmina. We found all the staff friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was clean and nicely furnished. Bathroom with shower over bath - again very clean. Food in the restaurant at breakfast and dinner was buffet style. The variety is fabulous with absolutely something for everyone. There are planned activites through the day - display board in reception. Archery, shooting, water polo, darts, pool, etc. Some you have to be over 16yr to play. Pool areas are clean and lifeguards on duty each day. Evening entertainment at the hotel is o.k.and drinks are not the cheapest but there are some nice areas to sit and socialise. There are plenty of bars literally a couple of minutes walk from the hotel that serve cheaper drinks and have karaoke, comedy, singing - depends what you like doing. Took a bus to Los Christanos (about £6 in all) went to market and had a mooch round for most of the day - simple to do and much cheaper than a Thompson trip. Walked in to Las Americas and got taxi back ( £7) one evening, Great shopping in Playa del Duque. Wherever you go YOU WILL get pestered by the guys selling sunglasses, women doing hair braiding and touts asking you to eat/drink in their bars but they are very polite with it. The beach is literally on the doorstep as are shops, bars, restaurants and bus stops. Would not hesitate to rebook for another holiday here !!!!

Room Tip: We've only had rooms on floor 1 (e.g 1020) which is floor above reception. There are higher floors and floors below aswell - both have mixed reviews.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank walter1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I went in august with my mum I'm 13 . When I saw the hotel it was massive and looked amazing even. Before I entered it .when we spoje to reception to check in they were really helpfull and quick and had shown us and told us everything you need to know . When we went up to the room it was really clean and modern the balcony had a sea view the only Thing was that you could hear the fans from the other hotel next to it . My mum went down to reception to ask of maybe we could have a different room .they said yes but we would have to wait another day but that was ok this was at 12pm at night ..once we went up to the room we decided too look around the hotel even tho it was 12 at night ! The bar was still open so we had a drink and relax .the other thing was that the rooms don't have tea or coffe facilities so you can't have a cuppa when you want .I Think you can hire them out from the rep , we hired a fridge (you should do this too) we got good use out of it . Your not allowed to smoke on the balcony either but my mum brought a ash tray from downstairs and smoked the chambermaids dont really care . The next morning we went to the welcolm meeting ..go to it its really good ... We met the reps who were nice and helpful and told us the places were we could go ..we went to the waterpark Siam park .it was amazing !! And the freebird boat ! That was epic I sat on the edge of the boat and watched all the pilot whales swim past it was a amazing experience then you can jump of and snorkel.
There's shops and pubs everywhere all over the place so you won't be stuck .theres an english pub just below the hotel that has entertainment we watched a drag act and it was halirious and the drinks were 1.50 for a large pint and cocktails were really cheap .don't go to the beach bars the drinks are rip offs but if you can affored 8.00 cocktails go ahead ..there a designer shops in los cristianos but its quite expensive.the purfum shops are quite cheap but there's a really cheap one to the left of the entrence of the hotel down the road (perfums.com) the food in the hotel was amazing
Everything you could imagine was there and the deserts were the best part you have to pay for drinks on the evening but we put them onto our room tab ..the drinks in the morning are free they have coffe .tea orange etc ....the bars outside are amazing the one in the corner is lovely you can watch the sunset and drink Cocktails ,slushes ,coffe or anything...the one near the pool wad nice you
Can get ice cream and milkshakes there..oh lots of the reviews say about slippery floor .its a little slippery but theve put mats down around the pool and this man walks around drying the pool
If you have kids who wanna play video games all day there's a room room near the pool with x boxes and massage chairs pool tables etc..
Over all this hotel had been amazing and we are gonna defo go back one last thing . If you have a lysé going home flight do late check out its worth it
Hope this info had been helpfull xxx !

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pinacoladaellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is Great, rooms and communal areas are clean. The food was brilliant, we stayed on a half board basis and breakfast & evening meal had a good selection. Breakfast had a choice of continental and cooked. Evening meal had plenty of salads, fish and red meat. Entertainment was ok, there was something for everyone each night. Pool area was clean. Hotel is a short distance from the beach. The area where the hotel is located is good, use the supermarket (Hyperdino) across the road from the perfumery, as it's much cheaper than the one by the hotel. Thompsons (Babs) did a good welcome meeting, no pressure just an info session only. Overall enjoyed my stay & would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teithiwrjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just returned from our 2nd stay at the Guayarmina, the room we had on the 4th floor had the same decor as 3 yrs ago. Even though in other reviews it stated that all the rooms had been updated. Perhaps as well as decorating & refurbishing the piano bar, reception and the seating area outside the Princess Bar the rooms could have been revamped first. These areas that have been redecorated have obviously been done to impress people as they 1st walk in to the hotel. I would hardly call a hotel 4* that has an enourmous stain on the base of the bed underneath the mattress as my bed did. The food for dinner is repetative which hotel serves Pizza for 14 nights on the run and yes it was served again for breakfast the next morning, obviously left over from the night before and warmed up on the hot plate. The hotel has a great sun terrace for Adults only, nice & peaceful & relaxing, & you can get a sunbed on the terrace at anytime of day no getting up at the crack of dawn to put a towel down!!!!

The Thomson Reps Babs Lee & Kelly are excellent very friendly and extremely helpful. We did a trip to Siam Park a great day out for all the family and also a trip to Loro Park again another great day out. We booked out trips through Thomson yes the probably are dearer than booking on the street, but only one pick up on the coach & then it was straight to Loro Park. My sister who was on holiday in Tenerife at the same time as me booked her Loro Park trip on the street and her coach went all round the houses before getting to Loro, and then she felt rushed going round the Park for the 4.30pm coach return. The hotel shows are very much the same too many acrobat acts and tribute bands. The best shows that we saw were the Bejing Acrobats and the Bollywood dance show alot of the other shows we did not bother with and went out for walks each evening. Be prepared to be pestered by people wanting you to buy sunglasses and other tacky goods. We only did one visit to the beach as the cost of two sunbeds and a parasol is 15 euros, & all the time we were trying to relax we were constantly pestered did we want a massage, to buy sunglasses, doughnuts & fresh fruit it does become very annoying after a while. There are notices attached to the Parasols advising people not to buy the food goods on the beach as they are not upto health standards, but this does not stop pests asking you to buy them they are relentless.

Would definately visit Tenerife again but will not be making it a 3rd visit to the Guayarmina.

Room Tip: As I had previously stayed at this hotel, I emailed the hotel three weeks before stay & requested a room on the 4th floor and I got what I wanted. The rooms on the higher floors have much better views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mancunian47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Been here a few times before and food is excellent but rooms tend to be rapidly ' cleaned' and floor is often not sweot properly and a layer of dirt left after mopping. One one rwcent occasion I timed the housemaid and she 'cleaned' and tidied the room in less than 3 minutes ! Also of you have booked through TUI you will be invited to a " welcome" meeting on the morning after your arrival. This consists of a sustained presentation by the TUi team which is geared toward selling you local excusions with the emphasis being on buying A.S.A.P No mention is made of the fact that the same excursions can be bought at outlets very nearby at a much lesser cost. Little info about the hotel itself is offered. Also beware if u have bought Tui travel insurance (AXA) and become ill and need a Doctor. It will cost you 80 Euro for a 2 minute consultation and medication is extra- the insurance doesnt cover you for the first £100 of emergency medical treatment, so you pay for relatively worthless insurance cover and still have to pay for the first £100 of treatment / meds. Big rip off

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carnliath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews