We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy but nice site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dol-de-Bretagne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We're just back from Domaines Des Ormes....the park was lovely, a few quibbles like the main road running straight through the centre area, this should be pedestrianised. Not enough places to eat on site and no where for breakfast. On the whole there needs to be more refreshment areas for the amount of people on the park. The indoor pool area is a bit tired looking and no where near enough sunbeds at the aqua park. Maybe a site better suited for those with older children.

But overall we had a lovely time, and my kids have asked to go back again. The fireworks, and the light show on the Chateau walls were fantastic!

We won't go back with Eurocamp, though. The 3 bed Espace was a dump, eventually for what we paid! Toilets didn't flush properly, showers were filthy, main door didn't lock properly, everything seemed grimy, holes and dents in the walls, wallpaper missing, the blinds didn't work properly, and the kitchen cupboards absolutely stank! ... We were very disappointed. We mentioned the state of our van to a rep, whose answer was 'well they are old'....OK, but I don't expect to stay in something old and dated for the money we paid. Seems to me Eurocamp are spending their money on new high end 'vans (ie more expensive) rather than updating their current stock.

Dol is beautiful town, and the cathedral is worth a visit. We ate at a quirky little place on the high street, Bistrot de l'Univers, simple but lovely food, reasonably priced and the service was very friendly.

We also visited St Malo, Dinard and of course Mont St Michel, all highly recommended.

Overall we would visit Les Ormes again, when the kids are older but we'll stay with a more reasonably priced company.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank MrsRoobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

This is our 4th Eurocamp holiday and 2nd visit to Des Ormes (first one was in 2013). We are a family of 2 adults with 3 boys (16, 11 and 7) and stayed there from 19 to 31st August 2017.
We did not use any of the kids clubs but the ones we saw looked ok and the reps seemed to keep the kids entertained! Eurocamp staff were always pleasant and helpful. Our 2 eldest did the go ape style course in the trees (17.50 euros and 13.50 euros in cost), it was worth the money and really hard even for physically fit children, you get 2 goes around, took about 2 hours in total! The youngest did the pony ride twice (10 euros each time) and he loved it. They just give you a pony and point out the route and off you go! Fine for us but one poor lady had a wayward pony and no help! For all parc activities I recommend booking a few days in advance, they were always fully booked on the day.
We stayed with Eurocamp in a 3 bed caravan. It was very dirty when we arrived, and as others have said, the first thing we did was clean it! It was looking very drab after a season of heavy use, the blackout blinds were all broken and didn't close properly, the shower was filthy with grime, the weeds around the decking were as big as my tall 7 year old! The cupboards were all a bit well used and hanging off the hinges, the plug in the bathroom sink didn't even reach the plug hole and the tops of the taps kept coming off! But it was all fixable as we went along, but we are quite easy going!
We got a walking/running/biking map from reception and it has 3 routes around the parc and to the nearby St Leonard. It also shows the walking route to Dol and Combourg!
The weather was brilliant, the last 3 days was rain on/off but otherwise it was nearly 30 degrees everyday.
The site was huge though, and so much busier than in 2013. We returned to this site as we liked the size of it, location and the walks but it was just too much for us in terms of people. When you try to drive off of the site the roads are just cluttered with people who do not move out of the way of a moving car! People walk along swearing and shouting which is just not nice around young children. We witnessed several very near misses with very young children on bikes, unaccompanied and no helmets, and swerving into the path of passing cars.
We didn't use the bars or entertainment in the evenings but boy was it loud! We were located at one of the furthest points from the entertainment area and we could still hear the karaoke going at 11pm!
We used it as a base to visit near by St Malo, the amazing beaches dotted along the coast and the zoo. We only used the pools twice as they were just too busy to even get in the water at some points, they were dirty on entrance and exit and just too many people and nowhere to put any towels! Hubby and the kids went to the pool when it opened at 10 on one occasion and it was lovely! So get there when it opens!!
The pizza restaurant serves delicious food, pizzas are around 11 euros, kids meal is about 9 euros. Meal for 5 of us was around 70 euros. Staff polite but rushed as it's very busy, we ate at around 6 when it opened and it was fine.
Spar shop had all the daily essentials but we did 2 bigger shops at Super U and Cora to stock up the caravan. We got fresh french sticks from Dol, which is only a few minutes drive as they lasted longer than the spar ones.
There are so many amazing beaches all within a 20 minute drive, the furthest beach we visited was in St Malo and it was a 40 minute drive. The beaches were clean, incredibly quiet and so sandy. We purchased a body board at the local Decathlon for 13 euros and it kept everyone entertained for several beach days! The sea is warm enough for swimming and calm enough for younger children to feel safe in. We took a picnic everyday (and a bottle of wine and glasses for the grown ups!), a fantastic, cheap day out. The zoo and chateau (La Bourbansais) is approx 15-20 mins drive away and cost us 92 euros for 3 adults (over 12 is often adult price in France) and 2 children, we took a picnic so didn't use the cafe there. It was a very hot day so a lot of the animals were far away in the shade, but overall a lovely day out. The birds of prey show is worth a watch.
We wouldn't stay at Des Ormes again, mainly due to how incredibly busy it is now but it is a good large site with lots of facilities. As another reviewer said, it has turned into a Haven park, and I can visit that for a third of the cost!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank N & G Mason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We had camped here 10 years ago when our boys were 10, great camp site with large space plot for our camping set up. This time we returned and the site has moved forward wash and shower areas new and very clean, great selection of activities for all the family from cycling for paint balling, loads to do for young and old. We also love this site as it. Is situated close to Dinan and Mont-Saint-Michel which are must visits. Food and wine great as usual, fresh Pain au Chocolate and bread every morning and the weather was great. The resort has over 5 swimming pools to suit all. Will return, great times.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank legumeschef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

To start with let me get the but out of the way, it had a very large negative impact on our holiday hence the low score. The camp site is large with over 750 caravans, so probably in excess of 3000 people on the site at any given time BUT they only have about 300 sunbeams across all of the pools!!! I kid you not 1 sunbed for every 10 guests. Unless you want to get up and fight the other Brits to put down your towels then like me (and hundreds of others) you will spend your weeks sitting on the floor on your a*&e …. ridiculous given the space available. Another 300 sunbeds and this is a 9/10 holiday park. Be warned, take your own loungers and chairs.

On to the good stuff.

Firstly Eurocamp head office staff are amazing and will always go the extra mile to help you :-).
We stayed with Eurocamp and our home was clean, tidy and well maintained - large tick :-)

The Domaine Des Ormes is very large and spacious with a huge amount of fun activities to keep all children entertained and engaged. Paintball, zip wire, golf, slides, pools, archery, go-ape - the list is endless. Be prepared to spend €6 per child per day for these extra activities but worth every penny. The pools are excellent fun.

The firework show on Friday was spectacular as was their video show. Although the entertainment is a bit late starting at 9 or 10pm.

The site is clean, tidy and well run. Restaurant on site were ok with one selling the usual chicken nuggets, pizza etc. It was ok. For a nicer meal head 10 minutes up the road to Dol De Bretagne, for mussels, galettes.etc A great small town with a choice of local restaurants.

Would i go back??? Maybe with my own sun lounger in tow.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaïs D, Service communication at Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Hello.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your opinion, including your note about the sunbeds. We've noticed it to the team concerned.
Thank you for your review.
All the team wishes you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Two weeks spent in a Eurocamp Aspect lodge. Clean on arrival. Eurocamp Reps friendly and sorted initial niggles quickly.

Pools freezing! Not enough sunbeds. Lots and lots of Brits who hog the beds with towels! Mixed "behaviour" from other campers. We like a quieter holiday and haven't really utilised a lot of the amenities but the rowdy bar just doesn't really appeal. Wifi rubbish even though we paid 55euros to have it on our mobile home.

Zip wire good fun. Weather mostly good but Northern France so expect some rain! Bring a mix of clothing and an umbrella.

We've enjoyed our time here but wouldn't come to this camp again - its just a bit too "much" for us. It's our 5th time with Eurocamp but think we will try "authentic Europe" next time. It's all about personal taste - on a positive note you won't get bored!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gromit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We've just returned from two weeks with 2 children 8 & 10 booked through Al Fresco and had a great holiday. We spent a lot of time in the two outdoor pools and also went to the beach at St Malo and Dinard (both about 35min drive) . Mont St Micheal was also very close and definitly worth a visit. There were lots of activities on the site which did vary in price although we found lots to do without paying. The high wire course was cheaper than Go Ape in the U.K. and good value but the bike hire was very expensive so I would take our own next time. There were good tracks marked out for cycling and running/walking in the woods which we used a lot. We didn't see the drunken teenagers reported elsewhere but didn't really go to the bar area later in the evenings. We would definitely go back to Les Ormes For us it was the perfect mix of being big enough to have water parks and other activities but also have plenty of opportunities for walking through the extensive grounds and feeling we were really getting away from everything.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Catgirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

to start, we are annual French holiday camp travellers but normally visit the vendee region staying in our own tent, this year we decided to try somewhere and something different, so splashed out on a £1,000 per week gites at des ormes. firstly the state of the gite on arrival was shocking, dirty wasn't the word, we had to thoroughly clean it ourselves, going to the local hyper U to buy our own cleaning gear to clean it including the foul toilets, dust webs, cobwebs, broken crockery in the garden, broken glass in what we called the laundry room, this does not seem to be an unlucky one off either as the teneants of the gite next door also had to complain, as so did many others it seems. The gite itself certainly has a very tired feel to it, old furniture, things not working or broken, stained furniture, worn and stained carpets, broken fence panels, etc, not major things in isolation but accumulatively add up to a very tired and run down feel to the gite, with the cleaning issues certainly not £1,000 per week accomadation. The site: certainly many activities going on, but budget for this in your holiday as nothing is free and certainly NOT reasonable as some have said, for example we fancied a game of crazy golf on the shabby little course, just the four of us, me, the wife and 2 kids, £24 was the asking price for this, this I feel is way over even rip off prices but bordering on the downright criminal. Evening time: this is a massive site serviced by one smallish clubhouse, the whole site converges here of an evening and gets very busy, on more than occasion we gave up trying to get served at the bar and went to the onsite spar to buy one instead.At this area you will have the privilege of running across the many gangs of drunken teenagers ( all nationalaties ) who roam the area at night, it can feel very intimidating and my kids refused to go down there on their own. security seem content to just sit back and them do what they want, the only time I saw them leap into action was when one poor lad was being set upon by one of the gangs. I can decide whether the poor state of the gite was lack of standards or lack of attention to detail, but whatever it is evident right across the whole site, rubbish left lying around and not removed, the lakes full of rubbish etc. also got hit by one of the many golf balls that come flying your way when walking alongside the driving range, there is no protection for a large part of this path and this golf ball left extensive bruising on my arm, but the scary bit it passed right in between my two kids, if it had hit either one of them in the head the holiday could have ended very badly. so in summary, the first time we have ever arrived and had to clean our own accomadation, very high prices, unsafe ( in our opinion ) night time area, did we enjoy our holiday ? NO, would we go back ? not bloody likely. Would we recommend ? never in a million years, very poor value for money and our holiday for 2017 been and gone, will be back in the vendee next year, just wish we had gone there this year.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Ian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaïs D, Service communication at Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hello.
We are really sorry about everything, particularly about the cleanliness of your gite. A sincer sorry about that :/
We regret that your stay at Les Ormes haven't lived up to your expectations.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your opinion.
All the team wishes you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dol-de-Bretagne
6.7 km away
Akena City
Akena City
#1 of 5 in Dol-de-Bretagne
226 reviews
9.5 km away
Hotel - Restaurant du Chateau
7 km away
Hotel de Bretagne
Hotel de Bretagne
#3 of 5 in Dol-de-Bretagne
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Hotel de L'Abbaye
Hotel de L'Abbaye
#1 of 2 in Le Tronchet
259 reviews
8.6 km away
Saint-Malo Golf Resort
Saint-Malo Golf Resort
#2 of 2 in Le Tronchet
205 reviews
19.1 km away
Maison Tirel-Guerin
Maison Tirel-Guerin
#1 of 1 in Saint-Meloir-des-Ondes
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort

Address: Les Ormes, 35120, Dol-de-Bretagne, France (Formerly Domaine des Ormes)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Dol-de-Bretagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dol-de-Bretagne
Price Range: $158 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Le Mont Saint-Michel and Saint-Malo, Domaine des Ormes, hotel residence and camping*****, is open all year in a unique 250-hectare nature. For your holidays, with family or friends, Domaine des Ormes offers several types of accommodation: tree houses, water houses, cottage hutte, hotel, apartment, mobile homes or campsite, there is something for all tastes and all budgets. The Domaine des Ormes also offers many activities on site: swimming pools and indoor water park, adventure park, paintball, pedal boats, bicycle rental, fishing and more. Also discover the 18-hole golf course or the equestrian center. There is also a large selection of restaurants (convivial atmosphere at the Club House, overlooking the golf course and the castle; refined cuisine based on local produce and market at L'Oie Gourmande, overlooking the pool; great salads and grilled meats in the restaurant - wine bar Le Cellier). At the heart of a region full of charm, Domaine des Ormes will be your starting point to visit Mont Saint-Michel, Saint-Malo, Dinan, Rennes, etc. The ideal place for successful holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Des Ormes Hotel Dol-De-Bretagne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing