We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,068)
Filter reviews
1,068 results
Traveller rating
409
406
144
63
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
406
144
63
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mobile home indoor pool horse riding zip wire kids club evening entertainment super u crazy golf al fresco family holiday great holiday st malo wave machine driving range great campsite les ormes grand aquarium
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 1,068 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2017

This is our 4th Eurocamp holiday and 2nd visit to Des Ormes (first one was in 2013). We are a family of 2 adults with 3 boys (16, 11 and 7) and stayed there from 19 to 31st August 2017.
We did not use any of the kids clubs but the ones we saw looked ok and the reps seemed to keep the kids entertained! Eurocamp staff were always pleasant and helpful. Our 2 eldest did the go ape style course in the trees (17.50 euros and 13.50 euros in cost), it was worth the money and really hard even for physically fit children, you get 2 goes around, took about 2 hours in total! The youngest did the pony ride twice (10 euros each time) and he loved it. They just give you a pony and point out the route and off you go! Fine for us but one poor lady had a wayward pony and no help! For all parc activities I recommend booking a few days in advance, they were always fully booked on the day.
We stayed with Eurocamp in a 3 bed caravan. It was very dirty when we arrived, and as others have said, the first thing we did was clean it! It was looking very drab after a season of heavy use, the blackout blinds were all broken and didn't close properly, the shower was filthy with grime, the weeds around the decking were as big as my tall 7 year old! The cupboards were all a bit well used and hanging off the hinges, the plug in the bathroom sink didn't even reach the plug hole and the tops of the taps kept coming off! But it was all fixable as we went along, but we are quite easy going!
We got a walking/running/biking map from reception and it has 3 routes around the parc and to the nearby St Leonard. It also shows the walking route to Dol and Combourg!
The weather was brilliant, the last 3 days was rain on/off but otherwise it was nearly 30 degrees everyday.
The site was huge though, and so much busier than in 2013. We returned to this site as we liked the size of it, location and the walks but it was just too much for us in terms of people. When you try to drive off of the site the roads are just cluttered with people who do not move out of the way of a moving car! People walk along swearing and shouting which is just not nice around young children. We witnessed several very near misses with very young children on bikes, unaccompanied and no helmets, and swerving into the path of passing cars.
We didn't use the bars or entertainment in the evenings but boy was it loud! We were located at one of the furthest points from the entertainment area and we could still hear the karaoke going at 11pm!
We used it as a base to visit near by St Malo, the amazing beaches dotted along the coast and the zoo. We only used the pools twice as they were just too busy to even get in the water at some points, they were dirty on entrance and exit and just too many people and nowhere to put any towels! Hubby and the kids went to the pool when it opened at 10 on one occasion and it was lovely! So get there when it opens!!
The pizza restaurant serves delicious food, pizzas are around 11 euros, kids meal is about 9 euros. Meal for 5 of us was around 70 euros. Staff polite but rushed as it's very busy, we ate at around 6 when it opened and it was fine.
Spar shop had all the daily essentials but we did 2 bigger shops at Super U and Cora to stock up the caravan. We got fresh french sticks from Dol, which is only a few minutes drive as they lasted longer than the spar ones.
There are so many amazing beaches all within a 20 minute drive, the furthest beach we visited was in St Malo and it was a 40 minute drive. The beaches were clean, incredibly quiet and so sandy. We purchased a body board at the local Decathlon for 13 euros and it kept everyone entertained for several beach days! The sea is warm enough for swimming and calm enough for younger children to feel safe in. We took a picnic everyday (and a bottle of wine and glasses for the grown ups!), a fantastic, cheap day out. The zoo and chateau (La Bourbansais) is approx 15-20 mins drive away and cost us 92 euros for 3 adults (over 12 is often adult price in France) and 2 children, we took a picnic so didn't use the cafe there. It was a very hot day so a lot of the animals were far away in the shade, but overall a lovely day out. The birds of prey show is worth a watch.
We wouldn't stay at Des Ormes again, mainly due to how incredibly busy it is now but it is a good large site with lots of facilities. As another reviewer said, it has turned into a Haven park, and I can visit that for a third of the cost!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Trip810877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile

We had camped here 10 years ago when our boys were 10, great camp site with large space plot for our camping set up. This time we returned and the site has moved forward wash and shower areas new and very clean, great selection of activities for all the family from cycling for paint balling, loads to do for young and old. We also love this site as it. Is situated close to Dinan and Mont-Saint-Michel which are must visits. Food and wine great as usual, fresh Pain au Chocolate and bread every morning and the weather was great. The resort has over 5 swimming pools to suit all. Will return, great times.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank legumeschef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017

To start with let me get the but out of the way, it had a very large negative impact on our holiday hence the low score. The camp site is large with over 750 caravans, so probably in excess of 3000 people on the site at any given time BUT they only have about 300 sunbeams across all of the pools!!! I kid you not 1 sunbed for every 10 guests. Unless you want to get up and fight the other Brits to put down your towels then like me (and hundreds of others) you will spend your weeks sitting on the floor on your a*&e …. ridiculous given the space available. Another 300 sunbeds and this is a 9/10 holiday park. Be warned, take your own loungers and chairs.

On to the good stuff.

Firstly Eurocamp head office staff are amazing and will always go the extra mile to help you :-).
We stayed with Eurocamp and our home was clean, tidy and well maintained - large tick :-)

The Domaine Des Ormes is very large and spacious with a huge amount of fun activities to keep all children entertained and engaged. Paintball, zip wire, golf, slides, pools, archery, go-ape - the list is endless. Be prepared to spend €6 per child per day for these extra activities but worth every penny. The pools are excellent fun.

The firework show on Friday was spectacular as was their video show. Although the entertainment is a bit late starting at 9 or 10pm.

The site is clean, tidy and well run. Restaurant on site were ok with one selling the usual chicken nuggets, pizza etc. It was ok. For a nicer meal head 10 minutes up the road to Dol De Bretagne, for mussels, galettes.etc A great small town with a choice of local restaurants.

Would i go back??? Maybe with my own sun lounger in tow.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaïs D, Service communication at Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Hello.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your opinion, including your note about the sunbeds. We've noticed it to the team concerned.
Thank you for your review.
All the team wishes you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile

Two weeks spent in a Eurocamp Aspect lodge. Clean on arrival. Eurocamp Reps friendly and sorted initial niggles quickly.

Pools freezing! Not enough sunbeds. Lots and lots of Brits who hog the beds with towels! Mixed "behaviour" from other campers. We like a quieter holiday and haven't really utilised a lot of the amenities but the rowdy bar just doesn't really appeal. Wifi rubbish even though we paid 55euros to have it on our mobile home.

Zip wire good fun. Weather mostly good but Northern France so expect some rain! Bring a mix of clothing and an umbrella.

We've enjoyed our time here but wouldn't come to this camp again - its just a bit too "much" for us. It's our 5th time with Eurocamp but think we will try "authentic Europe" next time. It's all about personal taste - on a positive note you won't get bored!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gromit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017

We've just returned from two weeks with 2 children 8 & 10 booked through Al Fresco and had a great holiday. We spent a lot of time in the two outdoor pools and also went to the beach at St Malo and Dinard (both about 35min drive) . Mont St Micheal was also very close and definitly worth a visit. There were lots of activities on the site which did vary in price although we found lots to do without paying. The high wire course was cheaper than Go Ape in the U.K. and good value but the bike hire was very expensive so I would take our own next time. There were good tracks marked out for cycling and running/walking in the woods which we used a lot. We didn't see the drunken teenagers reported elsewhere but didn't really go to the bar area later in the evenings. We would definitely go back to Les Ormes For us it was the perfect mix of being big enough to have water parks and other activities but also have plenty of opportunities for walking through the extensive grounds and feeling we were really getting away from everything.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Catgirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews