We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sofar46
Ireland

Nothing bad

Review of Hotel Granda
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 6, 2023
Reasonable hotel with good parking available, not easy to find in Cangas. It is a little out of town but only a short walk to the main streets of Cangas where there are many shops and restaurants. The hotel is quite basic but clean and comfortable, shame there isn’t a restaurant or bar on site, or at least it was closed when we were there in September. Everyone was friendly enough, and breakfast was reasonable.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$507
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$431
  • Hotels.com
    C$431
  • Trip.com
    C$431
2.0 km from Hotel Granda
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$133
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$133
  • eDreams
    C$133
  • Agoda.com
    C$133
8.2 km from Hotel Granda
Free Wifi
Free parking
Habitación Doble Superior
C$177
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$177
  • Hotels.com
    C$177
  • Priceline
    C$177
0.4 km from Hotel Granda
Free Wifi
C$413
Fully refundable
  • StayForLong
  • eDreams
    C$413
  • Vio.com
    C$413
0.4 km from Hotel Granda
Free Wifi
FACHADA
C$204
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    C$204
  • eDreams
    C$204
  • Vio.com
    C$204
0.3 km from Hotel Granda
Free Wifi
C$199
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$217
  • Lol.travel
    C$160
  • Hotels.com
    C$217
3.7 km from Hotel Granda
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$246
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$223
  • Lol.travel
    C$191
  • StayForLong
    C$230
8.2 km from Hotel Granda
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$291
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$319
  • Lol.travel
    C$245
  • Trip.com
    C$277
9.9 km from Hotel Granda
Free Wifi
Free parking
EL BRICIAL
C$245
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$245
  • Vio.com
    C$245
  • eDreams
    C$245
4.1 km from Hotel Granda
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$248
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$259
  • Lol.travel
    C$202
  • Hotels.com
    C$259
13.5 km from Hotel Granda
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cangas de Onis
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
39
83
58
32
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
39
83
58
32
20
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 232 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2023

I checked the weather and it didn't look great for the Picos.
I left Ribadesella in the rain, riding cautiously, the weather improving quickly.
I got to Cangas earlier than expected, so left my stuff in the Hotel and walked into town, until my room was ready. The weather looked pretty bad, so I extended my stay by a night. The Hotel is very easy to find as you ride into Cangas. It has a big Car Park, good English check in and cafeteria style breakfast downstairs. Very easy stroll into town. My room had a large double bed, sofa and table etc. Bathroom and shower were good. I would come back if in Cangas.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Skiondown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 4, 2023

Five friends used Hotel Granda as our base in the Picos De Europa, in the village of Cangas De Onis. We stayed four nights. We had a single room (which was really a twin room) a twin room for two and a double bedded room for two. (Room matrimonial in Spanish.) We had breakfast each morning which was very nice and extensive with fruit juice, tea and coffee, egg, bacon, ham, etc.. Very nice.
The hotel was clean and modern, quiet with very comfortable beds. It had good parking availability.
All the staff were very helpful and pleasant.
We would happily use this hotel again and can recommend it.
It's a short walk to the restaurants in the village.
Keith Pheasant

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 10, 2021

I reserved a family room. Me and my family were given room 318, the ‘suite’. You would think, great it is an upgrade but it is a nightmare. The room is in a very bad condition and not corresponding to the pictures at all. It is dirty, insects falling from the ceiling in the children’ their bed, old sofa full of dust, carpet missing in the front room, bathroom with broken toilet paper hanger, bath repaired with duck tape, bath is leaking… etc. I even wonder if this room was cleaned respecting COVID 19 measures required for hotels. The hotel replied 3 weeks after our complaints and being not acknowledging the bad condition of the room at all. They only offered 10% refund of the price paid and reimbursement of the breakfast. We paid almost 290 EUR for one night and refused the breakfast because of the terrible experience, we just wanted to leave as soon as possible. Just take another hotel if you can....

Room tip: De suites (die vreselijk zijn) hebben zicht op de parking en straat.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank brigittebB9362YV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 22, 2019 via mobile

I’ve rated this hotel excellent due to the level of service and assistance giving when staying here. My partner is wheel chair bound and finding hotels in Spain which are properly adapted is DIFFICULT.

The hotel is clean, well maintained, far from basic but not luxurious. What the hotel lacks in luxury it more than makes up for with super attention given by staff.

Our first and subsequent visits to Hotel Granda the staff couldn’t be more helpful. Before booking I asked that photos of the bathroom be sent as we are accustomed to “adapted” bathrooms being inaccessible, (Wheel chair and shower chair with room to transfer).

They honored this request promptly and all requirements or request are always dealt with in the same vain. The front entrance has steps but there is a side entrance with lift that accommodates a wheel chair comfortably.

There were evenings when we were just to tired to go out to dine and wanted to order in (there is no restaurant, just breakfast room), and not only did reception phone our order through but the night security insisted on collecting it!

We now visit yearly, the area is fantastic if you love the mountains, clean air, good food and obviously being in Austria cider!

There are many walks available to a wheelchair user if your willing to speak with the locals. (Tourist information was lacking in this area).

We are fortunate to have an electric hand bike which attaches to the wheelchair to help with the hills, but even without getting into town by foot is flat and the majority of the pavements have sufficient width.

We even took a 4x4 excursion on our last visit and after having to change days and transport because the first Jeep was to high for transfer, the excursion team and hotel staff worked hard to make the experience possible. And wow - it was well worth it crossing the peaks via dirt tracks know as the caminos de pastores which the team have special permission to use.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Z5256UUclairea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to stay and arriving in car this is the perfect hotel. Easy access with a big parking lot. You’ll see that parking in Cangas de Onis is really complicated.

It’s really clean, everything is brand refurnished so it’s in perfect state. Big bed and comfortable, the staff is super helpful so you can have a day trip to the lakes or a day trip to Covadonga, they have many other suggestions. Feel free to ask for help, they have a nice staff.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 39alep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews