We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic hotel and exceptional and friendly staff”
Review of Achtis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Achtis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Afitos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Booked this hotel after a recommendation from our daughter who stayed here recently, there were three of us my wife and I and our 17 year old son, we were met from the coach by the owner of the hotel, Magda and personally shown to our room, that was the check in process over in seconds, no wasted time on filling forms etc.

Our room was on the ground floor and all of 10 feet from the fantastic swimming pool. The rooms are very well appointed and absolutely spotless, if there was any complaint it would be that our room was quite dark being on the ground floor, but as we did not spend much time there is was not a problem.

The service we received during our visit was up to the standards of the best boutique hotels in Greece, staff go out of there way to make your visit unforgettable, they even remember your first name from the minute you arrive, this was a total shock to us all as we are not used to such personal attention, it was a nice simple touch.

We were made to feel that we were the only guests in the hotel not an easy thing to do even in a small hotel like this, every request was received in a friendly and efficient way and always carried out with a smile.

The gardens around the pool area are an oasis of peace and tranquility, no music to ruin your day, in fact we would go as far as say that its almost like sitting in your own private garden but with an enormous swimming pool, plenty of sun beds and we mean "beds" there is even a double bed by the pool which was ideal for our teenage son, he just moved from the hotel bed to the one in the garden he was really impressed with this set up !

Food is available to order all day, from basics snacks to specials of the day, the BBQ night was superb most of the guests attended this evening.

The village of Afitos, is worth a visit assuming you are able to drag yourself from your sun bed, its only 5 minutes down the road, there are plenty of restaurants in fact you could easily eat in a different one each night over a two week period, all are reasonably priced and good value.

Recommend this hotel and will certainly return in the future, and this is something that we have never done before, about says it all>

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Buc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

843 - 849 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2011

I can happily say that this hotel lived up to all the fantastic reviews. Staff are so friendly, hotel is clean, with nice pool and lots of sun loungers. There was a bit of 'towels being reserved on beds' going on but we usually managed to find a couple that were free.

It's a five minute walk into town which is all cobbled streets and taverna's with a few bars and gift shops.

The beach is a fifteen minute walk away (through the town and down a hill), it's a very pleasant sandy beach with plenty of space to chill out by yourself, or there were areas with sun loungers and umbrellas. The loungers were 'free' you're just expected to buy a drink, it was 3/4 euros for a coke so I guess thats how they get their money back, which is fair enough.

Top tips...

Every room has a lovely big fridge, kettle and mugs- you just need to bring your own tea and coffee.

Bring your own beach towel if you plan to lie around the pool- you are asked not to use the towels in the rooms,

Take advantage of the bookcase filled with holiday reads in one of the hotel blocks- a kind of informal book exchange (took me a week to notice it!)

There is a well equipped gym if you fancy a bit of exercise (!)

We booked our hire car through Magda at the hotel- its cheaper than the offers from the rep.

It was all adults when we were there, think you would be fine with a baby or toddler, not sure there's enough going on for older children, I think they would certainly be in the minority. (although we were there in May so everywhere was more quiet generally)

And....don't be put off by your first impression, the coach drops you off on a dusty main road outside the hotel, but once you walk through the hotel doors you'll never look back!.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amandaclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

booked this hotel mainly due to great reviews on trip advisor just like everyone says the welcome you receive the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff the beautiful pool and gardens. once you venture from the hotel you are then in the midst of a traditional greek village no high rise buildings just locals and holidaymakers going about their daily lives. the rooms are very modern immaculate with very comfy beds and all other expected facilities plus fridge and kettle breakfast was ample and served in pool bar area staff knew your name and room number from day one and never failed to get it wrong always able to find lounger around pool or in pretty gardens. unless you went on trips or hired a car not much to do sightseeing wise but if you just want a relaxing holiday this is fine. half hour walk to next main resort kalithea nice to sit in a cafe/restaurant on the sea front if you are lucky you may see dolphins as we did. beach in afitos is certainly down a very steep hill and to be honest did not look particulary appealing and therefore we never ventured down there weather very hot with only one slightly disappointing day when it was overcast but never cold hotel does seem to get a lot of repeat guests who presumably are given the rooms on first or second floor with better views but we were quite happy with our ground floor room five yards out of the door and we were at the pool/bar area room 105a.

Room Tip: believe suites are available with views out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gipster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

When you come back for the second time you rediscover the first impression always " THIS SWEET TASTE OF PARADISE".
A lot of nice changes this year but the same lovely staff, make you feel like royalty.
for this time we had a gorgeous suite room,the only comment that i can say it is wooo...!!!
I dont think i can truly explain how lovely the holiday was!!!
only one compaint...the holiday ended -)

Thank you Achtis and all the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank natasha080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic week at the Achtis. All the reviews that we saw before booking were spot on, its a lovely place. The owners Magda and Achillis, are always on hand every day, if you have a problem or just want a chat. They and all the other staff, try to learn everybodys name, so that they can greet them personaly when they see them. The Hotel is a nice size, not too big and impersonal, you feel like one of the family.The small village of Afitos is a short walk away and has many restaurants and bars to while away your time, and also offer good food. Our favourites were the Christos and also the third one along the cliff top. Cant remember the name. All in all we had a great time.The only small criticism I would have, is something that you are not told when you arrive!!. If you are in the ground floor rooms leading on to the pool, you quickly realise that the glass from the outside is reflective and therefore no one can see into your room,. What is NOT mentioned is that at night, with the lights on inside, it is like an ordinary window, and everybody can see through! A couple of times, on our way back from the town at night, we saw some people undressing, totally unaware that they had an audience. So Magda if you are reading this, please put a sticker on the doors to explain this, or tell people when they first arrive.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chonzhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My mum and I decided to take a last min break away in the sun. I needed a rest from work and she volunteered to come with me. I'm so happy we picked Achtis!

I didn't know what to expect but Magda and the team have got it right. First class hoteliers this holiday and the hotel was everything I could have hoped for and more. The whole team were so friendly big thanks to Cristina and Elisbeth for taking care of us. The rooms are plush and comfortable and cleaned really well every day. The pool and restaurant/bar is like an oasis. They have created such an amazing feeling that I didn't want to leave often or venture to the beach. Big kudos also to the fab team in the kitchen who made wonderful dishes, really fresh and tasty home cooking.

Go here if you want a quiet week away in the sun with friendly familiar service and good socialising with other guests.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRealJimmyGalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Both my husband and I stayed at the Achtis hotel and was impressed by the level of service and the attention given to us by the owners of the hotel and the staff. The rooms in the hotel were beautiful and well decorated. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the next time we are in Greece we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

If I had any complaints then it would be that due to the weather it got quite cold in the evenings and there wasn't any heating in the room. However the staff were helpful and gave us extra blankets as and when we needed it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carriene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afitos
10.7 km away
Sani Dunes
Sani Dunes
#1 of 6 in Sani
183 reviews
0.7 km away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Afitos
173 reviews
11 km away
Sani Beach
Sani Beach
#5 of 6 in Sani
3,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Sani Asterias
Sani Asterias
#2 of 6 in Sani
592 reviews
1.5 km away
Petrino Suites Hotel
Petrino Suites Hotel
#4 of 9 in Afitos
203 reviews
10.5 km away
Porto Sani
Porto Sani
#3 of 6 in Sani
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achtis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achtis Hotel

Address: Afitos 63077, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Afitos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Afitos
Price Range: $132 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Achtis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Achtis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achtis Hotel Afitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing