We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that bad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medusa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Medusa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Kriopigi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Not that bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed at the Medousa from 23rd July to 6th Aug. we had heard of people complaining but to be honest, we heard no loud music at any time. we would typically sit on our ground floor balcony in the evening having a quiet drink. one evening i sat out with my daughter chatting to the english couple next door until 3am. no music to speak of was heard by us. yes there did seem to be quite a few locals socialising with the owners, but nothing rowdy. bear in mind this is also a popular holiday spot for the locals from Thesalonika. our first week we were the only english family for about 4 days, no problem for us, we even got birthday cake from the owner (Daphne) on our first night as it was her sons 6th birthday. we too were expecting air con, but half of the rooms do not have this. we hired a fan for 15 euros a week. things you must do - go to the Greek night at the Akropolis restaurant, if you dont book you can expect to be turned away. Sakis the owner is a scream. also if you want to rent a car, Sakis owns Kriopigi cars and they are the cheapest. Restaurants- try Athenas Hagiati? she makes a chocolate desert to die for. our best meal was at the Oliva italian restaurant. walk down to the beach but take the train back up. the Medousa is in a good spot as it is close to the top of the hill and the village. the downside to the main resort is that it is on both sides of a busy road. All in all a typical greek resort, we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bb6040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    56
    17
    14
    12
See reviews for
42
97
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

Stayed at the Madousa Hotel from the 30th July until 13th Aug the resort itself was very quite. to get about you need a car we waited 2 hours for a bus then had to get a taxi back because the bus to get back didnt come, there are lots of nice places to see but you need a car. there were only about 8 english familys in the hotel this went down the second week to about 4, the 2nd week we were the only one with a child. The hotel was a meeting place for the owners family and friends who had no consideration for others, the children of these familys thought they could have anything in the pool they wanted wether it belonged to them or not, ie (flotie beds) they even tried to take my daughters off her, the parents were just as bad (they were shouting at my daughter in greek i wouldnt have minded but it was her bed).The beach is a lomg,long walk down a steep hill and an even longer walk back up unless you get the little happy train (1 euro each). There is not a great choice of food on any of the menus in the local resturants you have to travel further afield to get something diffrent. The hotel its self was clean and comfortable (you get what you paid for) the bins and towels were changed every day to start with but as more greeks came in this changed to 2or 3 days. (we took our rubbish out ourselves). I only heard noise from the bar laet at night or should i say early in the morning on 2 occasions, mind you i was that tired i could have slept through anything. I would not recomend this hotel for familys who have only got 1 child nothing for them to do except fight for what is their own.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank junatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

We booked the Medousa hotel via the Manos Boucher due to its claim of being a family run and quite hotel in a quite resort. Do look at others there where some very good hotels for people wanting to relax and unwind.
The resort is quite but not the best beach by far you need to go down the coast line they improve and are fantastic with more super markets and bars.
As for the Medousa hotel I do not have a good word for if you complain or ask for something things as we and others did things will become very unfriendly, around early evening time the outside bar area starts filling up with lets just say mostly locals and it’s more of a social club for locals to meet the hotel management.
The music levels will increase during the night and go deep into where night almost becomes morning, do not even think about closing the doors and windows then putting on the air con as some rooms do not air con. If your room is fitted with it expect to pay £40.00 for one week this was not mentioned in the Manos Boucher,
this would mean you can look out the noise sleep now right - Wrong over the weekends some rooms are let out to locals lads aged between early to mid twenties who come down to party, they sit out all night talking (shouting) and drinking or swimming in the pool which is should shut around 7pm well that’s the rule but it depends who you know.
The balconies join up to each other if not the next block has balconies that you can almost touch, and will be full of locals playing music over the top of the bar music and very load chat over that, the accommodation is extremely basic, most have a fridge but the ice box will be frozen solid as mine and other holiday makers will confirm.
We did not have a toilet seat, sorry tell a lie it was on the floor when we arrived and was there when we left.
You will no doubt empty your own bin like we did only used toilet tissue is not allowed to be flushed away so you have a bin and the bins are emptied every two days well that’s what you’re told! Try five days now image the possible smell in that heat.
We booked with Thomas Cook we listed all the issues and have video footage; the rep was in attendance when we requested he come to see us and himself was concerned over the issues raised.
On BBQ night £10.00 each by the way, the music was capped by the Thomas Cook rep to end at midnight, well guess the rest.
Having spoken to other couples during tour stay they also had sleepless night due to this lively hotel and its social circle all nights are captured on my camcorder including one lady who booked two weeks complained about the noise twice and was promised it was stop she was not happy.
Our last night was interesting as the management confused to her only English late night customers that she had received a few complaints over the noise, so the large belly gent replied he will fill out a form telling everyone how wonderful the place was and how out of order we practically .and others had been at the top of his voice.
As the night went on he got more excited fuelled by more beer and felt he could have a word with us, well I got dressed and sat at the end of my bed waiting for him to come up to our room as he would go down the stairs quicker than he got his Burger King sponsored frame up them. Never the less he walk past my stairs to place his head on his mega sized reinforced pillow and reflect on another day spent drinking in Greece talking up rainy Manchester. Hopefully our refund will follow shortly and we can go back to Greece where the beaches are lovely and the food is good.
Meals out vary from £4 - 6 per person for a Giros (Kebab) with a small beer up to £10 for a large pizza or Berger big enough for two (size dependent).

Try Afthos a nice resort with true Greek food.
The buses are not as bad as what they say for time keeping do try them you can go to other beaches for less then a fiver each return.
I am off to bed now to catch up on my sleep!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

Well, for any trip to Kryopigi, unless you are one for all night raves and/or bingo, this is the place to be. Book in late May or early September and you have the resort practically to yourselves. Whilst we endured the rather ghastly thumping music from the bar for the first few days, it was soon turned off as we were the only people in the place. We had the pool to ourselves too. It's only a self-catering place but frankly, that served us extremely well as we could choose to eat out or have a quiet night in watching the sun set, as the housemartins screamed overhead. Perfect if you simply want to relax, read, pop up to the main village and have a few drinks and food or pop down to the beach which is about ten minutes walk. Fairly steep but well worth it. Every single bar and shop was welcoming. Actually, welcoming is an understatement. Thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GiubbeRosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kriopigi hotels
1.8 km away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.3 km away
Kassandra Bay Hotel
Kassandra Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kriopigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.5 km away
Kriopigi Hotel
Kriopigi Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kriopigi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Alkion Hotel
Alkion Hotel
#4 of 12 in Kriopigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.0 km away
Kassandra Palace Hotel
Kassandra Palace Hotel
#8 of 12 in Kriopigi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.1 km away
Palladium Hotel
Palladium Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kriopigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa Hotel

Property: Medusa Hotel
Address: Kriopigi 63077, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Kriopigi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kriopigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Medusa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Medusa Hotel & Eleni Apartments is located in Kriopigi, on the Halkidiki peninsula. The now finished Medusa Hotel was built as a addition to Eleni Apartments and was completed in 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Medusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Kriopigi, Kassandra, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing