We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grandluxxe Resort was wonderful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Paraiso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Our family of 8 vacationed at the Grandluxxe Resort the week of Easter. We rented a complete villa, which involves an apt. with the lockoff. The Living area opened onto a beautiful huge deck, where we had our breakfast every morning. The doors to the deck open about 4 folds, which we kept open all morning and in the evening. No bugs. We faced building 1 and beautiful world of wild life, seen through the forest. Requested the third floor, and we got it. How lucky.

Maid service was immpeccable. Every morning, after leaving, our maid did our dishes, made beds and left the apt. spotless. Also in the evening after we left for dinner. What a pleasure.

Transportation throughout the complex was always on time. Loved the open air carts, especially in the evening returning from dinner.

My one complaint had to do with the extra beds that were pull-outs from under sofas. They are only mattresses on pieces of board, with rollers. Two young children 9 and 11 were able to sleep on them, but it would be impossible for the average adult. In the lockoff, we had two other adults on the sofa and pull-outs. Again, these were two uncomfortable beds for adults.
We were so impressed with the luxury of everything about the villa that we could not understand why they would not put better quality sleeping facilities for other adults. Pull- outs some times can be pulled up and you are elevated on a comfortable matteress. I guess it's money.

We did snorkling through the dive shop, which was wonderful also.


Would go back, if only I could rent a few cots so all adults could sleep comfortably.

Room Tip: Requested the third floor a few weeks earlier and recieved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fouryou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

We are here for our 25th Anniversary and have had a lovely time in a top class resort. The service from the staff is immpecable. Even though you usually take the golf cart shuttle to get around its not a long wait ever and its a great way to talk to other travellers from around the globe! The rooms are beautiful and even though we are in a studio, it is luxurious and very large with 2 patios and a large seperate living room. Meals are a bit pricey, but always good.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank cathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is the top end hotel at the 2000-plus acre property that includes a Bliss, Grand Bliss, Mayan Palace and Grand Mayan hotels. The 2 buildings are off to the side of the resort, and are about a 5 minute walk or short shuttle to the main areas. The suites are huge and lavishly appointed, with a very large "outdoor living room" for a balcony. The suites overlook the jungle - ie there are no beach or ocean views, but you do get the sound of the jungle birds and a lot of privacy.

The "Villa" suites are end units and 50% larger (3000 sq ft for a 2-bedroom) - but usually the rent is about the same as for the other units.

The restaurants on site are first rate ++ - even the "burger" restaurant finds creative ways to present the old ground beef standby. Try the Kobe burger!

The concierge on the ground floor provides coffee in the morning - a nice way to get started. The staff are super helpful.

This is a timeshare, but it is of an order of magnitude better than anything advertised in RCI!. Unless you are an owner, you need to rent from one. Lots available through VRBO, although you should search Grand Luxxe as well as Grand Mayan, since some GM renters also offer Grand Luxxe suites.

Room Tip: Ask for a Villa suite. Eat on site for great - I mean superb - cuisine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ed3463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We recently returned from a week-long stay at the Grand Bliss in Rivera Maya—I am writing the review under the Grand Luxxe as technically we were guest of Grand Luxxe owners and because since the Grand Bliss is so new-little web presence exists. Because of this, we were a little nervous of what were getting ourselves into…No website? No pictures? Few reviews? Upon arrival any of our skepticism was immediately put to rest as the resort and our accommodations at the Grand Bliss were phenomenal. My husband and I shared a two bedroom suite what was much too excessive for what we needed—excessive but luxurious. Our bedroom was spacious and had the most comfortable king-sized bed I’ve ever enjoyed in a hotel. Our living room and kitchen contained two day beds, TV, kitchen table and decorated in a chic-beach style. Our bathroom was huge, complete with a whirlpool tub (which comfortably seated two), a large rain-shower, double vanity and private toilet.
The resort itself is huge including the Grand Bliss, Grand Luxxe, The Mayan, Grand Mayan and Bliss resorts. As the best pools are at the Grand Mayan and the Grand Luxxe, transportation throughout the resort is through a system of gulf carts shuttles. While you never have to wait more than a few minutes for a shuttle, the shuttle will always take you to the Grand Mayan, and should you choose to go anywhere else from there you will need to make a “connection” to reach your final destination. We found it was most convenient to walk to our destination from the Grand Mayan.
Most of our days were spent at the Grand Luxxe beach-where padded chase-lounges with pillows and cabanas line the beach. The view of the white sand and the strikingly blue water was spectacular-even if you couldn’t swim on the rather rocky shores (we quickly discovered that a 15 minute walk north brings you to a spectacular swimming beach). The service at both the Grand Luxxe Pool and Beach was phenomenal and kept us returning each day. For instance, one day I ordered a glass of sparkling wine and since they didn’t have it at the bar by the beach, our server sent a runner to the wine bar on the opposite side of the resort to bring a bottle just for me! This is also the location of the famous “Burger Custom Made” restaurant which might be the best restaurant on the resort. We couldn’t get enough of the Truffle Fries and Peppercorn-Brie burger! We enjoyed this meal a few times on the beach as the food was brought directly to our lounge chairs!
The Luxxe pool is also spectacular, it is warm and quiet with equally exceptional service. Some of our time was spent at the Grand Mayan and Mayan pools for a change in scenery, but nothing compared to the accommodations at the Grand Luxxe.
During our stay my husband and I also enjoyed dinner at Havana Moon, Tramanto and Gong-the latter two being the more ”formal” restaurants. While the food, wine and service was good at the restaurants we couldn’t help but notice the “slip” in the dress code. While dressed for a nice dinner it was odd to see other guests running around in flip-flops and rumpled t-shirts.
All in all, it was a fantastic vacation where we enjoyed amazing service, great accommodations and a lot of beautiful beach time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SarahR220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

Accept for the lies at the sales pitch that's mandatory , it's a beautiful place. We've paid hundreds of thousands of dollars and still we're not number one to the resort! Oh well what can you do you're already sucked in!!! The food and service is outstanding it's just the little things that tick you off!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelling-Hazys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Grand Luxxe came up short for us. I found everything to be... complicated. The checkin process is a good example. Once the shuttle arrived, we went through a security checkpoint, were dropped off in front of another hotel, hopped on another shuttle to the Grand Luxxe, met the concierge, and were shown our room and how to work every light and gadget in the unit. From the time we arrived on the property, it probably took 45 minutes before we were alone in the room.

Want to go to the beach, pool, or dinner? You need a shuttle. Want food? We often found a 30 minute wait. Want to go into town? $20 taxi one way or a shuttle that only runs several times a day.

Also, we didn't find a lot to do on the property. The beach is rocky and swimming was not allowed. We were told that it never was due to location and conditions. There was a bit of organized activities for kids but not much stood out to us. There were a handful of excursions on large, 60 person buses, but without a rental car, we felt a little trapped.

We also had complaints with the food. We enjoyed Gong, but found the other restaurants to be pretty average and overpriced. This was confirmed as we moved on to Cozumel, Akumal, and Tulum. One night, finding huge waits at several restaurants, we tried take out instead. It took close to an hour to get our food and, when we got home, found our food to be cold. Another evening, my girlfriend was violently ill after eating nothing but food on site. We're confident she got food poisoning at one of the restaurants. It took her more than a full day to recover and we had to cancel all of our planned activities. We reached out to management with these complaints and it took over six phone calls to have them resolved. While we did receive minimal compensation, I found everyone to be quite defensive.

In fairness, the staff was wonderful, friendly, delightful, attentive, and more than willing to help. The grounds are beautiful and are constantly being maintained. The room was above and beyond what we expected.

I can understand how Grand Luxxe can be a fit for other travelers, but the bad outweighed the good for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Aaron B :

Thank you so much for commenting about your stay. We are glad you enjoyed our accommodations, landscaping, and we are grateful for your kind words about our staff as we consider them one of our biggest assets. At Grand Luxxe we are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine luxury hospitality by providing outstanding locations and service excellence.

All the same, we are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. We spend considerable resources training our staff to maintain the highest possible standard of cleanliness and hygiene which we know our guests expect when staying at our properties. Nevertheless, this will all be addressed by the appropriate areas as we constantly strive to achieve the utmost level of satisfaction. This will also ensure they all have accurate information so that your check-in is an efficient and pleasant experience.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
Grand Luxxe Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Second time here in paradise on the Mayan Riviera. First time with family, second as a couple. The rooms are beautiful, the pools fantastic. All the restaurants are varied and excellent. The head chef has it nailed for variety and consistency. No one in our party became ill and we ate EVERYTHING, EVERYWHERE. The landscaping is stunning and boasts the largest continuous pool in South America. The rooms were ultra clean with nightly turndown service. If you are staying in Luxxe units you have a personal heated pool and ¨popsicle time´ when fresh fruit popsicles are passed out as you lounge around on soft pool cushions. We spent most of our time in the palapas on the beach with that turquoise Carribean water. Yes the beachfront does have coral and rocks but there are pockets of warm turquoise pools and white sand. most people were snorkeling, children building sand castles, catching water creatures. We walk about two football lengths down the beach (towards the Iberostar Resort) where the white sand hits the water and you can wave surf until you get sunburnt! If you are staying in any of the Grand Mayan buildings, ask for third floor rooms and ones that face the Lagoon or Pool sides. They are a bit noisy with music on Fiesta night BUT the other side often faces the service roads with much coming and going of staff and shuttle vehicles. If you get those rooms it won´t matter...still paradise. There is an 18 hole Jack Nicklaus designed golf course, super happy hours, the women love the spa and exercise rooms. I did get a massage (part of the Luxxe package) I would do it again. You will love it here.

Room Tip: Top floor (third) and facing lagoon or pool versus service roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank RetiredGI66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
11.5 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,289 reviews
12 km away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,181 reviews
0.6 km away
Senses Riviera Maya by Artisan - All Inclusive - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,045 reviews
10.9 km away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,775 reviews
12.4 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya

Address: Calle Carretera Federal Km 48, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Number of rooms: 180
Also Known As:
Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing