We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonably good resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We are family of three with junior school kid. We stayed from Feb 15 to 22 at this resort. This is our second vacation in Mexico. Last year we stayed at another hotel further south near Akumal and liked it so much compare to other places we spend our vacations before (Jamaica, Dominican Rep, Cuba) that we decided to go to Mexico this year again. Our flight and transfer to the hotel was fine and easy. We were only one family arriving to the hotel at that moment so our check in was fast, room was ready, bell boy transferred us and our luggage to our block #37.
Resort is big but not huge compare to other places we stayed before. I could walk from reception to beach in about 5-7 minutes in quick pace. Technically shuttle service is available but we never saw it when we needed it.
Entertainment is pretty good. Night shows are of very good quality. Plenty of decorations and costumes. Dancers show so much enthusiasm and energy during the performance. Kids mini disco has something new every day.
One nice thing that puts this resort apart from others we’ve been before is the pool. It’s huge, it goes about one third of resort length. It has nice water fall, fountain, air bubbles, water ball pool, islands with palm trees. Plenty of things to spend time on with a kid.
Buffet food was fine in general though lettuce leaves smelled badly of chlorine. We tried two specialty restaurants: Mexican cousin, which was nice and Brazilian which we were very disappointed with, just four varieties of meat including some sausage and barely done bloody beef.
The main attractions for us at any resort when we go south are sea and the beach. At this place beach is pretty good. Nice, clean sand, plenty of shades and benches. One thing though you have to wake up early to get one. Sea was stormy all 7 days, so this place is not perfect for small kids. There are some rocks in the water near the shore. What surprised us most is that water was so much polluted with some plastic bags, straws etc. You can see a few items floating around you at any time. We’ve never seen such dirty waters at any Caribbean resort. On top of that some kind of sea weeds always floating in the water.
On departure day our pick up time was 5PM but hotel checkout time was at noon. We asked for late check out and were ready to pay for it, but receptionist refused it saying they are fully booked. Hotel provided storage room and shower for us after our check out time.
Nolitour/air transat representative in the lobby was rude and not helpful in providing information about out departure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abc123331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,318 - 2,324 of 5,186 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at the Iberostar Paraiso Beach hotel from Feb. 16 - 21, 2012. Our room was 3222. Upon entering our room our first impression was mold & mildew! It looked ok, but the smell was strong! The bedspread was old & disgusting & we pulled them off the beds. The only day we were given towels was the day we arrived, every day we had to call & ask for towels. We only received hand towels once! In addition, our in-room safe would not open after shutting it the 3rd day & even maintenance struggled with it for 30 min. before they were able to open it. We had no hot water days 2 & 3 in the evening after the first shower. The pool is beautiful, but don't wait for someone to bring you a drink, we only saw a waitress 1 time in the 6 days we were there. The restaurants are your typical resort foods & not very good with the exception of the Mediterranean restaurant. It was out of this world delicious! The entire resort is huge! It took us 10 minutes to walk from our building to the restaurants and lobby. They have a trolley that's supposed to pick people up, but it runs so infrequently that most people have to walk, which wasn't a problem for us, but for the older people in the resort, they struggled. The beds were hard as a brick & because of the humidity in our room, the sheets, as well as our clothes, always felt damp & the pillows were flat as pancakes. Supposedly there was a mini-bar in our room, but that consisted of 3 beers in the mini fridge, 2 cokes, 2 orange sodas & a few bottled waters. All in all, this resort was just so-so. I definitely wouldn't recommend it to my family or friends.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the restaurants, choose a higher # building (41).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlnneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Iberostar Paraiso Beach hotel. We are very concerned to learn of your disappointing experience about your room and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.

Thus, we would very much appreciate to further discuss with you the details of your feedback.. Please rest assured we have taken under very strict advisement your comments and our housekeeping department is working hard to verify the room and ensure our future guests an enjoyable stay.

We remain at your entire disposition for further assistance.

Sincerely,

Quality manager, Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

First time ever being in Mexico and I shared the experience with my mom. Iberostar Paraiso Beach was amazing. The hospitatlity and friendleness right down to the amazing food and entertainment, it had everything I could have asked for. Highly recommend this place for couples or families as it accommodates everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank to you for sharing your review which highlights many aspects of our services and facilities.

Our staff are all aware of how important your vacation is, and ensure that your needs are anticipated and services are provided in a spirit of warmth and professionalism.

We look forward to your return visit to our property.

With warm regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just spent 7 days there with 2 other couples. Had a great time! Hotel was beautiful, the staff was fabulous, food was very good (and plentiful) beach was awesome. Highly, highly rated with one caveat. The place is huge, so if mobility is an issue, keep that in mind. (they do have a tram that runs every 10 minutes or so however)

Room Tip: stay in the 3000 section if you want to be close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jkeenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments about Iberostar Paraiso Beach. Our team is constantly working to provide the best possible experience to our guests. Please be assured that I will share your feedback with the rest of the team and we will do our outmost to improve your next stay with us.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We are two couples, that travel twice a year. We chose the Iberostar based on our agents recommendation, price and compatability with past resorts that we have been to over the years. Comparing apples to apples, this review should reflect an honest evaluation of our experience.

Arrival : We arrvied without any delays and were directed to the front desk where we were greeted very warmly by the front destk clerk. We arrived early ( 11:30 ) so only one of our two rooms were ready, Unlike other resorts, we were not greeted with a cold punch or wet towels. I recommend that you reserve your a la carte restaurants as soon as you arrive in order to get a decent dinner time and restaurant choice.

Rooms: Our room was clean, walk in shower was fine and hot water and pressure was plentiful. Room was a litted dated, but very comfortable. Only complaint would be the pillows. Of the five pillows we used, only two were suitable, the others were so flat, you could slide them under the front door. Also the mattress was quite firm..........and I mean firm !!! Try for the second or third floor, we noticed that some of the peacocks made their way onto the railings on the first floor balconys and made a mess ( bird duty).

Resort: Get ready to walk. This is a large complex, the distance between the lobby and the room building closest to the pool is about a 15 min walk. We stayed in block 3200 and didn't mind the walk. It seems that block 3500 is ideally located, kind of half way. The grounds are well kept and are constantly being groomed. Be ready to meet all types of wildlife on your trek around the resort, From peakcocks to coati ( cross between a racoon and an ant eater !! ) just don't feed them.

Food: This is where I am most disappointed. The buffets are truly a notch below average. Not in terms of quality (although some itmes were questionable ), but in choices. From breakfasts, main entrees to fuit, they just didn't make the grade comparing to other resorts of the same caliber that we have been to. Some days were better than others, but overall, they need to improve if they want to stay competitive. On the other hand, the a la carte, were fine, we ate at the Steakhouse, Mediteranian (twice), Italian and the Japanese. We were four people, and tried most of the items at the buffets and the a la carte and we did not have to use our Imodium.

Pool/Beach: Lots of shaded areas and chairs available around the pool, which is huge !! You don't have to play the reserve game by the pool, however, if you want a spot under a palapa tree by the beach, better set your alarm for 6:30/7:00. Beach is nice on the right side of the resort, and not so interesting on the left. You can walk for an hour on one side and 20 min. on the other. Water temp. at the pool and the ocean was refreshing,,,,,,,! Bar service was great, you will be served by the pool or at the swim up bar with a smile regardless if you tip. I have to say that all the staff were extremely friendly and happy to help in any way they can,

The four of us came to the same conclusion, we were happy to spend a week ( Feb 6-13) at this resort, and really don't have any major negative issues. We all agreed that this would not be on our favorite list of resorts to return to. Hope you find this helpful.......

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravelBugsJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We consider the satisfaction of our clients our primary goal; your opinion is essential to the continuous improvement and maintenance of the quality of our service.

We are sorry to read about your disappointing experience with food and I would like to inform you that we are taking is extremely seriously and are already reviewing our standards with our culinary team for further improvement on this matter.
However, we would like to highlight that the scores on the surveys related to this matter have shown a high level of satisfaction among our guests.

We trust that you will allow us another opportunity to show you our improvement on your next stay with us.

Best Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was my first stay at an Iberostar resort. I am comparing this stay to the Barcelo Maya Beach, the Viva Wyndham Maya and the Palladium resorts as I review this property.

Staff - accomodating and friendly - no issues. To note -there was definitely theft from my sister's room but not mine.

Rooms- First room had a broken toilet, we changed rooms and the shower was broken and taped together with yellow " duct?" tape - it worked about 50% of the time with a lot of effort and it just dribbled water. Lots of visible plastering in tub area and some rust here and there. Initially pillows smelled very strong of mildew (sheets left in the washer way too long?) and I had to rewash my hair frequently after sleeping because it picked up that smell. The sheets were better a few days later after being changed. Toilet plugged up and the repair man did come and fix it. Cups left outside rooms at the doors were there for 6 days. The rooms were, however, clean- no issues with that. Rooms at the resorts I mention above were all in much better condition than this one.

Food- typical all- inclusive food but not as good and definitely not as variable as all 3 of the resorts mentioned above. Staff in these areas were great and visibly working very hard.

Grounds- clean and well maintained. No garbage seen ever laying on the ground.

Pools and beach areas - clean, nice, no issues. Drinks were fine.

Activities - not as many as at the other resorts but ok.

General impression - It was a very long way from our rooms at the beach to the buffet areas so if you have mobility issues, pay close attention to where your rooms would be. Favorite things - nice beach, nice staff. Dissapointments - room in disrepair, food and something I will mention below....

I was swimming in the pool by the beach on February 14th in the morning. There were about 2 or 3 groundskeeping staff and more official looking guys standing on this central kind of island area in the middle of the pool near the bar. They were looking in the trees and then backed away. I heard a loud motor, looked over and realized that one of the workers had a motor driven sprayer with a tank on his back and he is spraying heavy ? pesticides up into the trees. The stuff was spraying everywhere....ON ME, into the pool, you name it. I look over and two people had their faces covered with towels. I asked the bartender at the poolside bar what they were spraying and he said it was " to kill the bees". Don't know what it was but I was quite concerned that they did not allow us the opportunity to get out of the way/ post a notice or anything. The staff member spraying this was not wearing any protective clothing or a mask. Would love an explanation for this ...anyone ever had this happen? Could it be biological material that can kill bees?

Would I return? No, not to this pricey resort. The 3 resorts above were all better with the Barcelo Maya Beach the best of all (10 years ago though) and the Viva Wyndham very good for it's moderate price. Palladium was excellent, too big for me and didn't care for the shallow,rocky beach but no complaints.

Room Tip: If you are close to the beach, you are a long way from the buffets, restaurants with snack bars clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelcrazy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Iberostar Paraiso Beach. I am sorry to read that your stay did not live up to your expectations and I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Please be assured that we have taken note of all your comments and we will take it under very strict advisement. As a hotel, guest satisfaction is our main belief, through your comments and suggestions, we continually improve our services.

Thank you for sharing your feedback!

We look forward to welcoming you back and show you aour improvments.

Kindest Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Had a fantastic time at the Paraiso Beach, 9th time in the Mayan Riviera & this was one of the best places yet. The food, service, beach, grounds were great. would not hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone. Have only been back to the same resort once but will be going back here for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spudrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that we provided you with all the elements to enjoy your vacation.

We deeply appreciate your review , and believe in working hard to ensure that we maintain the high standards set by our guests and improve day by day.

We certainly look forward to having you back!

Best Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.5 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,790 reviews
0.2 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,132 reviews
0.3 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,951 reviews
20.1 km away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#46 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
6,656 reviews
15.2 km away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
13,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Address: Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $217 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraiso." Imaginatively designed lake – pool. Convention centre. The holiday complex is perfectly integrated into the tropical landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with VISIT US, INC. , Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing