We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The resort is massive and is made up of 4 Iberostars all next to each other. It is kind of confusing looking at the pictures b/c sometimes you might be looking at another Iberostar where you do not have access. It was very family friendly, the food was okay but kind of what you expect at a giant resort. The Mediterranean restaurant was good and had an amazing seafood bar. The Brazilian Restaurant was just another buffet and they hung up a Brazilian flag, I would skip it. We were with our two toddlers (2 and 3) and here are a few tips for others with small kids: we used our stroller b/c the place was so big. They have golf carts, but you have to wait for them. There are even handicap places on the beach so you can wheel your stroller all the way down to the water. We took cereal boxes at breakfast for the kids to snack on b/c there are always weird between meal times when it is hard to get kid food, but your kids are starving. There is a free merry-go-round every other night by the shops at the front of all the Iberostar. In our resort there was a kid area called Lucy's that was a fenced in baby pool and sand area. It was a nice spot for parents to take a break b/c kids were so safe. Kids can stay there if they are a certain age (maybe 3 and up), but we never did that. Lucy's area also had an inside area with crafts if your kids need a break from the sun. I would also suggest a room on the first floor. All the buildings are I think three stories and I didn't see any elevators. If possible I would pack sand toys. We had to buy them at the resort and were charged way too much. The beach is a bit rough so you might want to bring life jackets if your kids are as little as mine. After dinner waiters will give you a bottle of wine if you tip them so you can bring it back to your room. My husband and I would put the kids to bed and sit outside on the patio with our wine. Great kid shows at 8:00 each night.
Pros:
Staff was excellent. Lots of activities everywhere by the pool, beach, clowns walking around the pool, you name it. The beach is amazing! There is no reef or lagoon. It is a REAL beach. Playa Del Carmen is the perfect tiny Mexican city with great restaurants, shops, and people watching. It is also right on the ocean and I always feel safe there, even with my kids.
Cons:
Rooms are just okay, but clean. You only get two dinner reservations per 4 day stay and as with most all-inclusives, you must make the reservations asap. We thought we had a splash pad for our kids and it was at the Maya Iberostar and we did not have access.

Room Tip: ground floor was nice. We were in building 15 which was centrally located which made it nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicagochica801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,407
    1,601
    523
    184
    94
See reviews for
2,928
1,383
50
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,037)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Very nice resort with good, food, pool, beach and staff.Not always easy to get a drinkable wine in Mexico but you can at this resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mwcochran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Just returned from a week at the Lindo (March 27 - April 3rd) and although I always research reviews thoroughly before we travel, I've never posted a review before. This experience was SO fantastic that I want to share the joy. We travel frequently and have high expectations and I can honestly say our stay at the Lindo exceeded them all. Here is a review from a Mom's point of view:

*Beach: Perfect for older kids with nice sized waves, the kind that will entertain your children/teens for hours. This is not a calm beach for little ones right at the base of the shore. Plenty of little ones enjoying the waves with family...just know it's not the powdery calm beach they would toddle in and out of. I read a tip from previous reviewer to head towards the part of the beach closest to the Grand (by the sail boats). This area is less crowded for a nice stretch of white sand if that's what you'd like. Our daughter wanted a calm place and our son wanted to be in the middle of everything.

Room/ Check in: Ranier at the check in desk was great. When we got to our room, it was a little musty and we have asthma in our family so we asked what options there might be. I did read ahead of time and know that the area is known to have musty rooms...it's the damp climate and not the hotels fault. Ranier promptly sent an Iozone air cleaner/zapper to our room which helped tremendously. We were re-located the next morning to a new room on the 3rd floor which is evidently a better choice for dampness. Our initial room was floor 2 of building 54, which was right by the lobby. *Tip: If you have younger children, you definitely do not want building 54. It's next to the Entertainment stage. For us, this didn't matter since we have teens and were at the shows late at night. We were moved to building 51, on the 3rd floor overlooking the garden. It was PERFECT. Very quiet and peaceful. Had we overlooked the pool, it would have been louder in the mornings when our teens actually wanted to sleep in. The musty smell was gone and it was spacious for all four of us.

*Pools: Fabulous. So many to choose from there will be something for each age group from kiddie pool to activity pools and quiet pools. Great swim up bar, not over crowded even in a sold out week.

TEEN TIPS:
This complex has a teen disco for 14-17 year olds, which is where everyone would go after the shows which ended at 10:30. The disco is open to all families in the Iberostar complex (del Mar/Maya/Beach/Lindo), so kids from all areas would get to know each other. We were there on a sold out week, and there were about 20-50 teens running around. There is a courtyard outside of the disco with a place for ice cream and crepes where teens would hang out. Also adjacent to the disco is a little hamburger and taco bar where the kids would hang out too. This very International hotel had kids from Central and South America, Canada, France, Spain, Italy, Portugal, Russia, German and the US. Tonight the Facebook friend's list has grown to include new friends from around the world...how cool is that!?

Restaurants/Buffet: Our faves were French, Italian, Japanese and Steak House.
Buffets were filled filled filled full of fresh fruits...yummm! There were so many things to choose from, everyone could always find something fabulous. Restaurant service was outstanding. *Tip: Reserve right after you check in. We did so based on a trip advisor review and are glad we did, otherwise you have to have the 9pm seating which can be late.

One last thing to add...this is an all-inclusive and certainly you'd never need to tip anything. I'd recommend bringing along a stash of $1 bills, just so you have them with to leave from time to time for an outstanding employee. At first we didn't think about it but when we saw someone else leave a bartender two dollars, we were happy to join in. A few dollars might not make a huge difference in our day, but is a significant blessing for another person's family.

HIGHLY Recommended destination for families...you'll be thrilled! Have a great time!

Room Tip: top floor facing garden extremely quiet building 51 near beach was very tranquil
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank MNtrvL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vavb
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My wife and I and brother and sister in-law vacationed at the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo March 13-20 2012. Like all smart travelers, we did our research on Trip Advisor, and we experienced no surprises. We booked our trip through Cheap Caribbean.com, our sixth trip with them, and again, we were extremely happy with the service and the price, which included shuttle to and from the airport! The resort is absolutely beautiful. The grounds are a tropical paradise, manicured by a host of workers. We were checked in promptly, but as we arrived before 3 PM, our rooms were not ready. We had lunch and checked out the beach and pools while we waited, and soon enough were in our room. The staff was gracious and handled everything quickly and efficiently. Our room was spacious and well appointed. We were in building 53, closer to the beach than the lobby, and on the ground floor. There are no elevators, so if you do not want to struggle with stairs, choose the lower of the 3 floors. Our experience has been that most vacationers prefer the pool to the beach, and this was true at Lindo. There are many pools, the biggest pool is free-form and really large. One of the smaller pools is a wave pool, very popular with kids, and also adjacent to our favorite bar. In this pool, waves are generated which flow outwards toward a beach-like area. It is really a great venue. We are beach people, and we found that the beach was fabulous! Plenty of beach chairs and palapas, pure sand, no coral rocks to speak of. Just perfect for lazing and reading and swimming! The food was great. You read reviews about people disappointed that the food was not "gormet" which we always find amusing. We were really impressed with the quality, variety and the preparation, and we did not eat a single dinner at the buffet! Make your reservations with your concierge as soon as you can. There are at least 9 reservation only restaurants, so you should dine well!. Seating at the restaurants is carefully controlled, so your dining experienced is quiet and very comfortable and not rushed. Men must wear collared shirts and long pants! We were not impressed with the Japanese restaurant, although the food was fine. The Seafood restaurant, where you could dine on the appetizers alone, and the French restaurant, which had an excellent menu, were the best in our view. Iberostar is a Spanish company, and they serve mostly Spanish wines, and they are very drinkable. The bars make tropical drinks mostly from scratch, although the beach bar sometimes used pre-made mixes. The activities were plentiful, the staff very helpful. The shows were very amateurish and we did not return after our first experience. We love the Riviera Maya for its people, and the staff at Iberostar was just wonderful. We have a list of over a dozen employees who we really thought were superb, and you should make your own list and pass them on to management. The workers do not make a lot of money, and tips can be very helpful to them. Take lots of dollar bills, and reward those who really provide good service. Bottom line - try this resort - you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Building 53 is ideal, close to the beach and the breakfast buffet. There are no elevators, so chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank west2725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

So we arrived on a hot day in March, 2012. We spent 3 hours in customs, what a nightmare! Finnally arrive at our resort & it was wonderful. Beautiful, clean, spacious. Water everywhere! There were walkways over water which was awesome and at night it was all lit up which was good- I am sure after a few beverages one could fall in quite easily enough. The lobby was clean & the front desk worker was very friendly & got us each a cold drink as soon as we walked up to the counter.
The room was pretty good. clean. Each day our housekeeper made us a different creature out of towels. I think my favorite was the mermaid. The tv kinda sucked - it was old and the color was not so great but we did not spend alot of time in the room. The balcony was unreal! it was huge & looked over the pool. Almost the same size as our room! The bathroom was nice. The shower was big, the tub was deep which was important to me because there was not a hot tub to be found on the resort which was too bad! The hot tubs that were there were not heated which would be ok during the day I suppose but if it gets cool in the evening it would have been nice to soak in it.
The beach was pretty good. Nice sand & the water was clear although a bit windy. The beach vendors were also not too bad, there must only be a few allowed at a time so we weren't bombarded every five minutes to buy something.
Evening entertainment was a little lacking. Maybe because the resort was so fancy the entertainment didn't quite fit. The shows were funny but kinda dragged in parts.
The food was ok. The buffet was generally the same each day. nothing too fantastic. The A la carte restaurants that we went to were super. The japanese one was a MUST!
Pools were really great, lots of seating, lots of sun & shade.
Lots of kids - seemed very family friendly - I wouldn't hesitate to bring my 8 and 11 year old next time.

All in all, would definitely go back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 31alicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I chose to stay at the Lindo because of our previous excellent experiences at other Iberostar Hotels in the Caribbean.
As others have said the grounds are perfect, the staff are friendly and work long hard hours, A very big thank you to Rudolfo, my husband reckon he is one of the best bar tenders he has known! Always had a smile and hello and remembered what every customer drank, superb service!
Hotel was beautiful, rooms nice, very typical of Iberostar hotels, choice of restaurants good. However, the main buffet restaurant food was not hot enough for my personal taste and the choice was very lmited, unlike that of the Iberostar Bavaro.
We love the Iberostar chain so much, even though the food was not perfect it will not stop us returning to Paraiso Lindo in August when there will be 8 family members ages between 20 and 77 travelling together.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susiewong19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Falls, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was our 6th trip to Riviera Maya in Mexico. Previously we stayed at El Cid once and Barcelo four times. This was our first trip to the Iberostar. The main reason we tried this resort is because we wanted to try something new and there is a golf course on the grounds of Iberostar. I will list our pros and cons from our trip. We were at Iberostar March 17th through 24th, 2012.
Pros:
-very clean and well maintained grounds.
-staff is friendly and they react quickly to your needs.
-clean beach that is well maintained.
-nice palapas on the beach to keep you out of the sun. Get up early to get one in the front row...
-big clean pools.
-nice rooms with good cleaning each day. They make and leave towel art in the shape of animals each day.
-drinks were quick and easy to get.
-Al La Carte restaurants had good food overall. You can order as many dishes as you would like from the menu. We went to Mexican, Seafood, Japanese, Cajun, Italian, Steakhouse. Avoid Cajun...zero spice.
-beach drink service is great. Sit back and enjoy the beach while you are served your drinks of choice.
-can easily get food and eat on the beach or picnic tables right on the beach.
-fun animals roam the resort like peacocks and kiotes.
-great golf course on the resort. Make sure you hit is straight on this course if you don't want to be searching in the mexican jungle! The course was in tip top shape and was challenging.
-the Maya bar is fabulous. We enjoyed the Maya lobby bar much more than the Lindo bar. The Maya bar is big and open and very neat. We went to the Maya bar on a nightly basis.
-overall, the food was about what I expected. It was not great, but it was not bad either. It could have had a bit more flavor/seasoning. There was a little more variety at other resorts we have been to.
-ice cream shop above the swim up bar is great. I loved their coconut ice cream.
-the Star Friends staff didn't bug you all the time to get involved in activities.
-you can basically go anywhere on the resort except for the grand hotel.
-my daughter got sick at home and my mother called the resort to notify us. The concierge contacted us swiftly and handled the contact well.
-resort is only 30 minutes or so from the Cancun airport.
-the resort has a very good shuttle to Playa Del Carmen that only costs $5 per person each way to ride.

Cons:
-they have a beautiful shopping area, but they don't use it effectively in my opinion. There is rarely any activity other than the shops. At other resorts I have been to, they had mexican fiestas, games and other activities at least three nights during my stay. This creates a memorable fun environment for the guests. We went over to the shopping area almost every night and you could hear a pin drop over there. They need to work on creating a fun environment at the shopping area.
-no mango margaritas on the resort. My wife loves mango and we found it strange that they don't have it.
-no snorkeling and very little water activity other than riding waves. The waves were bigger than any resort we have been to. This could have been because of the wind during the week. There is a lot of sea weed in the waves also. This was probably because of the big waves churning things up.
-there is a train that drives around the resort for you to get around easily. However, we found that it is very inconsistent and you can't easily find it.
-we went to Al La Carte restaurants for dinner each night of our stay. We found that there was not a lot of flexibility in the dinner reservation times. However, the restaurant was not even close to full at any of our dinners. I would say that each restaurant was only about 25% full for each of our dinners. We probably could have shown up at any time to get in without reservations. The resort is not filling the restaurants on purpose or people are not showing up for reservations. I think the resort is not filling them.
-at the Al La Carte restaurants you are not served the appetizer or dessert portions of the meal. We found this to be quite strange. If I wanted to get either I would go to the buffet. I am at a restaurant.
-don't call home from your room telephone to the US. We misunderstood the rates to call the US. We thought it was 50 cents a minute to call home, but it was 5 dollars per minute. We ended up with a $130 phone bill. We ended up making several calls home because my daughter was sick at home. I tried to negotiate with the front desk since we clearly made a mistake and they would not budge on any of the charges. I fully understand that it is our fault for making the calls, but they should have given us somewhat of a break based on our circumstances. The hotel handled this situation very poorly. I find it amazing that the resort would not help us out in some way since we brought a high amount of revenue into their complex. We spend thousands of dollars to be at this resort, but they are willing to lose a customer over a few phone calls?
-you can walk through any other lobby or hotel at the resort except for the Grand hotel. They keep the grand locked down to just the grand guests. I feel like this is not needed and is very elitist. What better way to sell the next level of your resort than to allow foot traffic. I have never seen other resorts do this.
-few palm trees on the beach.
-no mariachi bands on the resort that we saw.
-people are selling silver, hats, sunglasses on the beach all day. I am not sure that is needed at the resort.

Overall, I give Iberostar 4 out of 5 stars because we thoroughly enjoyed our vacation and this is clearly a top notch resort with a few things they need to work out. The cons I list are tolerable for the most part, but I want to make sure that others are aware of those types of things. I would go back to Iberostar if it were not for the treatment I received on my phone bill. Because of that situation I probably would head somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,730 reviews
0.2 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,540 reviews
10.5 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
29.2 km away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,660 reviews
0.4 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Address: Carr Chetumal - P Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Lindo 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of "Playa Paraiso" (Mexico). With the only wave pool on the Riviera Maya. 16 restaurants, 11 of them a-la-carte. 18-hole golf course and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Visit Us Inc., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Lindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing